We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
AU$160
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 June
Booking.com
Novotel
AU$161
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 June
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Tracie P
Zeehan

The ups and downs

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Apr 2024
Perfect placed hotel, near everything. Staff are amazing and helpful.
We stayed for 3 nights in the top suite. Room wasn't cleaned in that time. I did extend 1 day before original booking and it may have confused them.

We decided on room service for the first night, for what you pay, the food did not blow me away. A few issues, which they fixed quickly and offered an alternate dish.

Breakfast was very basic, normal buffet options. We had to wait for plates and when they brought some out they were small as all the bigger once where being cleaned. Again for what you pay, not the best.

Considering I am Gold status with Accor, no recognition recieved.

I have stayed there previously and there was not one issue. I will stay again.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$205
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$205
0.7 km from Novotel Devonport
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$124
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.3 km from Novotel Devonport
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$99
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    AU$99
0.4 km from Novotel Devonport
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$160
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Novotel Devonport
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen Room with Ensuite
Tripadvisor
AU$117
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$117
0.3 km from Novotel Devonport
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$109
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Novotel Devonport
Free Wifi
Free parking
West Courtyard and fire place
Booking.com
AU$195
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    AU$195
  • Vio.com
    AU$195
4.8 km from Novotel Devonport
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Gym
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • TiCATi.com
    AU$128
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Novotel Devonport
Free Wifi
Free parking
Garden
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$156
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Novotel Devonport
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$128
  • Expedia.com
    AU$141
1.8 km from Novotel Devonport
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Devonport
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
30
10
6
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
30
10
6
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews teething problems checking in mersey river hotel room mini bar great spot accor balcony waterfront tasmania spirit ferry accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2024

As locals from nearby Launceston we decided to try out the new Novotel. We were not disappointed in any way. We elected to stay in the king executive suite which gave us a room on level 6 with expansive views over the mouth of the River Mersey, Bass Strait and also from the posterior windows a view south to the mountains.
Check in was friendly and easy. The room was very well appointed with a separate lounge area, a private balcony and a large palatial bathroom with a nice deep bath.
The bed was very comfy and the room quiet. The only onsite parking is the $25 night valet parking service. Buffet breakfast was delicious with very good choices.
Overall a highly recommended hotel to stay in and one we will revisit soon.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2024 via mobile

Beautiful light and spacious room overlooking the river. Lovely welcome from reception and enjoyed the restaurant and bar. Although we enjoyed the Asian styles, it would be nice to also have a simpler choice on the menu too.
Breakfast had a good choice.
Agree with the ridiculously small parking area at the front, we took the option of parking 1 block up the road in the Council building, with a discounted rate of $10 per exit, so ideal for overnight.
Would certainly stay there again

Room tip: Use the offsite parking
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank EAS509
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2024 via mobile

Room .. good, very clean, bed comfortable.

Checking in .. poor. The small area to park while you check in is ridiculous. Which led to a lot of horn honking and frustrated drivers. And then hidden in the small print is a $25 valet charge. To which your keys are taken and returned with car at nominated time in the morning. Very poor, I thought.

Room tip: If you’re staying here because the spirt of Tasmania has just arrived, be warned loads more will have the same idea.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Inspire61810707914
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2024

Fabulous location with a terrific view of the river mouth and the shipping movements. Very new property, clean and spacious with modern fittings. Staff are happy and professional.
The location is also very central to the CBD and the waterfront.

Room tip: Car parking can be a bit congested
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Machobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2024

Beautiful hotel with views of the river, the Novotel Devonport is a fairly new hotel. The reception staff were very welcoming and helpful. Our room was quite large, very well appointed and had a lovely view of the river.
In walking distance to shopping centre, restaurants and the city centre, the location couldn't be more perfect.
Onsite restaurant and bar offering south east Asian cuisine if you don't feel like going out. They have a happy hour every day you can take advantage of.
Take a walk across the road and get front row views of the Spirit of Tasmania coming an going, very impressive.
Well priced, very comfortable and would highly recommend as accommodation if you are in Devonport.

Room tip: As for a room at the back of the hotel for amazing river views.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank An1ta069
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ana Royal, General Manager at Novotel Devonport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2024

Hi there An1ta069,
Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback and for sharing the highlights of the hotel and the local area. We love hearing about your experience and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Devonport,
Kind regards,
Ana Royal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews