We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not check in early”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Spirit of Tasmania

Spirit of Tasmania
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Devonport
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spirit of Tasmania’s Melbourne-Devonport service provides you flexibility and convenience when planning your holiday. Our twin ships depart from both ports at 7.30pm and arrive the following morning at 6.00am. During peak season, we also operate day sailings departing from each port at 9.00am and arriving the same day at 6.00pm.On board, you can experience spectacular views, delicious food, great entertainment, relaxation and so much more!
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Do not check in early”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We did the night cruise in both directions. All slept well in the cheapest cabin available (there is nothing to see at night). Food on board is average and overpriced as you would expect. The cruise itself was pleasant but the boarding was not. We took advice and arrived just after check in started. All cars are directed exactly where to go, it is not a free for all, you have no say in which line you would like to be in. On the return journey we sat in the parking lot for 1 hour 10 minutes before boarding finally started. There was no explanation given for the delay and no one had given us any idea when the waiting would be finished. The smart idea seems to be to arrive just before check in finishes and then just drive straight on. It is most definitely not first in first off.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JimmyFamilyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    546
    276
    97
    63
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Experience but worth getting the cabins as you may need a bed to lie in”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We did the day trip to Devonport and then back on the night boat. Both times we booked the cabins which are slightly more expensive than the ocean recliners and the general seats. On the trip down there were 4-5m waves and this was enough to make myself and my daughter (7) pretty sick. There are sea sick pills on board but would suggest getting some beforehand to save a mad rush into the store (as there were about 20 other people in the shop at the same time all wanting sea sick pills). We both were grateful to have a bed each to lie in and sleep off the nausea. There were many people that were sitting in seats and lying around in public areas looking a little green.
Despite this the trip is fun. We drove the car and it was an experience getting in line with the other cars and driving on the boat. The tip is to get there early as it is FIFO with the cars and don't get in a line behind a car with a trailer or large load as customs will take much more time inspecting these vehicles. The procedure is all very efficient though.
The food on board is good quality and well priced. The drinks are also well priced. There is a lot of stuff for kids to do and the experience for them was excellent.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok way to get to Tassie - here's a few tips”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

- sail at night, the day trip is a boring waste of time.
- get a cabin, a good nights sleep is possible but you'll still be tired.
- take your own food, food on board is average quality, premium price.
- raisin toast and coffee at devonport Macca's is a good end to the trip!

Boarding/disembarking is efficient. Staff are friendly. Economical if you are in Tassie for more than a few days especially if there are three or more passengers.

Helpful?
4 Thank Lmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not for the faint hearted”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

The Spirit is the only way to travel to Tasmania if you wish to drive your own car, we travelled
over the Christmas break during the day both ways. Initially I read all the reviews and thought "how bad could it really be" then I considered that you are sailing through Bass Strait (arguably some of the roughest seas in the world), and the rough side of the sailing was true but this is simply not the Spirits fault because there are some things you cannot control. As a family we elected to hire a room for the day sail where we had relative peace and quiet and relaxed a majority of the time, make sure you book this online as you save $16 than if you book on the ship. The check in proceedure was seamless and the staff were always happy to help, on the other hand, the waiting time coupled with the sailing time and the quarantine the other side measured up to a 11 hour trip, so with this in mind we will reconsider this option in the future.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 8Aussietravellers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rough Sailing”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The crew were great, especially David (Security). However, the water was rough and they had to close the outside decks. I ended up very seasick.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Kerrie-Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spirit of Tasmania also viewed

 
Devonport, Tasmania
 

Been to Spirit of Tasmania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing