We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
USD 141
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
USD 141
View deal
CheapTicketsUSD 141
Booking.comUSD 141
eDreamsUSD 141
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
142
53
45
27
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
142
53
45
27
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake st clair well equipped and spotlessly clean cosy chalet overland track cafe next door little extras washing machine and dryer these chalets comfortable beds two night stay comfortable stay continental breakfast louise cabin wilderness ida forest
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We found Louise to be very friendly and helpful. Also very entertaining. The chalet was clean and had everything that we needed to enjoy the stay. We would recommend this place to anybody. Louise even went to the trouble of finding us a place to stay the next night. We found that everybody we met was as helpful as this.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank catherine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perentie, Guest Relations Manager at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017

Thank you for your positive comments and we are pleased you were comfortable during your stay. Hope you will return to Tasmania again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

We usually do not give negative feedback but in this case we are bewildered by the attitude and unfriendliness of the lady in charge. We had read the comments and thought it wouldn't worry us but it put a damper on our stay. We had had a long drive and filled in an hour until 2.00pm (usual time for check in). We phoned to see if we could check in and was told "no we don't do early check in". At 3.00pm there was nobody in the office. After speaking into intercom with difficulty due to road noise the unfriendly woman eventually appeared.
We were disturbed about having to write down our credit card details in case of cleaning requirements and hopefully they have now been destroyed.
The chalet was lovely but expensive. It was roomy, spotless, good quality utensils, comfortable bed and great shower. No wi fi was available.
We wouldn't stay again because we didn't feel welcome and as others have said there are too many rules. We weren't sure if we should use the teabags as they were part of the breakfast supplies which we hadn't paid for. Lucky we had our own but you certainly wouldn't feel comfortable in asking.
It was good to break the trip before driving to Strahan as road is very winding and tiring and there is other accommodation in the area.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Devowales
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perentie, Guest Relations Manager at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017

Due to the number of rooms to clean, we are unable to have check in before 3pm so as to ensure all rooms are maintained at the appropriate level for guests. With check out by 10am, we need to ensure enough time to complete housekeeping duties. Information on our reception times are on reservation information.
All accommodation require credit card details and signed registration at check in, it is an industry standard. All guests are informed that the tea and coffee are complimentary when shown to their room. There are currently issues with the wifi in the area being very slow as guests have complained about this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

My wife and myself rented the Ida chalet for four nights; it was immaculate and fully equipped for any self-catering that may have been required. It was clear that thought and care had been taken in equipping and furnishing the chalet. The location is a 10 min drive from the entrance to the Lake St. Clair National Park and a 5 min drive to The Wall art gallery. If it's peace and quite you are looking for then this is the place - there are wallabies and, to my wife's delight, a wombat chewing the grass at dusk.

Reception closes at 7pm - we were driving from Hobart (three hours away) and not due 'til 8pm. I called the Louise (the owner) the week before and made arrangements for her to meet us upon arrival.

Two pieces of advice:
1. If travelling from Hobart the last settlement you would pick up groceries after 5pm would be New Norfolk
2. If you intend to arrive after dusk drive carefully as there's plenty of wildlife on the road.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

We were delighted with our cabin accommodation, particularly the joys of a pre-set potbelly stove on a cool summer's evening. There were many nice touches, such as pen and paper and boxes of tissues, and it was very spacious. Our cabin had full laundry facilities, and the kitchen facilities were fine. I'll certainly return.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank irenemD8292MW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 January 2017

I was surprised to read so many bad reviews and complaints about the rude owner. Can't be the same Louise we met during our stay. In fact she was absolutely helpful and friendly and we really appreciated chatting with her. And running a place like that on your own with 9 units in a remote location where it's hard to find additional staff is surely somewhat impressive.
The chalets are surely not a 5-star hotel room, but you neither want nor expect that in this location. They're clean, well appointed and with all the amenities you need and really comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay here.
And thanks again, Louise, for the quick bike rescue!

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TouringCyclists
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perentie, Public Relations Manager at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Thank you for your review. It is very difficult finding staff in such a remote location but being able to live and work in such a beautiful location makes the effort worthwhile. We trust you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews