We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Memorable experience

We cannot speak highly enough about this wonderful experience in a beautiful part of Tasmania... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
tassiedevils14
,
Tasmania
Yeeeeeew!

These guys deserve nothing but 5/5! We booked as a group for 8 riders of varying fitness and... read more

Reviewed 19 May 2021
NgLes
,
Adelaide, Australia
Read all 40 reviews
  
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
40
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
40
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great balance eco luxury tara adventure accommodation skills team ride level mtb
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2018

My husband and I did the Blue Derby Pods Ride experience in November 2017. I was a little apprehensive as my husband is a more experienced rider than I am, but Steve, Pete and Tara are all excellent guides who worked with each of our ability levels and ensured we had a fun, safe, exhilarating, and at times, challenging 3 days riding! Steve patiently worked on my technical skills (I have now mastered riding up and down berms!) and expertly guided me over terrain I may not have otherwise attempted but was so glad I did. The scenery and trails of Blue Derby are really very special.

And then there was the magical pod experience itself - generous, healthy, local, restaurant quality food and wine and super comfy, spacious sleeping pods. Loved being able to lay in bed and look at the night sky. We would highly recommend this experience and hope to return again soon.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank lynnanddj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Derby Pods Ride, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Thank you so much for this amazing review Lynn!

We love mountain biking and love sharing our passion with others, it's so nice to hear that we have another member of the mountain biking crew! No matter what your level of experience there is a trail at Derby for you!


We are gearing up for another busy summer period, we hope to see you again!!

Ash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

The combination of cycling thru the rugged and diverse landscapes of Derby, the excitement of the well crafted trails, the amazing food and wine served up each evening, and the quiet solitude of our pod hidden in the wilderness, made this an unforgettable experience.
Steve and John guided us thru trees, over boulders, down precipices, around berms in an expert fashion. Whatever we asked for, was delivered, plus more...
The Blue Derby Pods Ride is a unique experience that we would highly recommend!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank I4172XOkarenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Manager at Blue Derby Pods Ride, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Hi Karen C,

What lovely feedback thank you! It was absolutely our pleasure to host during three days of the Blue Derby Pods Ride experience. We are so lucky to ride in such a beautiful landscape with such beautiful trails, and meet such fantastic people. Thanks again.

Warm regards,

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

The experience is a great balance of luxury, adrenaline rush, amazing landscapes and good times. We could set our own pace take it real easy and appreciate the surrounds or go hard and use the stops to take in more. All this topped of with some genuine hospitality, delicious cuisine, luxurious accommodation and fun banter.

No matter your age or experience I'm sure the team can help you find your 'flow'.

Thanks Steve, Tara and the crew...You've created one of those experiences that is good for the soul.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank jonobuisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Manager at Blue Derby Pods Ride, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Hi jonobuisty,

Thanks for providing us with your thoughts after experiencing Blue Derby Pods Ride with us. Your kind words are very much appreciated. Thanks for your part in the banter and we hope you continue to chase flow on and off the bike.

Happy trails!

Regards, Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Most amazing 3 day adventure experience. Professionally yet casually hosted by guides who cater every need whilst ensuring you get a balanced amount of adventure and adrenaline. Can honestly say this trumps any tourism experience I have done in Australia or even the world! Thanks crew for some of the best 3 days of my life.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank haberles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Manager at Blue Derby Pods Ride, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Hi haberles,

Thanks for providing a review of your Blue Derby Pods Ride experience. You've made us blush with your level of praise. We're so grateful we were able to play a part in you achieving 3 days of adventure and flow.

Regards,

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Having never mountain-biked before, my partner and I were blown away by the Blue Derby Pods Ride experience, entirely due to the willingness of Steve & John to work patiently with us to get the technical basics and then provide the right balance of challenge and safety. Besides their biking expertise (and ability to impart this), their good humour and deep knowledge of and enthusiasm for the local history, flora & fauna totally enriched the experience for us city folk. Each ride we took provided breath-taking scenery, whether roller coasting through rainforest or bumping up windy, rocky trails. The beautiful and carefully designed pods, fresh food, local wine and relaxed environment made for a fabulous long-weekend. As a vegan, I generally bring a plan B on such outings but I was so well catered for I didn't come close to needing my snack box. We're already planning our next ride and will definitely be back for more of the Blue Derby Pods Ride experience.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Helena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Manager at Blue Derby Pods Ride, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Hi Helena H,

We're humbled by this beautiful feedback thank you. We feel lucky for the chance to be involved in your first foray into mountain biking! So glad to hear the tailored vegan menu was to your liking too. We'd love to have you both back to Blue Derby Pods Ride in the future.

Warm regards,

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews