We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Cradle Mountain Love Shack in winter
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cradle Mountain Love Shack in winter
Mezzanine bedroom showing bespoke double bed. 'Tassie Barrel' wood heater, entertainment area and rustic, timber staircase.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Cradle Mountain Love Shack in winter
Mezzanine bedroom showing bespoke double bed.
'Tassie Barrel' wood heater, entertainment area and rustic, timber staircase.
Inside cabin view looking from lounge to dining area.
Rustic timber dining setting
Kitchen
Lounge/living area
Our alpine cabin in the mist
Wombat in the snow
Cheeky Brush-tailed Possum on the cabin deck
Spotted-tail Quoll
Albino Echidna (spiny anteater)
Bennett's Wallaby
Sulphur-crested Cockatoo
Yellow-tailed Black Cockatoo
Yellow Wattle Bird
Tasmanian Waratah
Mountain Rocket
Coral Fern
Everlasting Daisy
Cradle Mountain with Dove Lake in foreground
Bridal Veil Falls (2 hour return walk from the cabin)
Moonrise over Daisy Dell
Kentish Dawn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RichInPah...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Getaway”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We only had a couple of nights at the love shack, and it was way too short. David and Dru are great hosts and the cabin really lived up to it's name. No phone or TV (aside from a nice selection of videos we didn't bother with), cuddling by the wood burning stove on a cool spring evening after feeding the wallabees was perfect. Our only interruption was a brush tail possum coming to the door looking for a handout. The fridge was so well stocked we didn't even need to go grocery shopping. We can't wait to return to Tasmania and spend more time at this wonderful retreat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2016
Thank you for those kind comments Rich. We try hard to make sure that your stay with us is an enjoyable one, and yesss we would love to see you back here again some day. Return visitors are a tribute to our little Love Shack.
PS Our wildlife thanks you too.
Dave & Dru.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dutchtrav...
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Most amazing stay in the Tassie wilderness”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Words can't describe this very special place in the wilderness. David and Dru are the best host you could wish for. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome, yet they respected our privacy. The cottage itself is very clean and the hosts really thought of all the small details a traveller wishes for after a long hike or drive. We especially loved the small touches such as s lovely goodie bag, Christmas puddings, Christmas crackers and a well stocked fridge (even a bottle of bubbles). The bed is very comfortable and the hut boosts a wonderful collection of DVDs. However, you won't get bored easily as every evening the pademelons and wallabies come out. David feeds them so you can view them from the veranda. There is also a feed in the hut if you want to feed them yourself. The hut is located in the woods at 15-20 minutes from the cradle mountain visitor centre. We wished we could have stayed longer! Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We try hard to cater for everyone's needs as individuals. Your comfort and satisfaction is our first priority. We look forward to seeing you here again sometime in the not too distant future.
Dave and Dru
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark V
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful and peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 23 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My wife and I stayed here for our First Wedding anniversary and our hosts Dru and David, ensured that our stay was a first class experience.
The little things are big things like special dietary requirements catered for, Bottle of Bubbly, breakfast needs catered for, a fully usable kitchen complete with oven, wood heater set and ready to go.
No outside distractions, a really wonderful place to relax, unwind and recharge and close enough to Cradle Mountain National Park, and other nearby attractions without the tourist park feel.
Our stay of two nights was not long enough and we will be back for another longer stay.
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Free from Wi-Fi/Internet Acces unless you bring your own.
Liked least: nothing really to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2015
Thankyou Mark
We are so pleased your first anniversary was celebrated with us here at Cradle Mountain Love Shack.
It was a pleasure to meet you both and we would love to see you here again sometime. So would our wildlife.
Kind regards. Dave and Dru
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place to stay at Cradle Mountain ”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Wow what a great place to stay awesome cabin with everything you will need totally relaxing stay thanks very much Dave and Dru for your hospitality and kindness and thanks for the snow Dave made it more beautiful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
Thanks for your wonderful review Daniel. We enjoyed having you stay with us here at Cradle Mountain Love Shack. As for the snow, we try hard to get it right for all our guests. Snow was a bonus for both of us.
Cheers
Dave & Dru.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick K
Geelong & Bellarine, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful retreat for our honeymoon”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We toured Tasmania for our honeymoon and this cabin was our longest stay. And how lucky we were! A quality, impressive rustic log cabin. Dave and Dru made us feel so welcome and provided more than expected in terms of cabin comforts and treats in the fridge! Beautiful forest surrounds and lots of wallaby wildlife to enjoy. We found the perfect place to stop, mark time, revitalise and reflect on this special moment in our lives. We will be back for sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
Thank you Rick & Ange.
We are so pleased you chose to spend a part of your honeymoon here at Cradle Mountain Love Shack and we look forward to seeing you again sometime in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.
Dave & Dru.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing