We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful and peaceful retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Cradle Mountain Love Shack in winter
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cradle Mountain Love Shack in winter
Mezzanine bedroom showing bespoke double bed. 'Tassie Barrel' wood heater, entertainment area and rustic, timber staircase.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Cradle Mountain Love Shack in winter
Mezzanine bedroom showing bespoke double bed.
'Tassie Barrel' wood heater, entertainment area and rustic, timber staircase.
Inside cabin view looking from lounge to dining area.
Rustic timber dining setting
Kitchen
Lounge/living area
Our alpine cabin in the mist
Wombat in the snow
Cheeky Brush-tailed Possum on the cabin deck
Spotted-tail Quoll
Albino Echidna (spiny anteater)
Bennett's Wallaby
Sulphur-crested Cockatoo
Yellow-tailed Black Cockatoo
Yellow Wattle Bird
Tasmanian Waratah
Mountain Rocket
Coral Fern
Everlasting Daisy
Cradle Mountain with Dove Lake in foreground
Bridal Veil Falls (2 hour return walk from the cabin)
Moonrise over Daisy Dell
Kentish Dawn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mark V
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful and peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 23 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My wife and I stayed here for our First Wedding anniversary and our hosts Dru and David, ensured that our stay was a first class experience.
The little things are big things like special dietary requirements catered for, Bottle of Bubbly, breakfast needs catered for, a fully usable kitchen complete with oven, wood heater set and ready to go.
No outside distractions, a really wonderful place to relax, unwind and recharge and close enough to Cradle Mountain National Park, and other nearby attractions without the tourist park feel.
Our stay of two nights was not long enough and we will be back for another longer stay.
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Free from Wi-Fi/Internet Acces unless you bring your own.
Liked least: nothing really to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2015
Thankyou Mark
We are so pleased your first anniversary was celebrated with us here at Cradle Mountain Love Shack.
It was a pleasure to meet you both and we would love to see you here again sometime. So would our wildlife.
Kind regards. Dave and Dru
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place to stay at Cradle Mountain ”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Wow what a great place to stay awesome cabin with everything you will need totally relaxing stay thanks very much Dave and Dru for your hospitality and kindness and thanks for the snow Dave made it more beautiful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
Thanks for your wonderful review Daniel. We enjoyed having you stay with us here at Cradle Mountain Love Shack. As for the snow, we try hard to get it right for all our guests. Snow was a bonus for both of us.
Cheers
Dave & Dru.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick K
Geelong & Bellarine, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful retreat for our honeymoon”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We toured Tasmania for our honeymoon and this cabin was our longest stay. And how lucky we were! A quality, impressive rustic log cabin. Dave and Dru made us feel so welcome and provided more than expected in terms of cabin comforts and treats in the fridge! Beautiful forest surrounds and lots of wallaby wildlife to enjoy. We found the perfect place to stop, mark time, revitalise and reflect on this special moment in our lives. We will be back for sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
Thank you Rick & Ange.
We are so pleased you chose to spend a part of your honeymoon here at Cradle Mountain Love Shack and we look forward to seeing you again sometime in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.
Dave & Dru.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoziKaye
Brisbane Region, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic Cottage in the wilderness.”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We totally enjoyed our stay, everything we needed was provided and more by our gracious hosts. The surrounding forest and wildlife was amazing. Temperature got to -6 (winter) but we were still very cosy. Wonderful experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very authentic cottage and experience.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us here at Cradle Mountain Love Shack. Our guests comfort is always our priority especially during the winter months.
Many thanks.
Dave & Dru.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
superhapp...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not as isolated as you think. Still, romantic memorable and comfortable stay!”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

If you plan to stay here you need to understand something about it’s location which isn’t made clear on the website or anywhere else. It’s secluded in the bush, however not in the way you probably pictured. It’s similar to a granny flat, in that it’s located in the backyard of the owners property. You can see their house from the front windows as it’s only 50-100 metres away, it is also quite close to a visible main road (however you won’t be bothered by street noise). We did still thoroughly enjoy our stay and would recommend this place, however were disappointed as it wasn’t as isolated as promised so this took away some of the experience for us. This could have been avoided had the description and images of the place been less misleading. You should be aware of this if you are hoping to be truly secluded on your trip.

Dru and Dave greeted us on arrival and made sure we had everything we needed.

The shack itself is beautiful (inside) and cosy. A lot of effort has gone into making it homely and cosy as possible. The kitchen is spacious with plenty of room, and well stocked with a variety of items. A generous and delicious selection for breakfast is provided, including juice, bread, yogurt, bacon along with additional treats and snacks. There’s a separate table to dine at before moving on to the loungeroom to relax.

The lounge area itself is a comfortable space and conveniently located by the fire. The lounge however needs to be replaced - the base is fine but its sides are homemade large chunks of cut out foam covered with a sheet. It’s very uncomfortable as the chunks are too big to allow you to sit comfortably (and we are both quite slender!) and makes it hard to sit for long periods to relax and watch a movie. The movie selection was quite dated and old, so I would suggest bringing some DVDs.

The fireplace is well stocked and does a brilliant job warming the whole shack. The bathroom is small however no issues at all for us.

There is plenty of wildlife about, and you will enjoy feeding them the pellets provided from the porch.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we were very relaxed and had a romantic weekend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Barrel fire
Liked least: Uncomfortable lounge
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2015
We're really sorry that your stay with us was not quite what you anticipated. Whilst our home/manager's residence is situated down the hill from the cabin, approximately 70 metres away, the only contact we have with guests is at the - necessary - 'meet and greet' on arrival. (or if guests come to us with any needs or queries) With no other accommodation on the property and the only other residents being the native wildlife, we pride ourselves in offering absolute privacy to our guests on our 105 acre bush block.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 158
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing