We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,167)
Filter reviews
1,167 results
Traveller rating
342
483
223
68
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
483
223
68
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet dinner wilderness gallery split level king room king split national park cradle mountain small balcony a la carte restaurant standard room comfortable chairs common areas bit dated bush land dove lake stayed here for one night lounge area
Filter
Updating list...
1,113 - 1,118 of 1,167 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2006

I stayed at the Chateau for 4 nights and found it a wonderful place to stay. I found the staff extremely friendly and helpful, while the room was comfortable, roomy and warm, which was important considering it was the middle of winter! It also had a lovely view.

The wilderness photo galley was the highlight, I'd highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Cradle Mountain, it's absolutely breathtaking! Grey Gum restaurant is also highly recommended; although it's more expensive than the Chateau's other restaurant (which, by the way, serves a good buffet breakfast), the food was gorgeous!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank katy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2006

Although not the best hotel in the world (the rooms had a motel feel to them and were a bit dated : by far the worst decor of any federal hotel venue) this was really quite good value for money in comparision to other accomodation options in cradle mountain, being far cheaper than the top option at the lodge at almost half the price for one night stay, and i would recommend the chateau for a short stay. The staff were some of the friendliest and helpful of anywhere i have ever stayed and the buffet dinner and breakfast at the restaurant were really good for a buffet. FYI - We did venture to the lodges day spa for some treatments (which were wonderful - highly recommend) not knowing that there is a day spa at the chateau but i cant comment on how good this is. I personally think the other reviewers are being a bit harsh.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wander802916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2006

I've just spent 3 nights at this hotel with my wife and three children. Unfortunately there are many things wrong with this hotel and only a few that are right. The wilderness gallery is excellant. Whether you stay at this hotel or not it's well worth a visit. The exhibition space is purpose built and the collection on display was good and extensive. It had a warm atmosphere, plenty of chairs to sit on while admiring the exhibition and it is well lit wit natural and artificial light.

At the hotel the rooms are okay but we were charged a supplement for our children and, on top the supplemnt, an additional fee for a rollaway bed for the youngest. This fee was not cheep and the payment of the supplement did not inlcude breakfast. So each morning I had to pay the buffet breakfast charge for my 3 children. With the supplement fee, rollaway bed fee and buffet breakfast fee things were getting expensive.

The buffet breakfast was okay but everymonring we were there, and that was three mornings, they ran out of orange juice which was not replaced. Staff were clearly undertrained, poorly supervised and not happy.

We had the buffet lunch on one day and it was expensive. The food was good but there was no alternative to the buffet.

For dinner, the choice was another expensive buffet. On one night we stayed out late to go on a did a night tour looking for nocturnal animals run by the people at the Cradle Mountain National Park. The tour was free and was led by a very knoledgeable park ranger. You can book the tour at the park information office. On returning to the hotel we were just in time to order a meal from the main restaurant, which seemed to be only open for dinner. Last order was 9 PM so you will need to rush back if you do the night tour.

We each ordered an entre and desert. There was no main meal that looked appealing. All prices were exhorbitant. Our entres and deserts were all terrible. Soggy, tastless and limp. It was the worst meal I've ever had the misfortune to pay for. Well, I had haggis once and that was really awfull but it was at a friends house and was free.

The bar, which was usually empty, had the most overpriced selection of drinks and no atmosphere.

There were two internet kiosks near reception. You buy a card at reception that gives you time on the computers. The connection was always slow. It took 7 minutes to download the CNN homepage.

The best place to eat is at the Tavern Bar at the Lodge. It's about 5 minutes drive from the Chateau. The whole set up at the Lodge is fantastic.

My recommendation is to stay away from the Chateau and stay at the Lodge. The two meals we had at the Lodge were fantastic. Staff was friendly, the price reasonable and the atmosphere great.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank AussieArf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2006

We though thought it would be worthwhile to go and visit Cradle Mountain for the weekend.

Unfortunately I visit was tarnished by our experience at the Cradle Mountain Chateau.

Firstly after advising the checking agent 'Puretasmania' that we would be arriving for an early check-in, this message obviously did not get through to the Hotel, because hotel staff were unaware of our early check-in.

2nd problem was that the photo gallery was free to view for all hotel guests, which we were not infomred of until after we had forked out the $5 each for entry. No refund was offerred.

3rd problem was that hotel staff said that we had to pay for what was advised as a complimentry breakfast. The hotel staff said that 'today we had to pay for breakfast'.

My advice for anyone visiting Cradle Mountain is to look at Staying at Cradle Mountain Lodge (from which we received excellent service when we decied to go there for dinner). Do not stay at the Cradle Mountain Chateau!!.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Daydream28342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2006

Cradle Mountain Chateau is set in beautiful surroundings but unfortunately that is all it has going for it.

It is over-priced and we did not get the sevice commensurate with the price we paid. Food in the restaurants is expensive and the bar prices also are high. As a result these are under-used (the bar was empty on occasions) and although the hotel was full people did not congregate in the public areas. Overall the hotel lacked atmosphere.

It was also obvious that the place was understaffed and those staff that were there were overworked and in many cases out of their depth. We subsequently learned that there was no resident manager and that inexperienced staff had been given responsibility beyond their capabilities - this was all too evident.
One member of staff was almost in tears when we pointed out the problems and begged us to fill in a complaints form to support the staff complaints, which had been ignored.
The hotel was a very unhappy workplace.
On checking out, another guest was complaining and demanding to see the manager who, at that time, had not yet arrived for work.

The hotel and staff would appear to be the unfortunate victims of poor management and from the evidence we gleaned, had been for some time.

We certainly would not reccommend it to anyone else and would say that if you want to visit Cradle Mountain stay outside the park and drive in each day. It is not far from other hotels and the drive is not difficult, although we cannot vouch for the standard of the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank IOWgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews