We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,162)
Filter reviews
1,162 results
Traveller rating
340
482
222
68
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
482
222
68
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet dinner wilderness gallery split level king room king split national park cradle mountain small balcony a la carte restaurant standard room comfortable chairs common areas bit dated bush land dove lake stayed here for one night lounge area
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,162 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved the sunken sitting room in our bedroom. One of the best eye fillet steaks I have ever had. Perfection. Staff welcoming and go out of their way to be inviting and obliging. I would love to return one day.

Stayed: October 2018
Thank Leonie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night after hiking up cradle mountain. Very nice place and would reccomend it highly. Had dinner at the restaurant which was very nice. We were served (sorry didnt see his name )by a German man and his customer service was the best I've seen in a long time. Couldn't fault him. Also after speaking to one of the chefs, think his name was Michael couldn't reccomend the place any higher. Will surely stay again.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank flash328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

After reading other reviews we were nervous about staying. All fears were allayed as the staff and hotel facilities were outstanding. Staff smiled, engaged and were genuinely interested in guests. It was refreshing after having stayed at the sister hotel in Frecinyet which was poor in customer service and poor in value.
Cradle mountain hotel is well set out, has a lovely 10 minute walkway with views and wildlife. There are several dining options, restuarant, smorgasbord and the bar. We found the food was delicious, served hot and well presented. Staff were attentive and polite. Plenty of car parking and easy access to rooms. A central hall allows guests to walk inside to breakfast. Rooms were warm, big, bright, very clean with a small balcony. Wildlife could be seen outside and birds landed on the balcony. Shower was hot. Lounge areas offered heaters, comfortable seating, jigsaw puzzles, local information and views of the surrounds.
A gallery is onsite with local artists work displayed and for sale. Guests can enter for free. A sizeable gift shop is at the gallery and a smaller one at reception.
We were lucky to have snow and the scenery was picturesque. A short drive to the visitor centre. A memorable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Spent 2 nights here as part of a tour of Tasmania. Great location within the national park area with wildlife all around especially lots of wombats. Lots of log fires and warm spacious rooms with views into the mountain bush lands. Good restaurant and bar with polite and helpful staff. There is a wilderness boardwalk at theback of the hotel from which you can spot pademelons, wombats and birds aplenty. Room eas clean, spacious and warm with good facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thrombeldinbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

My wife, 8 year old and I stayed for one night. The staff were friendly at reception and promoted the services of the hotel without sounding like sales people. The vista was truly spectacular with the wildlife showing no fear people, particularly the wallabies. The room was neat and clean with all the mod cons we could wish for. The only downside was that the spa in our room had no bubbles and the spa at the Retreat was closed for maintenance. Overall a good experience.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank mickb727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews