We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,151)
Filter reviews
1,151 results
Traveller rating
335
478
220
68
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
478
220
68
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet dinner wilderness gallery split level deluxe spa room two double beds king split national park cradle mountain small balcony a la carte restaurant standard room comfortable chairs common areas bit dated bush land dove lake lounge area
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 1,151 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Wonderfully sized rooms surrounded by bush land and local wildlife that sit right on your porch! Great gallery attached too which was insightful on the tassie tiger. There wasn't much around as far as grocery stores go so we had to eat out each night which got pricey but overall a really great hotel just a short drive from dove lake and the mountain. Very cold so rug up, it snowed like crazy over one of the nights and we woke up to a snowy frenzy outside which we didn't pack for so pack warm in winter!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

A lodge set in the mountains with overhang decks onto the forest. Wallabies visit at twilight. Stars are bright at night. Food is wonderful, some of best in Aussie-land. Buffet at breakfast and dinner. Abundant choices, including fruits. Rooms spacious. Can't say enough. Note- was there in the "winter-spring" time so snow and a bit cool in rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anise2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Anise2014,

Thank you for your positive review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you enjoyed Cradle Mountain.

Regards,

Todd Roberts, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

My partner and I decided that we needed a romantic night away as I'd been working quite a lot lately and he'd been sick.
We thought why not go all out and get the best room and spoil ourselves.
Apon arrival we were greated with a happy face in reception who was very helpful.
Once we got into our room, we were happy with the bed although the room was like a sauna - very hot!
We turned the heater onto low then did the small board walk just outside our room then followed onto Dove Lake.
Upon returning, our room was cold like we'd switched the heater off, although we hadn't. We just didn't expect it to be that cold.
Everything was clean and tidy, except the spa bath.. It had hair throughout it...
We got room service which the lady who delivered it was lovely and very polite. Kudos to her.

The meal was over all enjoyable and just something light and casual how we wanted it

Before a shower, we cranked the heater onto high.
Followed by movies and bed..
We expected to wake up to the room being way too hot as the heater was on high but we woke up to a still pretty cold room.

Breakfast was okay.
We were going to leave this review in the room but no pen provided and I didn't have one on me.

Over all, we were dissatisfied with the amount we paid and the entirety of the stay.
We won't be returning.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank karinastarr93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear karinastarr93, thank you for your review. I am pleased to read your review regarding our staff and will pass your comments on to the team.
I will direct the housekeeping team to have the heaters on a more mild setting. which will keep the room at an even temperature.

Kind Regards,

Todd Roberts Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Couldn't fault this place. Staff were terrific. Talk about snow on your doorstep. Great lounge and bar area. Great pool table and its free. If you can't relax here there is something wrong with you. We just had some bar snacks which had good flavour but small serves. Chicken ribs must have been from a quail.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Michael B,

Thank you for your review, we certainly encourage our guests to relax and enjoy the surrounds whilst staying with us.

Regards,

Todd Robertrs, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

We booked two nights. The road was snowed in and closed so we couldn't get to the hotel. We found out by calling them not by being notified by them. They took one nights accomodation despite us not being able to get to the hotel due to the road closure. Beware!!!!!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Scott W,

Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss your comments further.

Regards,

Todd Roberts, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews