We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beachway(Ulverstone)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,089)
Filter reviews
1,089 results
Traveller rating
314
451
216
64
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
451
216
64
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrey gumbuffet dinnerwilderness gallerysplit leveldeluxe spa roomnational parkthe lower levelking splitcradle mountaintwo double bedssmall balconya la carte restaurantstandard roomcommon areasbit dateddove lakebush land
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 1,089 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

We booked two nights. The road was snowed in and closed so we couldn't get to the hotel. We found out by calling them not by being notified by them. They took one nights accomodation despite us not being able to get to the hotel due to the road closure. Beware!!!!!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Scott W,

Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss your comments further.

Regards,

Todd Roberts, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We loved staying at Cradle Mountain Hotel! The room was lovely - modern, clean and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the wilderness area (complete with its own boardwalk!) out the back of the property.
There is even a huge gallery onsite, with art displays, a huge gift shop and special rooms for kids to play in.
Inside the main hotel building, there are large lounges with TVs, a pool table and log fires. The restaurant is top class, and the food is delicious. There are cosy wood fire lounges dotted all around the hotel for you to relax in.
Around the outside of the hotel (and even on your balcony!) you will find extremely quiet wallabies - Pademelons as they are formally known as - and these little guys are as cute as animals come.
Location wise, a few minutes drive down the road and you are at the visitor's centre and the world-famous Dove Lake. This hotel makes the perfect base for a trip to Cradle Mountain.

Room Tip: Book as close to the main restaurant area as you can to avoid walking the extra corridor distance
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lets Go Mum R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read your comments on your recent stay with us. I will pass your comments on to our team members to read,

Regards, Todd Roberts, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Stayed here overnight end August. Unfortunately it didn't snow but was lovely nonetheless. Room was plenty big enough for 2 adults and 1 child (7 yrs). The all you can eat dinner is fantastic and well worth a try. Love the log fires throughout the building and the art gallery is lovely.

Room Tip: Try the all you can eat buffet!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AmandaLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for your review AmandaLHR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a work conference and absolutely loved it!
The snow that fell was amazing and staff were a delight! The food was absolutely tasty. I am definitely recommending this place for the full works! It's hard to find a place that suits 16 people but these guys made it seem easy! Thank you!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for your review Tamara S, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and your conference. Regards, Todd Roberts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel is tired and needs some TLC as you can see from these bathroom photos. It was snowing during our stay and the small heater in the room was entirely inadequate, we had to wear our jackets in our room because we were so cold. The plug to the bath was a cheap thin flimsy thing that sunk into the hole once water was in the bath and leaked so much we had to keep topping the bath up. The buffet was not nice quality, lamb that had more fat than meat on the slices, satay chicken that was dry even though sauce was nice. I ordered a mocktail $11 only to discover the next morning that the same juice was free at the buffet! The tv did not work in our room just to top off our disappointment. This hotel is not as polished as it once was and needs attention.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank tassiedevil69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear tassiedevil169,
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not enjoyable.
I have passed on your feedback to our Food & Beverage department to take a look at your comments and follow up accordingly.
Unfortunately during the snow storm that we had at Cradle Mountain a transformer broke due to the heavy amount of snow which affected most businesses here at Cradle Mountain. I do apologise for the inconvenience. IN regards to our heating we do have extra blankets in the room and extra heaters available at reception. However we are currently looking at upgrading the hotel to rectify these occurrences. I hope that you enjoyed the snow and the rest of your time in Cradle Mountain.
Kind Regards, Todd Roberts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews