We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and complacent, relying on isolated location and lack of competition to attract guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Reviewed 23 February 2016

The hotel is tired (guess about 20 years old) and needs a good makeover. The food, you have a choice of two restaurants, was very inconsistent some dish were good but others appalling. The tap in the bathroom was missing bits (when I mentioned this to a cleaning staff was told "I know", yet nothing done after our two night visit) and the bath had pubic hairs at the high tide mark. The sheets were the wrong size for the bed and would not tuck in leaving you wrapped in the loose base sheet.
On the plus size the entrance to the national park is a few kms down the road and the views from the better rooms were straight out into the bush, very nice and relaxing. Watch out for wildlife when you walk to the carpark, I almost stood on a little echidna eating ants on the path.

Room Tip: Bring your own breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 04MJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear 04MJC,

Thankyou for your comments, Can you please contact me directly on 03 64921404 to discuss your comments further.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 333 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2016

This looks like a lovely hotel in a beautiful national park area where accommodation is at a premium, however the noise from the tramping up and down in the corridor most of the night and the conversation/television from our next door room meant we had trouble sleeping. On reading other reviews we decided not to eat at the restaurant but brought provisions with us which was fine as the little fridge was adequate. Our TV was limited to commercial local channels, when we asked at reception why no ABC/SBS the staff member said she wouldn't have a clue but would get the shift manager to speak to us, but nobody ever did. A cosy fire in the lounge for a cool night and we saw an echidna and wallaby in e car park. The highlight was the photographic exhibition in the hotel gallery (open to the public), amazing, everyone should watch the video!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a split level sitting room and view, ours didn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyOx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear Jenny0x3,

Thankyou for your comments. I am glad some of the hotel facilities were to your liking, can you please contact me direct on 03 6492 1404 to discuss your other comments further.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Beautiful location, high quality hotel with friendly, helpful staff and great facilities. From checkin to checkout we had a five star experience which was wonderful. Even better that we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a king spa room! The hotel is located close to many of the Cradle Mountain nature walks. The Receptionist was very helpful in explaining the features of the hotel and how to get the best from our bushwalking adventure. The Grey Gum restaurant is excellent too.

Room Tip: King spa rooms are spacious and cosy. The lounge and bar areas are cosy too with lovely bush views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wencal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear wencal_11,

Thankyou for your comments, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and was also able to enjoy our wonderful king spa room. I have passed your comments onto the team and they are very appreciative of your recognition.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

This establishment projects quality and it does not disappoint. From the staff at reception through to the bar and dinning room all shown a dedication to service and friendly manner.
The standard room is of a good standard with all the facilities you would expect in any upmarket capital city hotel.
The walks and Gallery next door also help you to relax and slow down for a short period.

Room Tip: Great place to relax after climbing Cradle Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayser46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear rayser46,

Thankyou for your comments, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and all of it's facilities. I have passed your comments onto the entire team, they are very appreciative of you comments. We hope to see you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

This hotel is located near to cradle mountain. A very nice hotel, nice comfortable room m shower, reception staff are friendly. If u are lucky u get to see wallaby at the carpark. We were there a few days ago n it was raining with strong wind. Hence we really appreciate that we are staying in a hotel with fire wood along the corridor of this hotel.

The only down side is the restaurant is only so so (greygum). This is much to our expectation as there are not many choices in the mountain.

Price is on the higher side but definitely worth it.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank liting2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear liting2015,

Thankyou for your comments, I am very happy to note that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
38.5 km away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#2 of 2 in Sheffield
65 reviews
38.7 km away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
115 reviews
2.5 km away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
823 reviews
4.7 km away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
468 reviews
1 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Hotel

Address: Astell 3718 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Chateau)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $202 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cradle Mountain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of alpine wilderness, Cradle Mountain Hotel sits on the edge of Cradle Mountain Lake St Clair National Park. It's the perfect base for alpine walks. Be pampered at the end of the day with hearty mountain fare and a crackling log fire. The Hotel is home to The Wilderness Galley, a magnificent collection of nature photography. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Cradle Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Chateau Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing