We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,155)
Filter reviews
1,155 results
Traveller rating
338
479
220
68
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
479
220
68
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet dinner wilderness gallery split level deluxe spa room two double beds king split national park cradle mountain small balcony a la carte restaurant standard room comfortable chairs common areas bit dated bush land dove lake lounge area
Filter
Updating list...
429 - 434 of 1,155 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2016

This was our first visit to Cradle Mountain. The national park and the surrounding area is some of the best pristine wilderness I have ever seen. This hotel is minutes away and provides a very comfortable place to put your feet up, relax, have a few drinks and a good meal after a day of walking around the various magnificent tracks in the area. Rooms are spacious, and while the hotel is not exactly new, everything works the way it is supposed to. Full length ( and width ) windows at the end of the room provide a very close view of the surrounding woodland. We had several visits from some local wallabies who don't seem bothered by humans all all. It was freezing cold we arrived ( in Summer! ) and so appreciated the reading room with wood-fired heater next to our room. We ate at the "Grey Gum" restaurant on both nights and were not dissapoined. Top quality food and friendly staff. We were also allowed to keep our motorcycles under the entry portico which was a nice bonus, especially given how cold it was when we arrived.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear Steven G,

Thankyou for your comments, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and it's facilities, I am also glad that you were able to explore the National Park as well. I have passed your comments onto all staff who are most appreciative of your recognition!.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

This hotel is badly in need of a re-fit. Everything works but it is very old fashioned. The bathroom was particularly grim.
Breakfast is plentiful but not tasty. The fruit and croissants were the best things. Ghastly coffee. There is a buffet dining room or an a la carte. The buffet sounded horrendous and we later heard that the food was not good. We tried the a la carte and found the food not to our taste with very small portions.
There is wifi. Plenty of parking.
Reception staff were good.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jeminab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear jeminab,

Thankyou for you comments. Can you please contact me directly on 03 6492 1404 to discuss your comments further.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Beautiful place for a perfect holiday. Very good for nature lovers and for people who love walking in mountains. Nice weather.

There is only one cafe in the information center. A near by grocery also available. Be there before 6PM if you want to buy anything.

Visit the national park in the evening if you want to see animals such as Wombats, Wallabies, Echidnas.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IcebugDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear IcebugDJ,

Thankyou for your comments, I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel and it's surrounds, also, you were able to enjoy the National Park!

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Beautiful beds and linen and reasonable room size but the buffet dinner offered at 39 dollars a head was atrocious ....everything was dry except the lamb roast
Desserts manufactered im sure not cooked there and were basically dry cakes.
i was disgusted at the quality of food ..Made Macdonalds look fresh...
We refused to go and pay for breakfast because they had set a standard at dinner.
We were given a discount but im still really annoyed that i paid for such rubbish.
I would not come back to stay ...

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear Tracy E,

Thankyou for your comments, can you contact me directly on 03 6492 1404 to discuss your comments further.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016

Not much options if one plans to stay near the National Park.

This hotel is good on location, given it's just 5 mins drive to the national park entrance.
Room is spacious but setup is a bit torn as one can expect for a remote accommodation.

There're 2 restaurants in the hotel, where most people settled their meals at. Prices are fair and food / service quality OK.

Staff was not particularly friendly at this place.
Worst part is on WiFi reception, as most mobile network doesn't work in the area. So hotel's WiFi was the only means you can "connected", yet only the reception area would you get the WiFi signal, hence you would see quite a number of people gathering there after dinner with their mobile phones, tablets, and notebook. Quite a few of them were just standing there as all seats were taken.

Room Tip: An average option
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear dhui,

Thankyou for your comments, I am very pleased to tell you that our internet provider has been able to rectify there problem that caused the issue with the wifi service, it has now been restored to all guests rooms. I am please to note that you enjoyed the restaurants.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews