We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in a beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Reviewed 18 February 2016

This was our first visit to Cradle Mountain. The national park and the surrounding area is some of the best pristine wilderness I have ever seen. This hotel is minutes away and provides a very comfortable place to put your feet up, relax, have a few drinks and a good meal after a day of walking around the various magnificent tracks in the area. Rooms are spacious, and while the hotel is not exactly new, everything works the way it is supposed to. Full length ( and width ) windows at the end of the room provide a very close view of the surrounding woodland. We had several visits from some local wallabies who don't seem bothered by humans all all. It was freezing cold we arrived ( in Summer! ) and so appreciated the reading room with wood-fired heater next to our room. We ate at the "Grey Gum" restaurant on both nights and were not dissapoined. Top quality food and friendly staff. We were also allowed to keep our motorcycles under the entry portico which was a nice bonus, especially given how cold it was when we arrived.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear Steven G,

Thankyou for your comments, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and it's facilities, I am also glad that you were able to explore the National Park as well. I have passed your comments onto all staff who are most appreciative of your recognition!.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,010)
There are newer reviews for Cradle Mountain Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 297 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

This hotel is badly in need of a re-fit. Everything works but it is very old fashioned. The bathroom was particularly grim.
Breakfast is plentiful but not tasty. The fruit and croissants were the best things. Ghastly coffee. There is a buffet dining room or an a la carte. The buffet sounded horrendous and we later heard that the food was not good. We tried the a la carte and found the food not to our taste with very small portions.
There is wifi. Plenty of parking.
Reception staff were good.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jeminab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear jeminab,

Thankyou for you comments. Can you please contact me directly on 03 6492 1404 to discuss your comments further.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Beautiful place for a perfect holiday. Very good for nature lovers and for people who love walking in mountains. Nice weather.

There is only one cafe in the information center. A near by grocery also available. Be there before 6PM if you want to buy anything.

Visit the national park in the evening if you want to see animals such as Wombats, Wallabies, Echidnas.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IcebugDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear IcebugDJ,

Thankyou for your comments, I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel and it's surrounds, also, you were able to enjoy the National Park!

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Beautiful beds and linen and reasonable room size but the buffet dinner offered at 39 dollars a head was atrocious ....everything was dry except the lamb roast
Desserts manufactered im sure not cooked there and were basically dry cakes.
i was disgusted at the quality of food ..Made Macdonalds look fresh...
We refused to go and pay for breakfast because they had set a standard at dinner.
We were given a discount but im still really annoyed that i paid for such rubbish.
I would not come back to stay ...

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear Tracy E,

Thankyou for your comments, can you contact me directly on 03 6492 1404 to discuss your comments further.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016

Not much options if one plans to stay near the National Park.

This hotel is good on location, given it's just 5 mins drive to the national park entrance.
Room is spacious but setup is a bit torn as one can expect for a remote accommodation.

There're 2 restaurants in the hotel, where most people settled their meals at. Prices are fair and food / service quality OK.

Staff was not particularly friendly at this place.
Worst part is on WiFi reception, as most mobile network doesn't work in the area. So hotel's WiFi was the only means you can "connected", yet only the reception area would you get the WiFi signal, hence you would see quite a number of people gathering there after dinner with their mobile phones, tablets, and notebook. Quite a few of them were just standing there as all seats were taken.

Room Tip: An average option
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear dhui,

Thankyou for your comments, I am very pleased to tell you that our internet provider has been able to rectify there problem that caused the issue with the wifi service, it has now been restored to all guests rooms. I am please to note that you enjoyed the restaurants.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
38.6 km away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
63 reviews
2.4 km away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,377 reviews
0.3 km away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
728 reviews
4.7 km away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
441 reviews
63.3 km away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park

Been to Cradle Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Hotel

Address: Astell 3718 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Chateau)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $187 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cradle Mountain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of alpine wilderness, Cradle Mountain Hotel sits on the edge of Cradle Mountain Lake St Clair National Park. It's the perfect base for alpine walks. Be pampered at the end of the day with hearty mountain fare and a crackling log fire. The Hotel is home to The Wilderness Galley, a magnificent collection of nature photography. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cradle Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Chateau Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing