We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
USD 141
USD 133
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lake St Clair Lodge(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
USD 148
USD 128
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)(Great Value!)
USD 76
USD 73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Lake St. Clair Tourist Park(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
USD 127
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
USD 311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mantra Collins Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
USD 125
USD 107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
USD 123
USD 103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Quest Savoy(Hobart)(Great Value!)
USD 111
USD 87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Spa
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
USD 139
USD 94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,106)
Filter reviews
1,106 results
Traveller rating
321
459
216
65
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
459
216
65
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffet dinnerwilderness gallerysplit leveldeluxe spa roomnational parkthe lower levelking splitcradle mountaintwo double bedssmall balconya la carte restaurantstandard roomcommon areasbit dateddove lakebush landlounge area
Filter
Updating list...
380 - 385 of 1,106 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

This hotel is badly in need of a re-fit. Everything works but it is very old fashioned. The bathroom was particularly grim.
Breakfast is plentiful but not tasty. The fruit and croissants were the best things. Ghastly coffee. There is a buffet dining room or an a la carte. The buffet sounded horrendous and we later heard that the food was not good. We tried the a la carte and found the food not to our taste with very small portions.
There is wifi. Plenty of parking.
Reception staff were good.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jeminab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear jeminab,

Thankyou for you comments. Can you please contact me directly on 03 6492 1404 to discuss your comments further.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Beautiful place for a perfect holiday. Very good for nature lovers and for people who love walking in mountains. Nice weather.

There is only one cafe in the information center. A near by grocery also available. Be there before 6PM if you want to buy anything.

Visit the national park in the evening if you want to see animals such as Wombats, Wallabies, Echidnas.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IcebugDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear IcebugDJ,

Thankyou for your comments, I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel and it's surrounds, also, you were able to enjoy the National Park!

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Beautiful beds and linen and reasonable room size but the buffet dinner offered at 39 dollars a head was atrocious ....everything was dry except the lamb roast
Desserts manufactered im sure not cooked there and were basically dry cakes.
i was disgusted at the quality of food ..Made Macdonalds look fresh...
We refused to go and pay for breakfast because they had set a standard at dinner.
We were given a discount but im still really annoyed that i paid for such rubbish.
I would not come back to stay ...

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear Tracy E,

Thankyou for your comments, can you contact me directly on 03 6492 1404 to discuss your comments further.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016

Not much options if one plans to stay near the National Park.

This hotel is good on location, given it's just 5 mins drive to the national park entrance.
Room is spacious but setup is a bit torn as one can expect for a remote accommodation.

There're 2 restaurants in the hotel, where most people settled their meals at. Prices are fair and food / service quality OK.

Staff was not particularly friendly at this place.
Worst part is on WiFi reception, as most mobile network doesn't work in the area. So hotel's WiFi was the only means you can "connected", yet only the reception area would you get the WiFi signal, hence you would see quite a number of people gathering there after dinner with their mobile phones, tablets, and notebook. Quite a few of them were just standing there as all seats were taken.

Room Tip: An average option
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear dhui,

Thankyou for your comments, I am very pleased to tell you that our internet provider has been able to rectify there problem that caused the issue with the wifi service, it has now been restored to all guests rooms. I am please to note that you enjoyed the restaurants.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

We were very disappointed by this place and would have been even more disappointed had we not secured a very reasonable deal for a decidedly average very functional hotel .
The reception staff couldn't have done or said less on arrival , gave no information about the hotel the facilities or any tour opportunities .
They also failed to tell us that the Spa was out of action .
The bathrooms were pretty out dated and could definitely do with a re vamp breakfasts were again pretty poor with very little fresh fruit on offer with most of it out of a tin
This hotel could do much better , it has potential for great improvement if they bothered .


Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank DianaWhipp88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear 818Dedee,

Thankyou for your feedback, can you please contact me directly on 03 6492 1404 to discuss your comments further.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews