We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,155)
Filter reviews
1,155 results
Traveller rating
338
479
220
68
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
479
220
68
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet dinner wilderness gallery split level deluxe spa room two double beds king split national park cradle mountain small balcony a la carte restaurant standard room comfortable chairs common areas bit dated bush land dove lake lounge area
Filter
Updating list...
431 - 436 of 1,155 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Beautiful place for a perfect holiday. Very good for nature lovers and for people who love walking in mountains. Nice weather.

There is only one cafe in the information center. A near by grocery also available. Be there before 6PM if you want to buy anything.

Visit the national park in the evening if you want to see animals such as Wombats, Wallabies, Echidnas.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IcebugDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear IcebugDJ,

Thankyou for your comments, I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel and it's surrounds, also, you were able to enjoy the National Park!

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Beautiful beds and linen and reasonable room size but the buffet dinner offered at 39 dollars a head was atrocious ....everything was dry except the lamb roast
Desserts manufactered im sure not cooked there and were basically dry cakes.
i was disgusted at the quality of food ..Made Macdonalds look fresh...
We refused to go and pay for breakfast because they had set a standard at dinner.
We were given a discount but im still really annoyed that i paid for such rubbish.
I would not come back to stay ...

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear Tracy E,

Thankyou for your comments, can you contact me directly on 03 6492 1404 to discuss your comments further.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016

Not much options if one plans to stay near the National Park.

This hotel is good on location, given it's just 5 mins drive to the national park entrance.
Room is spacious but setup is a bit torn as one can expect for a remote accommodation.

There're 2 restaurants in the hotel, where most people settled their meals at. Prices are fair and food / service quality OK.

Staff was not particularly friendly at this place.
Worst part is on WiFi reception, as most mobile network doesn't work in the area. So hotel's WiFi was the only means you can "connected", yet only the reception area would you get the WiFi signal, hence you would see quite a number of people gathering there after dinner with their mobile phones, tablets, and notebook. Quite a few of them were just standing there as all seats were taken.

Room Tip: An average option
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear dhui,

Thankyou for your comments, I am very pleased to tell you that our internet provider has been able to rectify there problem that caused the issue with the wifi service, it has now been restored to all guests rooms. I am please to note that you enjoyed the restaurants.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

We were very disappointed by this place and would have been even more disappointed had we not secured a very reasonable deal for a decidedly average very functional hotel .
The reception staff couldn't have done or said less on arrival , gave no information about the hotel the facilities or any tour opportunities .
They also failed to tell us that the Spa was out of action .
The bathrooms were pretty out dated and could definitely do with a re vamp breakfasts were again pretty poor with very little fresh fruit on offer with most of it out of a tin
This hotel could do much better , it has potential for great improvement if they bothered .

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank DianaWhipp88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear 818Dedee,

Thankyou for your feedback, can you please contact me directly on 03 6492 1404 to discuss your comments further.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

Very nice hotel within Cradle Mountain-Lake St Clair National Park. The hotel was very well presented but the rooms are a bit dated, especially the bathrooms though they have all that you need with spa bath and separate shower though are quite small. Room had a sitting area down a few stairs and a small balcony where you could be lucky enough to view wild animals at close range (wallabies and wombats) at dusk. The beds and pillows were exceptional. Food was expensive - the main restaurant served a la carte but the cheaper option only provided a buffet at a set price and more than we needed to eat. There is nowhere else to eat so this adds to the cost. The bush setting is magnificent and very quiet.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear Robyn M,

Thankyou for your feedback, I am happy that you enjoyed the hotel and it's facilities, we are currently investigating ways in which we can enhance the rooms and décor for the guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews