We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the wilderness.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Reviewed 29 January 2016

We had a fabulous 2-tiered room with king size bed on upper level and lounge area on lower level with bush land outlook. Bathroom a bit small but spa bath plus shower were appreciated. Great relaxing lounge areas with fire places and external balconies. Staff very friendly and helpful. Bistro was good especially for breakfast. Wifi only available in foyer and lounge/bistro area. Close access to Visitor Centre.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vixen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

Dear Vixen50,

Thankyou for providing us with your comments, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and surrounds. I am also pleased to let you know that our external provider has been able to fix their connectivity issues, Wifi has now been restored to all rooms.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 353 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the cradle mountain hotel for three nights in jan and loved every moment of it. The hotel is well integrated with the environment and is very close to the amazing walking tracks. Did not try the restaurants for lunch or dinner, but thought the breakfast was decent for the price. Would surely come back for a stay!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anand B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

Dear Anand B,

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and it's facilities!. We are very lucky to be located in such a wonderful area!. I hope that when you return you will be able to try our restaurants for dinner.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Our room was huge, with a separate sitting area where we could sit and watch for wombats in the evening. We did have a small issue at check-in whether or not breakfast was included in our booking, which was resolved. The proximity to Cradle Mountain is the real selling point, we checked in in the afternoon, got a long hike in taking the last bus out of the park, and were back at the hotel to relax and for dinner in the evening.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

Dear Tyler D,

Thankyou for your feedback, I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel especially the National Park, We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

My family and I stayed for a night. The room was large with a beautiful view of the forest. Really quiet night in a huge bed.
Wifi was not available in the hotel due to a storm the week before. I can understand but for the price we paid they could arrange something..
Lets talk about the food : the only thing edible was the sandwich we asked for our pic nic pack. The restaurant tries to do as good as a fine dining restaurant. What a joke !! Tasting plate really small ( one prawn, one oyster, one scallop... ) and you have to cook it yourself, staff unfriendly, talk to you like a machine....
Breakfast 25pp with a sock juice as coffee, poached egg hard as a golf ball, beans could be served directly in their cans...I could describe this horror for an hour.. Start a diet as soon as you arrive or bring your own food!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank EveLilBoyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

Dear EveLilBoyBlue,

Thankyou for your comments, I am disappointed to hear of your experience. Can you contact me directly on 03 6492 1404 to discuss your comments further.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2016

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel to attend a wedding. Our spa room was large with a comfortable bed. Nice view of the bushland setting out our window. Room was well equipped and clean. The hotel is a relaxed place with a short walk on boardwalks just outside and not far to drive to the other sites in the Cradle Mt area. The buffet breakfast was good tho the buffet dinner was just ok. The large dining room is like a cafeteria and tends to be noisy. The restaurant was much better tho more expensive of course. Focus is on Tasmanian produce and we were all happy with our meal. Service was good. Overall a pleasant place to stay tho we thought that the room rate was expensive.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bush side nicer than facing the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

Dear Sue S,

Thankyou for your comments, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
38.5 km away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#2 of 2 in Sheffield
65 reviews
38.7 km away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
115 reviews
2.5 km away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
825 reviews
4.7 km away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
468 reviews
1 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Hotel

Address: Astell 3718 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Chateau)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $202 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cradle Mountain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of alpine wilderness, Cradle Mountain Hotel sits on the edge of Cradle Mountain Lake St Clair National Park. It's the perfect base for alpine walks. Be pampered at the end of the day with hearty mountain fare and a crackling log fire. The Hotel is home to The Wilderness Galley, a magnificent collection of nature photography. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Cradle Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Chateau Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing