We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cradle mountain chateau”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We loved it their ,it was winter so we just relaxed in room an around the accomadation area .we had a wilderness deluxe spa double room .big room very clean ,cradle mountain is outside our room,stayed 2- nights ,included in our package was buffet breakfast in quolls restaurant .we had a visitor next morning a kangaroo outside our room it was nice to see .

Room Tip: Get a wilderness deluxe spa double room ,nice and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanley031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

884 - 888 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stayed here for two nights on the 14 & 15 of July with my partner for his birthday. We stayed in a king spa room and were very satisfied with the accomodation. The only problem we had with the rooms was the fact that you could not get TDT or One on the TV which was a bit of a problem when you are a mad MotoGP fan. After speaking with the kind staff at reception and also in the lounge area they informed us that they could get these channels on the TV in the lounge and they were more than happy for us to watch the MotoGP and also serve us drinks beyond closing time which was much appreciated. The breakfast was very nice, bit over priced for the full breakfast but it was still very delish. Worth while checking out the art gallery whilst you are there too. I will definitely be visiting Cradle Mountain again as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: I would suggest paying a little extra to stay in the split king suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liljess86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We spent two nights in a split-level, spa room in June and overall were very happy. Our room was very comfortable with a pretty outlook through the trees. Wombats, wallabies and a very cheeky Currawong were right under or on our balcony. The bathrooms and decor are a little dated but very well maintained and we didn't have any problems with the heating, in fact, actually had to turn it down at one stage. Meals were delicious with quite a good choice, perhaps a little pricey but we had a package and only had to pay for lunch. Staff were friendly and helpful, the lounge areas and wood fires were cosy and comfortable and the only negative we felt was that the interiors are a bit dated and in need of a makeover.

Overall, so long as people are aware of the limited eating options and isolation of Cradle Mountain, which make it a bit more expensive than other areas, I would recommend the chateau as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Split level rooms are spacious and have a much better outlook with lots of afternoon sun in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed here for two nights in June. The facilities are good quality but ...the more expensive 'rooms with a view' are split level and the heating is not up to the job at this wintery time of the year. A small wall panel heater just isn't sufficient. Better advised to go for the smaller more easily heated rooms in winter. The corridors are also cold and the general ambience doesn't match Freycinet Lodge another of the Pure Tasmania brand properties which has heat pumps in cabins and to support the log fires. Be aware the more casual restaurant is also closed in the winter season. The Chateau is about 7 kilometres from the Park itself. This isn't a problem and especially at this time of the year and we would recommend you drive to Dove Lake rather than take the shuttle from the park visitor centre. Warm car on your return from a walk rather than a cold wait for the bus!

Room Tip: Rooms with view more expensive and not as well heated as they need to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sfdover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with 2 children and found the standard room to have more than enough space even with a rollaway bed. Service of food and beverage staff was friendly and attentive. Gum Tree restaurant was most enjoyable. Whilst we understand it is the low season it was slightly disappointing the more casual restaurant was not open for dinner. It is a great location the bush setting is terrific the kids enjoyed the visit outside our room of the local wildlife!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dowrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
38.5 km away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#2 of 2 in Sheffield
65 reviews
38.7 km away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
115 reviews
2.5 km away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
833 reviews
4.7 km away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
483 reviews
1 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Hotel

Address: Astell 3718 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Chateau)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $155 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cradle Mountain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of alpine wilderness, Cradle Mountain Hotel sits on the edge of Cradle Mountain Lake St Clair National Park. It's the perfect base for alpine walks. Be pampered at the end of the day with hearty mountain fare and a crackling log fire. The Hotel is home to The Wilderness Galley, a magnificent collection of nature photography. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au and getaroom.com so you can book your Cradle Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Chateau Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing