We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,151)
Filter reviews
1,151 results
Traveller rating
335
478
220
68
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
478
220
68
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet dinner wilderness gallery split level deluxe spa room two double beds king split national park cradle mountain small balcony a la carte restaurant standard room comfortable chairs common areas bit dated bush land dove lake lounge area
Filter
Updating list...
966 - 971 of 1,151 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stayed here for two nights on the 14 & 15 of July with my partner for his birthday. We stayed in a king spa room and were very satisfied with the accomodation. The only problem we had with the rooms was the fact that you could not get TDT or One on the TV which was a bit of a problem when you are a mad MotoGP fan. After speaking with the kind staff at reception and also in the lounge area they informed us that they could get these channels on the TV in the lounge and they were more than happy for us to watch the MotoGP and also serve us drinks beyond closing time which was much appreciated. The breakfast was very nice, bit over priced for the full breakfast but it was still very delish. Worth while checking out the art gallery whilst you are there too. I will definitely be visiting Cradle Mountain again as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: I would suggest paying a little extra to stay in the split king suite.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liljess86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We spent two nights in a split-level, spa room in June and overall were very happy. Our room was very comfortable with a pretty outlook through the trees. Wombats, wallabies and a very cheeky Currawong were right under or on our balcony. The bathrooms and decor are a little dated but very well maintained and we didn't have any problems with the heating, in fact, actually had to turn it down at one stage. Meals were delicious with quite a good choice, perhaps a little pricey but we had a package and only had to pay for lunch. Staff were friendly and helpful, the lounge areas and wood fires were cosy and comfortable and the only negative we felt was that the interiors are a bit dated and in need of a makeover.

Overall, so long as people are aware of the limited eating options and isolation of Cradle Mountain, which make it a bit more expensive than other areas, I would recommend the chateau as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Split level rooms are spacious and have a much better outlook with lots of afternoon sun in winter.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed here for two nights in June. The facilities are good quality but ...the more expensive 'rooms with a view' are split level and the heating is not up to the job at this wintery time of the year. A small wall panel heater just isn't sufficient. Better advised to go for the smaller more easily heated rooms in winter. The corridors are also cold and the general ambience doesn't match Freycinet Lodge another of the Pure Tasmania brand properties which has heat pumps in cabins and to support the log fires. Be aware the more casual restaurant is also closed in the winter season. The Chateau is about 7 kilometres from the Park itself. This isn't a problem and especially at this time of the year and we would recommend you drive to Dove Lake rather than take the shuttle from the park visitor centre. Warm car on your return from a walk rather than a cold wait for the bus!

Room Tip: Rooms with view more expensive and not as well heated as they need to be.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sfdover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with 2 children and found the standard room to have more than enough space even with a rollaway bed. Service of food and beverage staff was friendly and attentive. Gum Tree restaurant was most enjoyable. Whilst we understand it is the low season it was slightly disappointing the more casual restaurant was not open for dinner. It is a great location the bush setting is terrific the kids enjoyed the visit outside our room of the local wildlife!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dowrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Thought the resort very nice overall. Amazing spa outside in the snow which was wonderful after a massage. Loved sitting by the wood fires in the lounge areas. Only downside was that up there, there are limited options for night time dining and the prices for dinner and breakfast was just too high. We aren't in Beverley hills after all and come to think of it food in LA is about one quarter the price of food at the chateau

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Criky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews