We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cradle Mountain March 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Lovely positioned hotel, Beds were comfortable .
Rooms are a little overpriced but I guess you are paying for the location
Found the staff’s customer relations to be average

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

909 - 913 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

This hotel is well worth a stay if you're in Cradle Mt. Has a nice gallery with a tassie tiger exhibit next door and the hotel itself is well presented and has good facilities.

Nice rooms if not facing the carpark with a good view of the bush and animals. There is a lovely little boardwalk walk directly outside the restaurant that goes down through the trees in a circuit taking in a nice creek. Wallabies come out at sunset and are seen hopping around by your window at dawn. A nice experience.

Restaurant was pricey and didn't advertise prices readily for the buffet options, if you have to ask you can't afford it?

Nice cafe in town near the information centre for the park if you need a pizza on the cheap.

Internet in chateau was pricey at $1 for 10 minutes. The printer wasn't functioning properly with nil paper in the printer. Staff very unhelpful when asked to help with printing a page and begrudgingly gave paper when advised nil in printer. Otherwise staff were friendly in general.

Would stay again as loved the view and the experience. A good hotel.



nil prices for breakfast and dinner, computer hard to use with printing nil help when asked for assistance.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steelindustries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This place is magnificent in most aspects. It blends in with the environment and is quite expansive. It comes complete with an art gallery and a Tasmanian Tiger display which at a cost of $7.00 (or $5.00 if you stay at the complex) is pretty good value. The photo gallery is quite spectacular. The rooms are a good size and the beds are comfortable but the televisions are old and have only four channels to chose from. The disappointment was in the bathroom which appeared like a fiberglass type shack style bathroom. It was fine but appeared out of place with the rest of the decor.
The sting is in the selection of food. $35 for the buffet or $55.00 for two courses. If you don't have a big appetite then this is not good value so Cath and I went to the Information centre where you can pick up a great little Pizza or a pasta meal for about $20.00. Not cheap but go and find somewhere else to eat. This is also owned by the Chateau by the way and from what I hear no one else gets a fair go which is why the high prices.
Having been a bit negative I wish to add this is a beautiful place to stay and the staff were so polite and helpful. I would stay there again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: I think they are all pretty much the same from what we saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philandcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My partner and I stayed here for one night as part of our trip the Cradle Mountain.

THE GOOD:

- room service was fairly good
- there were lovely wood fire heaters throughout the building, offering a real mountain retreat feel
- there is a lovely walking track at the rear of the property (although nothing like the ones in the national park, so perhaps not worth wasting your time)
- the staff were generally helpful and quite easy on the eye (Europoean back-packers, it seems)
- we had kangaroos sitting right outside our window

THE BAD

- it is quite outdated
- no cable TV (from what I could tell)
- the restaurant was overpriced
- people had been smoking from the window's edge/balcony, with cigarette buts left all over the lovely ground where the kangaroos were sitting (not very environmentally friendly)

Another point of advice: if you decide to stay here, trust the road signs and not your GPS system. We go routed down some horrible unpaved road into the middle of nowhere because our maps were a few years out of date.

Also, if travelling to Cradle Mountain NP, arrive early as there is a limit of the number of people that car drive into the park. Also, leave yourself a day or two to climb to the top of the peak. We didn't get there earlier enough for a climb to the top, plus we didn't have the necessary equipment or basic supplies.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RocketMan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We booked in for a 'night of romance' package which was delivered but to a lower standard than hoped. The cheese plate had been sitting in the room for hours when we arrived with tiny slices of cheese and 4 biscuits each to eat it with. A request to sit for dinner earlier (20 mins) than our reservation (which I had to make at the time of booking the room) was initially refused and only at the promise we would just order drinks to start was enough for us to be let in. Generally the place is nice enough but dated and the staff don't have a particularly strong customer service ethic that makes you feel like you want to go back again. It was expensive for what it was and wasn't.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
38.5 km away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#2 of 2 in Sheffield
65 reviews
38.7 km away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
115 reviews
2.5 km away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
826 reviews
4.7 km away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
470 reviews
1 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Hotel

Address: Astell 3718 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Chateau)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $200 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cradle Mountain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of alpine wilderness, Cradle Mountain Hotel sits on the edge of Cradle Mountain Lake St Clair National Park. It's the perfect base for alpine walks. Be pampered at the end of the day with hearty mountain fare and a crackling log fire. The Hotel is home to The Wilderness Galley, a magnificent collection of nature photography. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Cradle Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Chateau Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing