We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,141)
Filter reviews
1,142 results
Traveller rating
330
475
220
67
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
475
220
67
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffet dinnerwilderness gallerysplit leveldeluxe spa roomtwo double bedsking splitnational parkcradle mountainsmall balconya la carte restaurantstandard roomcomfortable chairscommon areasbit datedbush landdove lakelounge area
Filter
Updating list...
988 - 993 of 1,142 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This hotel is well worth a stay if you're in Cradle Mt. Has a nice gallery with a tassie tiger exhibit next door and the hotel itself is well presented and has good facilities.

Nice rooms if not facing the carpark with a good view of the bush and animals. There is a lovely little boardwalk walk directly outside the restaurant that goes down through the trees in a circuit taking in a nice creek. Wallabies come out at sunset and are seen hopping around by your window at dawn. A nice experience.

Restaurant was pricey and didn't advertise prices readily for the buffet options, if you have to ask you can't afford it?

Nice cafe in town near the information centre for the park if you need a pizza on the cheap.

Internet in chateau was pricey at $1 for 10 minutes. The printer wasn't functioning properly with nil paper in the printer. Staff very unhelpful when asked to help with printing a page and begrudgingly gave paper when advised nil in printer. Otherwise staff were friendly in general.

Would stay again as loved the view and the experience. A good hotel.

nil prices for breakfast and dinner, computer hard to use with printing nil help when asked for assistance.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steelindustries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This place is magnificent in most aspects. It blends in with the environment and is quite expansive. It comes complete with an art gallery and a Tasmanian Tiger display which at a cost of $7.00 (or $5.00 if you stay at the complex) is pretty good value. The photo gallery is quite spectacular. The rooms are a good size and the beds are comfortable but the televisions are old and have only four channels to chose from. The disappointment was in the bathroom which appeared like a fiberglass type shack style bathroom. It was fine but appeared out of place with the rest of the decor.
The sting is in the selection of food. $35 for the buffet or $55.00 for two courses. If you don't have a big appetite then this is not good value so Cath and I went to the Information centre where you can pick up a great little Pizza or a pasta meal for about $20.00. Not cheap but go and find somewhere else to eat. This is also owned by the Chateau by the way and from what I hear no one else gets a fair go which is why the high prices.
Having been a bit negative I wish to add this is a beautiful place to stay and the staff were so polite and helpful. I would stay there again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: I think they are all pretty much the same from what we saw.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philandcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My partner and I stayed here for one night as part of our trip the Cradle Mountain.

THE GOOD:

- room service was fairly good
- there were lovely wood fire heaters throughout the building, offering a real mountain retreat feel
- there is a lovely walking track at the rear of the property (although nothing like the ones in the national park, so perhaps not worth wasting your time)
- the staff were generally helpful and quite easy on the eye (Europoean back-packers, it seems)
- we had kangaroos sitting right outside our window

THE BAD

- it is quite outdated
- no cable TV (from what I could tell)
- the restaurant was overpriced
- people had been smoking from the window's edge/balcony, with cigarette buts left all over the lovely ground where the kangaroos were sitting (not very environmentally friendly)

Another point of advice: if you decide to stay here, trust the road signs and not your GPS system. We go routed down some horrible unpaved road into the middle of nowhere because our maps were a few years out of date.

Also, if travelling to Cradle Mountain NP, arrive early as there is a limit of the number of people that car drive into the park. Also, leave yourself a day or two to climb to the top of the peak. We didn't get there earlier enough for a climb to the top, plus we didn't have the necessary equipment or basic supplies.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RocketMan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We booked in for a 'night of romance' package which was delivered but to a lower standard than hoped. The cheese plate had been sitting in the room for hours when we arrived with tiny slices of cheese and 4 biscuits each to eat it with. A request to sit for dinner earlier (20 mins) than our reservation (which I had to make at the time of booking the room) was initially refused and only at the promise we would just order drinks to start was enough for us to be let in. Generally the place is nice enough but dated and the staff don't have a particularly strong customer service ethic that makes you feel like you want to go back again. It was expensive for what it was and wasn't.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We spent 3 days at the chateau which rates as a 4 star facility. Certainly the foyer and lounge areas present well but there are a few negatives to go with the initial impression. Our room, a split level king spa room was very basic and painted a billious mustard yellow which closed in the fairly smallish room. We had a view of the bush which was nice but a small platform on which only one person can stand and it seems to be purely for a smoking platform. Why not have a proper size deck which 2 people can enjoy the bush scenery? The main problem we had was constantly stoked log fires burning in February!! It wasn't a heat wave by any means, but certainly not cold either. On the first night we were there, it was 20'C as we went to dinner and there was a large log fire burning away in the a la carte restaurant and with the sun streaming in the window as well, it was very uncomfortable. When we enquired of the poor staff member who was having to work in the uncomfortable heat, he said it was 'Company Policy" for the ambience! What about the guest comfort we ask? The restaurant rules are unbending. In the A la Carte, you pay for a minimum of 2 courses whether you want them or not. The Buffet restaurant, you pay for 5 courses! Food in both was only average.
Our further comment is that the staff although trying to be good at their job, seem really to need some training in Customer Relations.(with the exception of one male staff member who knew how to speak to guests). A number of times we felt we may have been in a school camp, having to follow instructions rather than paying guests asking for and receiving information. Not a good feeling to be snapped at by a young waitress when we asked not to be seated near the raging log fire....what a waste of wood, good clean mountain air and guests lasting impression! This is a generally well maintained hotel with a great photographic gallery on site - just needs to some fine tuning and a bit of tarting up in the room that we had at least!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the bush side of the hotel are recommended. The other side, the rooms look at a mound of dirt and the car park.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianneandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews