We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
USD 203*
USD 197*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mantra Collins Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
USD 120*
USD 115*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
USD 190*
USD 99*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Quest Savoy(Hobart)(Great Value!)
USD 98*
USD 92*
Agoda.com
View Deal
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
USD 157*
USD 88*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Central Hotel Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
USD 104*
USD 87*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Somerset on the Pier Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
USD 159*
USD 149*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Waterfront(Hobart)(Great Value!)
USD 101*
USD 93*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
USD 396*
USD 227*
The Henry Jones
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fountainside Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
USD 112*
USD 84*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,089)
Filter reviews
1,089 results
Traveller rating
314
451
216
64
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
451
216
64
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrey gumbuffet dinnerwilderness gallerysplit leveldeluxe spa roomnational parkthe lower levelking splitcradle mountaintwo double bedssmall balconya la carte restaurantstandard roomcommon areasbit dateddove lakebush land
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
955 - 960 of 1,089 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Even their own website doesn't do justice to this place. From the outside it looks pretty plain (other than all the cute wildlife) but inside it's clean and classy. The rates are higher than normal - but that is true of everything in this lovely location. Our deluxe king room overlooked the surrounding wilderness. The room was clean and comfortable but the bed is firm and you feel every single movement of your partner. To be so close to the national park, surrounded by wildlife and have such a nice room, the extra dollars are well spent!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Overall we were very impressed with the Chateau. Check in was very easy (we had booked online) and the staff couldn't do enough for us. The room was clean, well appointed and modern with a king size bed plus a king single. There were a number of sitting rooms with wood fires where you could sit & relax, as well as a very good bar with a wood fire, snooker table & comfortable lounge chairs. We stayed two nights & dined in both the Grey Gum Restaurant & Quolls Bistro and the meals were of a high quality and reasonably priced.

The staff in both restaurants were excellent, as were the bar staff - particularly Zack who kept the bar open for us so we could have a nightcap after returning from the "Night with the Animals" tour even though we returned well after normal closing time.

Cradle Mountain was on our list of 'must see' places in Tasmania & the Chateau is an excellent choice for accommodation & dining. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philnterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The wife was wanting a weekend away so it was on with the thinking cap and after much deliberation i decieded that we would go to Cradle Mountian , This is a area that I am very familiar with as I lived and grew up ( some of my friends say I never did grow up ) nearby .
It had been literary years since I last went up to Cradle Mountain so I did not know really what to expect as for as facilitys and accomodation was going to be like , my early memorys were of some very basic accomodation and a narrow gravel road leading into the park .
How things have changed ! .
On arrival at the turn off to the park I was suprized to find the road was now sealed to an acceptable standard and although still narrow with some odd shaped traffic islands that would really hinder you if you happen to have a large caravan in tow the drive in was really pleasant .
It wasn't long before we spotted the chateau on the right about 2km in from the turn off , the building was quite an impressive thing as you drive up to it and doesn't dissapoint when you walk inside ether , high cathederal ceilings and exposed beams were the theme here as was the use of floor to ceiling windows and local timbers , after check in that was painless we were shown to our room that had a great view out over the high country bush that I remembered as a kid .
The room was really very comfortable and clean with nothing to grumble about here and also spoted by my wife was the day spa / relaxation centre which we put to good use after a bush walk around Dove Lake futher into the park .
The food and service was exellent although a little on the expensive side but then again you are a fair bit out of the way here and so the prices reflect this , we always selected the tables that were near the roaring fire place but also had the views out over the surrounding bush .
One thing that I would suggest here is to go into the art gallery across the car park from the main enterance , it costs a few dollars to get in but the art displayed is exellent and well worth the money ( it will take an hour to look around here ) .
Cost for the weekend ? well we payed $160 a night for the accomodation , just a basic room but you could upgrade to a more luxurious room with a spa if you wished which will cost you almost double .
Would we go back ? , You Bet ! we found the staff helpfull , the rooms and food exellent and the price we payed apart from our sore feet walking around Dove Lake was most agree able .

peter and sue

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the north facing side for a view out over the high country .
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petersueluyks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Although not cheap, the Chateau is less expensive than the famed Cradle Mountain Lodge, and not lacking in comfort or style. Check in was a kind of protracted affair, but after that we settled in to enjoy the clear mountain air and the surprising standard of luxury.

First stop the bar, to sit by the roaring fire (well, wood stove) in a very comfortable sofa and ease into a pre-dinner drink. We weren't the only ones, but the staff kept us all well watered and retained their sense of humour. If the bar doesn't interest you,each wing has a separate "library" with its own fire, where you can go and relax.

We dined in the buffet restaurant for $35 per person and the food was delicious. The staff, although busy, were polite and as attentive as possible, and one of the chefs came out and had a yarn with us about our food and wine choices when it was over, just a nice chat from a genuinely interested foodie.

We were surprised to see pretty much the same staff at breakfast the next morning (at $25 not quite as good value as the evening meal) but if they were tired they didn't show it. All in all a refreshing and enjoyable stay. Our friends visited the Tasmanian Tiger Gallery attached and they thought it excellent. We were on a chopper flight over the mountain at the time...

Room Tip: They're all good.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scrib310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Dining room staff could not answer simple questions about wine list. New staff who are unfamiliar with their product lets down the whole experience as it is these staff that you have most interaction with. Rooms were good and of course the location is everything. lovely to wallabies and wombats in their natural environment.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews