We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,164)
Filter reviews
1,164 results
Traveller rating
341
482
223
68
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
482
223
68
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet dinner wilderness gallery split level king room king split national park cradle mountain small balcony a la carte restaurant standard room comfortable chairs common areas bit dated bush land dove lake stayed here for one night lounge area
Filter
Updating list...
1,035 - 1,040 of 1,164 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We had an enjoyable stay at the Chateau. Whilst the only reason to visit the area is the National Park, you do need to stay somewhere for at least two nights to enjoy a walk around Dove Lake.
The Chateau is a typical "Pure Tasmania" experience, void of atmosphere and relatively sterile however the staff were exceptional.
Our accommodation was equivalent to a standard dated hotel room including framed self promotional photographs, a spa and very thin walls. We easily heard movement in either neighboring rooms and the hallway. We wanted to leave the curtains open to enjoy the bush vista however there is a boardwalk leading to the restaurant/bar and "bush walk" right outside the main window leaving you with no privacy.
The evening buffet was adequate and the hearty fully cooked breakfast is a must to fortify you against the cold weather.
Cradle Mountain is a must do if living in or visiting Tasmania. The staff made our stay most enjoyable however we will look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Room was lovely and warm. Wildlife outside in full view was a real timewaster! Log fires throughout were a nice touch. The chateau nestles into its environment, so all is very subtle and quiet. Our rate included a full buffet breakfast so the value was unbeatable. All the staff without exception were professional, welcoming and very pleasant. We were so sorry that we had only one night. A minimum of three would have allowed a fuller exploration of the amazing natural beauty of the place. Next time we'll come during the depth of winter.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnonymousBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

The rooms are a little tired but the location is great. I thought the food was a bit overpriced (breakfast & dinner). We had a better dinner at the restaurant at the CM Lodge. I also had the most wonderful spa package at the CM Lodge (however it was too expensive to stay there!). Location is very good, only 10mins from Cradle Mountain. Service at the reception desk can be a bit slow.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Room was great, opened curtains in the morning and saw locals, wombats, echidna's, various birds, wallabies absolutely beautiful. Room was warm, everything you need including a spa. Took advantage of the Day Spa for a Massage and Spa devine and the girls were lovely. Dinner and breakfast excellent. Stayed 4 nights tried different foods on offer off the menu. Exceptional service and all the staff were friendly. In a great spot for relaxation and a bit of me time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank augusta522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

My husband and I are quite tall and would have liked a queen size bed as advertised when we booked, we upgraded to a deluxe spa room when we arrived and were very disappointed to find two double beds. We checked with reception and were informed that the chateau had a few king rooms but they were fully booked. We were also told the double beds were queen length, we must be taller than we thought as our feet hung out the end.The rooms were tired and needed to be moved into this century. However, the restaurant was lovely and wait staff excellent. The overall ambience was lovely with fires burning in common areas. The Wilderness gallery is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussellSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews