We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Agoda.com
AU$355
Fully refundable before Wed, 5 June
No prepayment needed
No fees just great deals
StayForLong
Vio.com
AU$355
Fully refundable before Thu, 6 June
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
KarenDop1
Melbourne, Australia

Great Setting and Great Cabins

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 July 2019
We stayed in a Premium Chalet which had plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 older teens. It was extremely clean and comfortable, the heating was very efficient, and the chalet had amazing views across the mountains at sunrise from the lounge and verandah. It was very private and quiet.
The staff were all very welcoming and we had no issues with our booking, it was exactly as we had requested. We self catered while we were there and we found the kitchenette to be fairly well equipped, although if you are wanting to use the microwave to heat up meals (there are no ovens in the Chalets) bring your own microwave containers as none were supplied. Definitely recommend staying here when in Cradle Mountain.
Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
StayForLong
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    AU$311
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Free parking
Restaurant
Exterior
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    AU$659
  • Algotels
2.0 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Free parking
Restaurant
General
Booking.com
AU$160
  • Priceline
    AU$160
  • Vio.com
    AU$139
  • Hotels.com
    AU$144
4.2 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
62.7 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$402
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$330
  • Agoda.com
    AU$301
  • Priceline
    AU$327
64.2 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Free parking
Restaurant
Deepest freshwater lake in Australia. Only stopped there for lunch, but there were many hikers, a shop and coffee shop as well as many trail possibilities.
StayForLong
    64.2 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
    Free parking
    Agoda.com
    AU$355
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    No fees just great deals
    • Vio.com
      AU$355
    • StayForLong
    • Booking.com
    0.0 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Priceline
    Go to your Happy Price
    • eDreams
    • Trip.com
      AU$315
    • Agoda.com
    15.1 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
      AU$139
    • Expedia.com
    • Algotels
    17.5 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    View more hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
    Reviews (1,090)
    Filter reviews
    1,091 results
    Traveller rating
    532
    440
    82
    24
    13
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    532
    440
    82
    24
    13
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews spa cottage cradle mountain national park premium spa electric blankets on site restaurant stove top living room cooking facilities down the road visitor center short drive shuttle buses stayed for nights gas fireplace lounge area heating
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    132 - 137 of 1,091 reviews
    Reviewed 15 July 2019

    Some unprecedented high snowfall caused some issues with carparks and checking in however , was a lovely stay. Nice rooms; clean and comfortable. Had a few friendly currawongs on the deck wanting food and saw a few pademelons as well. Didn't get to visit dove lake due to snow.
    The rooms were a bit cold, even with heaters all on full. Bring a few layers! Beware travelling here in the snow season... don't be one of those people in a 2 wheel drive! The hotel has a plow but they they didnt use it while we were there.
    Would recommend not to get units 1-3 as they are 10m downwind from the employees smoking hut. Pretty gross

    Date of stay: July 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    2  Thank AnJam1980
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 29 May 2019 via mobile

    Thnx to Grant and your fantastic team - Helen, Shannon, David, Ben, Lynch - for the exceptional service during our short stay at the lodge. We were not prepared as the snow bucketed down during the night and our car was covered with snow in the morning. Grant and his staff were kind enough to help drive us out, and we had a great dinner at the lodge followed by complimentary dessert wine, and a few games of Jenga!
    Definitely 5☆ service. Thnx heaps Grant! Much appreciated

    Date of stay: May 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    2  Thank TerriK861
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 27 May 2019 via mobile

    After my husband screwed up our booking dates, we found ourselves in Cradle Mountain at night time without accommodation— our night was booked for the next day! Not good! But our rescue was at hand thanks to the Wilderness Village, which had a few openings. Before we could say “looks like
    we are sleeping in the car,” we found ourselves in a luxurious and very affordable spa cabin. I cried a little when we opened the door— we couldn’t believe our eyes, a sumptuous king sized bed at one end, a spacious living room and kitchen at the other, complete with cozy fire, and omg in the middle, with complete privacy a sensational spa tub overlooking the gorgeous wilderness outside of a wall of windows. Woke to the first snow of the season in a winter wonderland we will never forget— so warm even though it was freezing outside, topped off with a delicious walk-in rain shower and a very practical kitchen. Thank you to the great hosts and staff, who turned our precarious situation into a memorable experience. Choose this place for its intentional, beautiful and private design which is all about comfort and welcome, and is evident in the architecture and each staff member we met. (oh and offers recycling!)

    Date of stay: May 2019
    Thank Natalia T
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 26 May 2019 via mobile

    Excellent location, walkable distance to cradle mountain visitors lodge. You won’t need a car once you’ve arrived - you can just take shuttle bus around the cradle mountain after purchasing a pass.

    The only downside was that they don’t serve lunch and breakfast. So we were advised to stop by Sheffield to stock up in groceries before going down. But actually there’s a cafe at the visitor’s lodge with breakfast food. So you won’t starve even if you didn’t buy anything. There’s also a small cafe at wilderness lodge selling simple waffles and certain dry goods.

    The chalet was very clean!!! And the kitchenette was well equipped for preparing eggs and simple breakfast stuff. Has utensils, cups bowls plates, pots, a fridge, knives, and a conduction stove. There was a queen bed in the living room at one corner w bedside lamps, and a bedroom. Heater good. We could walk from the cabin to the restaurant. (But the bigger numbered chalets were much further away and you May have to drive to the restaurant)

    Restaurant was very expensive though with small portioned food. Good to order the duck confit. May want to explore other dining options in the lodges nearby.

    Tip - do request for the chalets that are located closer to the main guest lounge/restaurant.

    Lost a star for restaurant’s small portioned food and even tho they said reception was open until 6pm, when we arrived at 545-550 the counter was closed and we had to collect our keys from the box.

    Date of stay: April 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    1  Thank jointedlegs
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 5 May 2019

    This is a very nice place, lovely villas/ chalets in gorgeous wilderness setting, very hard to fault it. The only down side for us, was the two nights we stayed,the restaurant was not open, which is quite inconvenient at Cradle Mount given the limited options available. Seems a shame too, as people are happy to pay the often expensive prices at such locations as they know there are added costs for the proprietor of the business . Seems this is a strange choice to limit potential income , and happy customers?

    Date of stay: April 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank 776danc
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews