We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,038)
Filter reviews
1,038 results
Traveller rating
503
424
77
22
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
503
424
77
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa cottage cradle mountain premium chalet national park bedroom cabin dove lake electric blankets stove top self cater food supplies living area down the road information centre reception area small kitchen short drive shuttle buses
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 1,038 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2019 via mobile

After my husband screwed up our booking dates, we found ourselves in Cradle Mountain at night time without accommodation— our night was booked for the next day! Not good! But our rescue was at hand thanks to the Wilderness Village, which had a few openings. Before we could say “looks like
we are sleeping in the car,” we found ourselves in a luxurious and very affordable spa cabin. I cried a little when we opened the door— we couldn’t believe our eyes, a sumptuous king sized bed at one end, a spacious living room and kitchen at the other, complete with cozy fire, and omg in the middle, with complete privacy a sensational spa tub overlooking the gorgeous wilderness outside of a wall of windows. Woke to the first snow of the season in a winter wonderland we will never forget— so warm even though it was freezing outside, topped off with a delicious walk-in rain shower and a very practical kitchen. Thank you to the great hosts and staff, who turned our precarious situation into a memorable experience. Choose this place for its intentional, beautiful and private design which is all about comfort and welcome, and is evident in the architecture and each staff member we met. (oh and offers recycling!)

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank Natalia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 May 2019 via mobile

Excellent location, walkable distance to cradle mountain visitors lodge. You won’t need a car once you’ve arrived - you can just take shuttle bus around the cradle mountain after purchasing a pass.

The only downside was that they don’t serve lunch and breakfast. So we were advised to stop by Sheffield to stock up in groceries before going down. But actually there’s a cafe at the visitor’s lodge with breakfast food. So you won’t starve even if you didn’t buy anything. There’s also a small cafe at wilderness lodge selling simple waffles and certain dry goods.

The chalet was very clean!!! And the kitchenette was well equipped for preparing eggs and simple breakfast stuff. Has utensils, cups bowls plates, pots, a fridge, knives, and a conduction stove. There was a queen bed in the living room at one corner w bedside lamps, and a bedroom. Heater good. We could walk from the cabin to the restaurant. (But the bigger numbered chalets were much further away and you May have to drive to the restaurant)

Restaurant was very expensive though with small portioned food. Good to order the duck confit. May want to explore other dining options in the lodges nearby.

Tip - do request for the chalets that are located closer to the main guest lounge/restaurant.

Lost a star for restaurant’s small portioned food and even tho they said reception was open until 6pm, when we arrived at 545-550 the counter was closed and we had to collect our keys from the box.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank jointedlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 May 2019

This is a very nice place, lovely villas/ chalets in gorgeous wilderness setting, very hard to fault it. The only down side for us, was the two nights we stayed,the restaurant was not open, which is quite inconvenient at Cradle Mount given the limited options available. Seems a shame too, as people are happy to pay the often expensive prices at such locations as they know there are added costs for the proprietor of the business . Seems this is a strange choice to limit potential income , and happy customers?

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 776danc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 May 2019 via mobile

Highly recommend the cradle mountain wilderness village for a stay in the heart of cradle mountain. I looked at staying in places further out from cradle mountain and so glad I didn’t as it would have been a long windy wet trip in and out everyday where I spent 2 minutes in the car from the wilderness village to the visitor center to catch the shuttle bus into dove lake. The village is great especially if you want some time away from the world as once you are in your chalet you don’t see or hear anyone else, very peaceful. The chalet was sparkling clean and had everything I needed. The spa was the best part, having that after a big day of hiking was amazing for tired muscles. The big bed was super comfy making it hard to leave. Service at reception was fast and friendly. Will definitely stay here again when I come back.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank arliahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 May 2019

We stayed in a 2 bedroom chalet with another couple close to the reception block. It was very comfortable with 2 queen size beds. The kitchen/dinning/lounge area was quite big with good size windows, and sliding doors onto a small deck. Looking out the windows was just like looking at a nature picture, the bush is so close to you. Also the bonus to view wildlife up so close and personal. Its only a short walk to the visitor centre or a 2 minute drive. We enjoyed dinner at the restaurant and a couple of drinks in their lounge area. Would recommend to stay here on your visit to cradle mountain.

Room tip: Chalet No 1,2 or 3 were the closest to the reception/restaurant/cafe areas.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarrenK652
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews