We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Agoda.com
AU$355
Fully refundable before Wed, 5 June
No prepayment needed
No fees just great deals
StayForLong
Vio.com
AU$355
Fully refundable before Thu, 6 June
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Magnolia
Sydney, Australia

Freezing weather, exceptional service and warm hospitality

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 May 2019via mobile
Thnx to Grant and your fantastic team - Helen, Shannon, David, Ben, Lynch - for the exceptional service during our short stay at the lodge. We were not prepared as the snow bucketed down during the night and our car was covered with snow in the morning. Grant and his staff were kind enough to help drive us out, and we had a great dinner at the lodge followed by complimentary dessert wine, and a few games of Jenga!
Definitely 5☆ service. Thnx heaps Grant! Much appreciated
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Waldheim Cabins
6.7 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Free parking
0.6 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Free parking
Restaurant
Exterior
2.0 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Free parking
Restaurant
64.2 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Free parking
Restaurant
62.7 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Free parking
Restaurant
Deepest freshwater lake in Australia. Only stopped there for lunch, but there were many hikers, a shop and coffee shop as well as many trail possibilities.
64.2 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Free parking
General
4.2 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Free parking
0.0 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Free parking
Restaurant
2.0 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Room service
View more hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Reviews (1,090)
Filter reviews
1,091 results
Traveller rating
532
440
82
24
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
532
440
82
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa cottage cradle mountain national park premium spa electric blankets on site restaurant stove top living room cooking facilities down the road visitor center short drive shuttle buses stayed for nights gas fireplace lounge area heating
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 1,091 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2019 via mobile

After my husband screwed up our booking dates, we found ourselves in Cradle Mountain at night time without accommodation— our night was booked for the next day! Not good! But our rescue was at hand thanks to the Wilderness Village, which had a few openings. Before we could say “looks like
we are sleeping in the car,” we found ourselves in a luxurious and very affordable spa cabin. I cried a little when we opened the door— we couldn’t believe our eyes, a sumptuous king sized bed at one end, a spacious living room and kitchen at the other, complete with cozy fire, and omg in the middle, with complete privacy a sensational spa tub overlooking the gorgeous wilderness outside of a wall of windows. Woke to the first snow of the season in a winter wonderland we will never forget— so warm even though it was freezing outside, topped off with a delicious walk-in rain shower and a very practical kitchen. Thank you to the great hosts and staff, who turned our precarious situation into a memorable experience. Choose this place for its intentional, beautiful and private design which is all about comfort and welcome, and is evident in the architecture and each staff member we met. (oh and offers recycling!)

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank Natalia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 May 2019 via mobile

Excellent location, walkable distance to cradle mountain visitors lodge. You won’t need a car once you’ve arrived - you can just take shuttle bus around the cradle mountain after purchasing a pass.

The only downside was that they don’t serve lunch and breakfast. So we were advised to stop by Sheffield to stock up in groceries before going down. But actually there’s a cafe at the visitor’s lodge with breakfast food. So you won’t starve even if you didn’t buy anything. There’s also a small cafe at wilderness lodge selling simple waffles and certain dry goods.

The chalet was very clean!!! And the kitchenette was well equipped for preparing eggs and simple breakfast stuff. Has utensils, cups bowls plates, pots, a fridge, knives, and a conduction stove. There was a queen bed in the living room at one corner w bedside lamps, and a bedroom. Heater good. We could walk from the cabin to the restaurant. (But the bigger numbered chalets were much further away and you May have to drive to the restaurant)

Restaurant was very expensive though with small portioned food. Good to order the duck confit. May want to explore other dining options in the lodges nearby.

Tip - do request for the chalets that are located closer to the main guest lounge/restaurant.

Lost a star for restaurant’s small portioned food and even tho they said reception was open until 6pm, when we arrived at 545-550 the counter was closed and we had to collect our keys from the box.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank jointedlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 May 2019

This is a very nice place, lovely villas/ chalets in gorgeous wilderness setting, very hard to fault it. The only down side for us, was the two nights we stayed,the restaurant was not open, which is quite inconvenient at Cradle Mount given the limited options available. Seems a shame too, as people are happy to pay the often expensive prices at such locations as they know there are added costs for the proprietor of the business . Seems this is a strange choice to limit potential income , and happy customers?

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 776danc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 May 2019 via mobile

Highly recommend the cradle mountain wilderness village for a stay in the heart of cradle mountain. I looked at staying in places further out from cradle mountain and so glad I didn’t as it would have been a long windy wet trip in and out everyday where I spent 2 minutes in the car from the wilderness village to the visitor center to catch the shuttle bus into dove lake. The village is great especially if you want some time away from the world as once you are in your chalet you don’t see or hear anyone else, very peaceful. The chalet was sparkling clean and had everything I needed. The spa was the best part, having that after a big day of hiking was amazing for tired muscles. The big bed was super comfy making it hard to leave. Service at reception was fast and friendly. Will definitely stay here again when I come back.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank arliahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2019

We stayed in a 2 bedroom chalet with another couple close to the reception block. It was very comfortable with 2 queen size beds. The kitchen/dinning/lounge area was quite big with good size windows, and sliding doors onto a small deck. Looking out the windows was just like looking at a nature picture, the bush is so close to you. Also the bonus to view wildlife up so close and personal. Its only a short walk to the visitor centre or a 2 minute drive. We enjoyed dinner at the restaurant and a couple of drinks in their lounge area. Would recommend to stay here on your visit to cradle mountain.

Room tip: Chalet No 1,2 or 3 were the closest to the reception/restaurant/cafe areas.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarrenK652
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews