We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 4:30 pm
Burnie Sightseeing Tour
7

Book in advance
from
AU$150.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Burnie Regional Museum
from AU$150.00
More Info
from AU$205.00
More Info
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
30
24
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
30
24
2
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2023

We were in the area because the bus from our cruise ship dropped off passengers in the adjacent plaza. The Mayor came out to greet us, which was terrific. The museum itself is quite small and run by volunteers. It gives you a short overview of the history of Burnie and includes some photographs as well as a street scene complete with shops. We were here on a Sunday and it was open maybe because our ship was in port.

Date of experience: March 2023
Thank 2CAtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 May 2022

We arrived at the Museum and the place looked deserted although opening hours were advertised as 10.00am - 4.30pm. Spotted a male heading up the walkway and followed. By the time we reached the door he was inside but returned to find out if he could assist. We were advised that the museum was closed, I pointed out that the opening hours were advertised 10 - 4.30 and the time was 2.25pm. I was then told it didn't open on Tuesdays. NOT HAPPY.

Adjacent the carpark is a sculpture, Spiral Chimes Walk and the water feature with plaque inscribed, in part; Tribute to the pioneers of Burnie.

Date of experience: April 2022
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 May 2020

This is an amazing place to wander around. They have created a whole street just as it was so long ago. With sound & videos as well as thousands of artifacts its such a surprise & so well done
Most of the items were collected by Peter Mercer who started collecting when he was a young boy and his collection got so big it took over and became a private museum before becoming the Burnie Regional Museum.
The design is based on the Kirkgate Victorian Street in York, in the UK and is a fantastic collection of so many items!!
See the Local Pub - The Emu Bay Inn. The Doctor, Livery Services,Coach Service, Newspaper Offices, Blacksmith, General Store & Post Office, Local Photographer, The Emu Bay Butter Factory, The Dental Surgery - Ouch!! Heaps more!!
Really interesting & well worth seeing.
Buy a souvenir catalogue - you wont regret it!!
Have fun- heapsto learn

Date of experience: March 2020
30  Thank DeniseLock
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2020 via mobile

Difficult to find since it is tucked away. Reasonably priced but not a patch on historical villages such as Swan Hill and Soveriegn Hill which are interactive and considerably larger.

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank llsaPortElliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2020

Once we found it, the signage hard to find, we loved it. Very friendly and informative lady at the desk. Three parts to the museum, the recreation of the former Main Street of Burnie, really well done, felt like we had really gone back in time. The room about Burnie in it beginning days, heaps of interesting info and displays and then the digital photo display of hundreds of old photos of landmarks of the North West.
Reasonably priced $5.50 for seniors. Lots of parking but you do have to pay.
Really worth a visit.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews