We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, good location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Burnie
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Burnie
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice staff, good location and value”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Good location: opp. Mc Donald's, near highway, main shops and waterfront.
Staff were lovely but were busy in the morning as both reception and housekeeping staff were helping with the breakfast.
Rooms were clean and tidy and you can see that there have been light refurbishments in an effort made to keep the rooms modernised.
Pub downstairs can get quite rowdy (couldn't hear it from the room but could hear noisy people coming in and out of their rooms...I guess that can't be helped)

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper I would avoid rooms near the lift...it's a bit noisy but if you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 90basso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comforthotelburnie, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Burnie, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Please let us know for your future stays - we are happy to say our new lift should arrive and be installed early 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    33
    33
    13
    1
See reviews for
12
24
2
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broome, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed in Feb 2012 at Bayside Burnie at the top of the main street. Very accessible, very close to highway and Maccas- keep this in mind as street noise can be an issue. Not the hotels fault about this, suspect many propertties in CBD are the same.
Frienddly staff, basic room with all one could really need without the extras, clean no frills approach. Building is old and visible in public areas- lifts, hallways and bistro, but is well maintained and looks to be in the gradual refurb process. A good nights sleep, excellent location and Irish Pub downstairs is convenient for drinks and good priced meals.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comforthotelburnie, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Burnie, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
We are working on the noise outside with the local members of the community.
We are happy to say we are now a 3.5 star property with many more updates and additions to come early 2013 - including a new bar and restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Clean, friendly, great pub with super yummy meals. Super service. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comforthotelburnie, Manager at Comfort Hotel Burnie, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thumbs up! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We were skeptical about the huge yellow monstrosity from the outside ... but we were pleasantly surprised inside! Friendly staff, many new/refurbished features in the room (bed, carpet, linen, bathroom), and we stayed on a Sunday night so no noise from the bar. It's a 3-star hotel so you need to be realistic about what to expect - but the important things to us were comfortable bed, clean bathroom and good shower, and for those things the Bayside couldn't be faulted. If you want the latest technology, a huge array of food for breakfast, shiny new appliances etc, then (a) this probably isn't the hotel for you; and (b) why are you staying in a 3-star hotel anyway??!!

Pros:
- friendly service
- simple continental breakfast (served in dining room) included in our room rate - cereal, toast, juice, tea, coffee, fruit, yoghurt. More than enough for us but if you like a hot/substantial breakfast, head to the Hot Mother Lounge down the road!)
- fantastic comfortable bed/pillows
- everything spotlessly clean, especially the bathroom
- good sized room
- free parking

Cons:
- Old-style TV (but we weren't there to watch TV so didn't really care)
- No air-con (but the room had a heater, a cooling fan, and opening windows so was fine)

We can't comment on the noise - on a Sunday night in October we didn't hear a sound all night.

We won't hesitate to go back to Bayside Burnie, especially if they keep their rates so low.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlsinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comforthotelburnie, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Burnie, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Wonderful - thanks for your comments (yes our colour is what everyone loves to hate!).
You will also be pleased to know that for your next stay we have flat screen tvs and reverse cylce air con.
Of course our great rates are available, check our website for best rates of the day- only difference being we are now a Comfort Hotel (Comfort Hotel Burnie) when you are searching for us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crownsville, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

As we left Tasmania, we stopped here for a bite to eat. This is a great little local bistro with some great specials. Worth trying if you go through Burnie.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alexander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comforthotelburnie, Manager at Comfort Hotel Burnie, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Excellent - thanks for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnie
0.5 km away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burnie
142 reviews
15.3 km away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
0.6 km away
Beachfront Voyager Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Wellers Inn
Wellers Inn
#4 of 6 in Burnie
49 reviews
5.9 km away
Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn
0.6 km away
The Menai Motel & Function Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Burnie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Burnie

Property: Comfort Hotel Burnie
Address: 139 Wilson St, Burnie, Tasmania 7320, Australia (Formerly Bayside Burnie)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Burnie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Burnie
Price range (per night): $124 - $184
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Burnie 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townhouse Hotel Burnie is 600 metres from the Burnie’s central business district, and a 16-minute walk from Burnie Beach. It offers a restaurant, conference and function facilities, and free parking on site. Guest rooms are fitted with a work desk, minibar, tea/coffee making facilities and a TV with cable channels. Each has an en suite bathroom with toiletries and a hairdryer. Situated on the ground floor, the onsite bar and gaming lounge are open daily. Bistro meals are available Monday to Saturday. Townhouse Hotel Burnie is just a 2-minute walk from nearby supermarkets and restaurants. Wynyard Airport is a 20-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Australia, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Comfort Hotel Burnie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Burnie Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing