We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$163
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Hotels.com
AU$153
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
AU$126
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
A Tripadvisor Member
Amazing, comfortable, extremely spacious and very clean
Review of Ikon Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 May 2023
I have stayed @ Ikon for five nights, my stay was very comfortable, very spacious room, staff was extremely courteous and helpful. The location of the hotel is right in the centre of city, every restaurant and beach is in walking distance. I highly recommend this Hotel ( THIS IS NOT A MOTEL)
I will stay again for sure
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Executive Suite
Booking.com
AU$175
  • Priceline
    AU$189
  • Hotels.com
    AU$146
  • Expedia.com
    AU$164
0.2 km from Ikon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
AU$99
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$99
  • Hotels.com
    AU$99
  • Agoda.com
    AU$99
3.6 km from Ikon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Apartment 2 - lounge
Tripadvisor
AU$155
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Ikon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Ikon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.2 km from Ikon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.6 km from Ikon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from Ikon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Marilyn Suite
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.8 km from Ikon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Suites
Agoda.com
Multiple ways to pay
  • Lol.travel
  • ZenHotels.com
0.4 km from Ikon Hotel
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
View of the Waterfront Wynyard from across the Inglis River.
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
15.8 km from Ikon Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
View more hotels in Burnie
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
130
52
14
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
130
52
14
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift double shower yogurt heritage listed building restaurant downstairs spa bath appointed rooms flights of stairs no air conditioning coffee table fabulous room hotel guests amazing hotel quirky hotel large table lovely old building up market
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2023

Saturday is long gone, we are well into Subday morning, and after lodging a complaint with local police about the wine bar over the road we are still sleepless. Soundproofing is sadly lacking, I do not recommend staying on a weekend, without expecting high noise levels. Very disappointed, and exhausted.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2023

Unusual entrance to this hotel gets you wondering - buzz and someone from reception comes down stairs to allow entrance and then booking in on the first floor. We had room one on top level so had to cart our suitcases up 4 flights of stairs, you would want to be fit! Very large room which incorporated walk into lounge - sofa, coffee table, tv - i think for movies only. To the left to kitchenette which incl. microwave, toaster, jug, fridge and coffee/tea making facilities, also a large table with seating for 4. Continental breakfast was packs of cereal/oats, milk, yoghurt and orange juice in fridge. No bread, butter or any spreads ( jam, honey ) - we bought at supermarket. ( this is my main criticism ). Good size bed, plenty of hanging space, bathroom and shower fine. Appreciated the car parking space around the corner. As i said, a good size room done up to modern standards but the floor creaked with every step you took.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2023

When we first saw the Ikon Hotel from the outside we were a little dubious how it would be inside.
But what a surprise to find it has been very tastefully renovated inside
Our room was huge, with a giant mirror, king size bed and modern ensuite bathroom.
The owner Steve was very friendly and helpful.
I stupidly left behind my electric razor but Laura sent it to me the next day by Express Post and it arrived just after we returned home.
Definitely on our list next time we are visiting Tasmania.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2023 via mobile

My wife and I were in room 1 and it was outstanding. It was beautifully appointed, very spacious and spotless. It had everything we needed and more. The front desk person (Laura) was helpful from the beginning of our stay to the end. There was free secure underground parking for hotel guests nearby. The only word of caution I would give is the rooms are on the second and third story of the building and there is no elevator. So if you struggle with stairs you might want to consider this.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank PhilH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2023

Comfortable bedding and very clean accomodation. Coffee and tea available. The staff were very helpful and assisted with carrying luggage up the steep stairs to our room. A luggage lift would be a great investment for the Hotel. The Hotel is walking distance to see the Fairy penguins at night on the boardwalk. The Hotel staff once again directed us how to get there.

Room tip: Definitely stay at least one night. Wonderful staff, rooms and availability to the beach.
Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank northalaskachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews