We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$163
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Hotels.com
AU$159
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
AU$138
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Warwick C
Brisbane, Australia

Avoid Burnie nd this hotel

Review of Ikon Hotel
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Jan 2023via mobile
Difficult access, no lift so oldies had to deal with two stories of stairs, no air conditioning, noisy fan, noisy street, part-time reception. Bed comfortable, good bathroom, but horrid night in stuffy room because too noisy to open window or use fan. Avoid, not only this hotel, but Burnie. There do not seem to be any good hotels in the town.
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Executive Suite
Booking.com
AU$188
  • Hotels.com
    AU$172
  • Agoda.com
    AU$166
  • Expedia.com
    AU$192
0.2 km from Ikon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$138
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$160
  • Agoda.com
    AU$122
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Ikon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
AU$163
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$140
  • Expedia.com
    AU$163
0.5 km from Ikon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
SeaView unit
Booking.com
AU$99
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$99
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$99
3.6 km from Ikon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Apartment 2 - lounge
Booking.com
AU$175
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$174
  • Agoda.com
    AU$167
  • Hotels.com
    AU$175
0.4 km from Ikon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View of the Waterfront Wynyard from across the Inglis River.
Booking.com
AU$139
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$137
15.8 km from Ikon Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Top of the Town Hotel
Booking.com
AU$97
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$84
2.2 km from Ikon Hotel
Room service
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from Ikon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Ikon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
0.8 km from Ikon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Burnie
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
130
52
14
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
130
52
14
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift double shower yogurt heritage listed building restaurant downstairs spa bath appointed rooms flights of stairs no air conditioning coffee table fabulous room hotel guests amazing hotel quirky hotel large table lovely old building up market
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2022

The room was so spacious and beautifully decorated. Extra fluffy towels and a super comfy bed. A great find in the CBD of Burney that we could walk to everything. Friendly checkin and very clean . Great value .

Room tip: Great Value For Money
Date of stay: December 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 332maryannef
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2022

They are the best rooms in Burnie by far. Good parking undercover or in the hotel car park. Good mini breakfast supplied. tea coffee and condiments all up market.
Great beds
Large rooms
Big Bathrooms
Quiet

Room tip: The top floor is the best but we have stayed at both levels
Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 September 2022

You must provide an arrival time so that the Reception staff can meet you, provide your room swipe cards and show you to your room. Unusual procedure, but it went seamlessly. It's a heritage listed building, both inside and outside, so no lift. At our ages, carrying suitcases, travel bags and sundry purchases up all those stairs was a bit of a trial. The room was huge, the room heater just adequate and the bed had an electric blanket, thankfully. Speaking of the bed, it was huge but only 40cm. high. great to get into, but hard for 74 year old legs to get out of in the morning, especially when the knees are stiff after climbing all those stairs. There is a small alcove for a kitchenette was served its purpose. The bathroom was clean and tidy and smelt fresh. The supplied toiletries were excellent. A quirky hotel but we wouldn't have missed it.

Room tip: Use the lightest bags you have.
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SimonsdadAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2022 via mobile

Very spacious apartment with slightly quirky decor . Warm and comfortable with bath and kitchenette including cold breakfast items and good coffee.
Excellent value. Good for business visit. Restaurant on ground floor, Mecca, not recommended. Hamburger ordered resembled a child’s first attempt. Other food options nearby.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank kitrynd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2022

The Deluxe king studio room with ocean view was incredibly large and had a large balcony with access just outside the room with great views. The kitchenette was well equipped. Check-in staff were very friendly. The restaurant downstairs had great food and atmosphere. Very close to the viewing platform to see the little penguins and everything in town.

Disliked · The shower over the bath was a little awkward to get in and out of, but other than that and the stairs (it is a heritage listed building so has no lift) the place was very nice.

We would not hesitate to stay here again when in Burnie.

Room tip: The deluxe king studio room 3 which was on the side of the building. I imagine that room 1 or 2 would have even better views.
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews