We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
lilysgm
Australia

Superb!

Review of The Duck House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Mar 2022via mobile
We were simply blown away by the beauty of the accommodation and its authenticity. It was so comfortable and provided everything to a high standard. Our hosts Lynne and Tich were kind ,generous and perfectly delightful. You could not want for more....and the tariffs are incredibly reasonable. You won't be disappointed.
Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynne Ferencz, Owner at The Duck House, responded to this review
Responded 22 Mar 2022
Many thanks for the lovely review. So pleased that you enjoyed yourself and enjoyed the house. Hopefully we might see you again one day 😀
Best wishes,
Lynne and Tich
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$152
  • Algotels
0.4 km from The Duck House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from The Duck House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Suite
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$160
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from The Duck House
Free Wifi
Free parking
SeaView unit
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$99
  • Priceline
3.3 km from The Duck House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from The Duck House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Marilyn Suite
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from The Duck House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$163
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from The Duck House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cottage and Grounds
Lol.travel
    7.6 km from The Duck House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Executive Suites
    Lol.travel
      0.2 km from The Duck House
      Free parking
      Bar/Lounge
      View of the Waterfront Wynyard from across the Inglis River.
      Booking.com
      • Priceline
      • Agoda.com
      15.5 km from The Duck House
      Free Wifi
      Beachfront
      View more hotels in Burnie
      Reviews (64)
      Filter reviews
      64 results
      Traveller rating
      61
      3
      0
      0
      0
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      Traveller rating
      61
      3
      0
      0
      0
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      1 - 6 of 64 reviews
      Reviewed 19 June 2021

      The Duck House is actually one of three options on this seaside corner of Burnie. I managed to book Amelias, and could not have been happier with this charming old world home that you will have to yourself.

      The accomodation is only bested by the wonderful hosts, and Lyn was great with communication and help.

      This will be my go-to from herein for any stay in Burnie

      Date of stay: March 2021
        • Value
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank CodyMav
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 28 February 2021 via mobile

      What a wonderful welcome and stay at the well-named Duck House! Our hosts were delightful and we could want for more by way of breakfast food in the fridge/cupboard. Even a few herbs from the garden were offered. Very comfortable house and quite reasonable cost
      And thanks, Lynne for finding and returning the missing part of my specs.
      Will def return next time we’re in Tassie.

      Date of stay: February 2021
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      2  Thank Sculthorpe-Pike
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Lynne Ferencz, Owner at The Duck House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2021

      Many thanks for the lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again should you return our way.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 27 November 2019

      We love Amelia's which is a larger cottage around the corner from the original Duck House. The house is beautifully furnished and the bed very comfortable. The host, Tich, is very welcoming as always. We enjoyed our breakfast in the morning and I appreciate the lovely Twinings teas which are my favourite teas!

      You will pay $140 for 1 person and $40 extra for each other person.

      Don't forget your shampoo as there is only soap in the bathroom.

      Date of stay: November 2019
      • Trip type: Travelled on business
        • Location
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank wombatdavid
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Lynne F, Owner at The Duck House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2019

      Thanks so much for this lovely review. We very much appreciate the feedback. Our breakfast supplies are as local and fresh as we can make them but we share your opinion of Twinings teas. Given the lack of a tea industry in Tasmania we feel we can supply them without guilt. Glad you love them They'll be ready for you on your next visit.
      Tich and Lynne

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 1 November 2019

      We loved Duck House! It's a beautifully appointed heritage cottage, walking distance to the penguins and The Makers Workshop. Itch was a friendly and knowledgable host; nothing was too much trouble.
      The kitchen boasts a small dishwasher and a washing machine, which is a real bonus! Breakfast makings are provided so you can start your day well nourished.
      The house is full of fun 'duck' embellishments and other items that reflect the history of the house. I found I felt very much at home here, and it was hard to leave!
      Highly recommended for your next stay in Burnie.

      Date of stay: October 2019
        • Location
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank Gaby M
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Lynne F, Owner at The Duck House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2019

      Thank you so much for this lovely review. We believe our facilities are welcoming, warm and homely and it's gratifying to have feedback that supports our efforts. Again, thanks for taking the time to provide this supportive feedback. Hopefully we'll see you again some time in the future.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 4 March 2019

      The duck house is a house with its own narrative but the story spreads into the market garden in back where guests are invited to help themselves to fresh garden produce. The breakfast and general catering are on point. I found the attention to little detail commendable and the willingness of the hosts to ensure that the stay was as expected makes this one stand out for us
      Thank you very much

      Room tip: Have the whole house
      Date of stay: February 2019
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      Thank QTBob
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Lynne F, Owner at The Duck House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2019

      Many thanks for the lovely review. Very pleased that you enjoyed yourself. We look forward to hosting you again next time you are in Burnie. Best wishes, Lynne and Tich

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews