We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in great prices from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
BarryBethell
Bristol, United Kingdom
Unique spacious central apartments
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Mar 2018via mobile
The 2 bed apartment I had to myself was very big & comfortable & with my food and drink supplies in, it felt like a proper home (I gave up a night in Melbourne to stay here 1 more night.
Within 10–15 minutes walk you have the lovely beach, huge park, Target, k-mart, supermarket, bottle shop & places to eat & drink. I hired a car for 4 (out of 8) days & heading east there were little towns and more lovely beaches about every 2-3 miles and inland a fantastic Woolworths supermarket and tourist attractions. Only tiny downsides were the size of the TV & so many channels being unavailable & the lack of internet (which I understand may be remedied this year). Last thing was having to go around a couple of times to relock all the windows in the evening. Overall a lovely comfortable stay
Date of stay: January 2018
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$163
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$128
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Apartments Down Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
View of the Waterfront Wynyard from across the Inglis River.
Booking.com
AU$139
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$139
15.8 km from Apartments Down Town
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Top of the Town Hotel
Booking.com
AU$91
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$82
1.9 km from Apartments Down Town
Room service
Executive Suite
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$177
  • Hotels.com
    AU$155
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Apartments Down Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$174
  • Agoda.com
    AU$151
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Apartments Down Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$157
  • Agoda.com
    AU$134
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Apartments Down Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$200
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$200
0.5 km from Apartments Down Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
0.8 km from Apartments Down Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
SeaView unit
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$99
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$99
3.6 km from Apartments Down Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
Apartment 2 - lounge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$155
  • Hotels.com
    AU$145
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Apartments Down Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Burnie
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
11
18
3
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
11
18
3
6
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Don't be put off by the dark, forbidding exterior - art deco architecture was not a highlight in the overall history of architecture. The rooms are decorated in a consistent 1930s-40s style, and they are huge! We had a 2 bedroom apartment, with a massive lounge room, good bathroom, washer and dryer. Despite being centrally located, it was quiet at night. The kitchen was also huge, with a proper oven and stove top. My only beef though is this: stove and microwave are there, but there is not one piece of cooking equipment in the place - no saucepan, frypan or plastic microwave bowls. It seems rather odd.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agrippina1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bridget G, Owner at Apartments Down Town, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thank you for your review, Im sure the details you have added will be very helpful to others traveling.
I am happy to confirm that our kitchens are fully stocked with cooking equipment, but am not sure if this was a different experience for you as I started with the company a little later in the month.
We wish you well on your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

As a regular Business traveller I like to try different places rather than stay in the same place all the time.
Even though not all was perfect in ADT it was clean ,comfortable, quiet & close to town and the owner was very helpful.
As in other listings on here the wifi did not work or even show up on my laptop for connection which is a bit annoying but not the end of the world .
Would I stay there again...Yes.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank JK5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night only but enjoyed the experience. It was pretty cold at night outside but there is a good heater in the main room. Bedroom was quite cool and could do with an electric blanket for the colder times of year. Bathroom had a good shower.
Overall good value for money

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank cameghino
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
M W, Manager at Apartments Down Town, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Hi Cameghino,

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologise that the bed was missing an electric blanket as all our beds should have one, so i will need to follow that up with our housekeeping department.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Apartments Down Town.

Kind Regards
Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment for two nights. The apartment was authentically and very tastefully decorated in the Art Deco style. The apartment was very spacious and in an excellent location to local shops and cafes. Melissa is very helpful and friendly. We had the misfortune of Virgin airlines losing our luggage. Melissa made sure our luggage was safely delivered to our room. The property is beautifully decorated but in need of some minor repairs. Some of the bathroom tiles need some work and the kitchen could do with a refresh. But it has everything you need. The rooms are very clean and the linen is fresh and crisp (like in a 5 star hotel).

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank lanyeeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

The Apartment is really handy to the Shops at Burnie, and a walking distance to the beach.
Melissa really helpful and follow up the guests, she called several times before we arrived, just to make sure we were alright, because we're late in arriving to the town.

The Apartment has been upgraded in some i.e Bath room, but some part need to be upgraded too especially the kitchen.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank norbertt701
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews