We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sunset Bay Escape

Modern Architecturally designed glass facade to soak up the magnificent view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Modern Architecturally designed glass facade to soak up the magnificent view
Relax on the rear Deck Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Modern Architecturally designed glass facade to soak up the magnificent view
Relax on the rear Deck
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Main Bathroom
Third Bedroom
Third Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Second Bathroom
Fully Self contained Kitchen
Comfy leather recliners
Dining area
Large open plan living area
Large open plan living area
Large open plan living area
The large main deck
The large main deck
View from the main deck
Main deck
Entrance and rear deck
Glass facade overlooking Sunset Bay
Glass facade overlooking Sunset Bay
Magnificent sunset view
Try fishing from the Jetty, a short drive down the road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
B and B -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bruny Island, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AnAussie
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful place.”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely, spacious and comfortable home with amazing views of D'Entre Casteaux channel. We had a very special few days here.
It is in Alonnah where there is a pub and a basic little shop but that is about it. You can buy basics on the island but it is highly recommended that you bring your own provisions, particularly special goodies.
Pros
• Wonderful location and easy to find, and very professionally managed.
• Beautiful outlook to the bay with an expansive verandah with an outdoor setting. You can alternatively sit on the front verandah with its lovely view when the sun is too hot at the back.
• A comfortable home, not precious, lived in with a pleasant style, huge windows overlooking the water. It is big and generous. Stocked with those staples you don't want to buy such as oil, coffee, tea bags etc. Not sure that the small lounge area could manage more than 4 people however but would be OK for kids who could lay on the floor.
• Lovely entrance to the house, scented plants all along the pathway, very pretty.

Cons (all minor issues)
• Dishwasher very small and impractical - but encourages talking while you wash up!
• Fridge adequate but could have been larger given the general lack of facilities on the island. We managed though for two couples over 3 full days.
• No fly screens on the windows – we were absolutely inundated with moths and mosquitoes, the latter eating us alive, leaving welts for the next week or so – bring repellent and fly spray.

Overall, this is a lovely home, glamorous and well situated for a stunning view.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnmQ484...
Gosford, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great House And Location”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My wife and I with two other couples stayed here for two nights in October.

Thanks to floor to ceiling windows running the length of the house it provides uninterrupted 180 degree views of the bay/mountains and is literally a stone's throw away from the Bruny Hotel.

The house is well appointed and clean and provides 3 bedrooms and bathrooms so was perfect for our group.

We stocked up with groceries etc in Kingston before heading to the house and I'd recommend doing this as the island has limited places to buy items. The large oven allowed us to enjoy a very nice roast! We also dined at the Hotel one night and the food was very good. The winery is just a short drive away and a must eat place.

Sitting back enjoying the ever changing skies and water is the best feature of the house and it is perfect if you want to sight see daily and then chill for the evening. A very peaceful spot to stay.

We will definitely come back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StanG128
1 review
“Couldn't Have Been Better”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Three couples gathered at Sunset Bay Escape to celebrate a milestone birthday over three nights - on what was probably the worst Island weather for decades. But that made no difference to us as we enjoyed the warmth, comfort and views from the house. The combination of wood fire, heat pump and spot heaters meant we all stayed warm, the amazingly well-equipped kitchen meant that cooking was a joy, and the general level of amenity let us settle in to enjoying each other's company over food, drink, films, games, music and conversation. Our hosts were pro-active in making sure that we had everything we required. We'd recommend Sunset Bay Escape to anyone wanting to enjoy Bruny Island and its attractions - it's an ideal place to base oneself regardless of the weather...And we all agree we'd like to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: small-ish lounge area
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbiecad...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation- highly recommended”
Reviewed 6 March 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Great property. Highly recommended for families wishing to have a base on beautiful Bruny Island. We are looking forward to our next stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShereeKri...
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A slice of Bruny Island heaven”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

A couple of weeks ago my partner and I, along with friends stayed a couple of nights at this amazing holiday house for a birthday celebration weekend. The house is great and photos on the website live up to the property in real life. What you see is what you get, you won't be disappointed. Pack up some good food and wine, or as we did also stop along the way in Bruny and get some great cheeses and wines on the Island. We stopped at Bruny Island Cheese and then on to lunch at Bruny Island Premium Wines (highly recommend). The kitchen is very well equipped I have never stayed in a holiday rental with such a variety of good quality cookware and everything you could think of to cook up a storm. It was clean and had quality linens. This place will be hard to beat when choosing future holiday accommodation. We will definitely be back for another stay. Thanks Mandy :)

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing