We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Bird tour of Inala Tasmania: Manna from heavan.

I took a bird watching tour with another couple on 11 February 2024. We spent the morning covering... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Excursion620099
A wonderful experience

We spent three wonderful nights at Inala Cottage at the nature reserve, and had a truly memorable... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Andy and Alison C
Read all 208 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Bruny Island
from AU$240.00
More Info
from AU$235.00
More Info
from AU$149.00
More Info
from AU$315.00
More Info
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
200
6
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
200
6
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews endemic birds night tour property tour birds including office staff the reserve bird hide flora and fauna bird watching bird calls native hens travel arrangements private tour great guide lover's paradise feathered friends vast knowledge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Despite the fact that my husband and I took our 2-month trip to Australia (and to Bruny Island) during the tail end of the Australian summer when birds were petering out and it was hot, our 8 hours on Bruny with our exceptionally knowledgeable guide, Andrew, was nonetheless a memorable highlight of our entire trip. His background as an academic and his broad expertise in ecology, birds, flora and fauna were the perfect match for us. My husband is a behavioral ecologist and avid birder and I enjoy someone who is willing to express opinions when asked! Yes we loved seeing new life birds like the 40 spotted Pardalote, Flame Robin, Scrubtit and Hooded Plover; and we loved walking through the educational gardens at Inala; and it was thrilling watching a Goshawk devour some road kill from the bird blind at the compound, but the REAL highlight was spending the day with Andrew, a lifelong resident of the island. We so enjoyed talking about politics, environmental challenges, educational systems and cracking a few jokes along the way. Inala is an IMPRESSIVE operation. What a treasure for Bruny Island to have them out there setting aside land and making sure that nature comes first as its population increases. Our only regret is that we did not STAY at Inala for at least a night, to experience night-time critters and have more time at this magical spot.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank janett932
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Inala_Nature_Tours, Manager at Inala Nature Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, and we agree, next time you will have to spend a night or two! One of the benefits of a personalised tour is that we try to find out a bit about you before arrival so we can fit the best guide to your interests, and hopefully meet or exceed your expectations. It sounds as though Andrew's enthusiasm and background was perfect for you, which is really positive to hear. It is also great feedback for both Inala and Andrew that despite the heat, you had great views of the resident birds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

The grounds operated and owned by Inala Nature Tours is beautifully landscaped with native species and a mind for the fauna that roam the grounds. Our guide, Tonia Cochran made us feel at home on our 2 night stay on the grounds in a fully equipped comfy cottage and then lead us on a tour of discovery of Tasmania. Her knowledge of the flora, fauna and history of Tasmania is all encompassing. Having traveled extensively, I can truly say that she was the BEST guide that we have ever encountered and wish she and her business continued success. Thanks Tonia for a great time

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank brodskjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Inala_Nature_Tours, Manager at Inala Nature Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank-you for your wonderful review of Inala Nature Tours! Tonia has opened up her home and Inala is now a 1,500 acre private reserve dedicated to habitat restoration and species conservation. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your time on the property and that we were able to share not only Inala and Bruny Island with you, but a nice slice of 'mainland' Tasmania as well. Tonia's passion is contagious, and as a team we thoroughly enjoy creating experiences and memories for you. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

In late August, we spent two full days at Inala. We stayed at Nairana cottage, which was very comfortable and right in the middle of the reserve. Wallabies were outside our windows in the mornings and when we returned to the cottage after an evening wildlife tour, a Southern Boobok was perched on the mailbox. Our guide for the entire time was Cat Davidson, who has outstanding knowledge of local mammals as well as birds. On our first day, Karen Dick, who also guides through Inala Nature Tours also joined us, so we had the rare experience of two guides for the two of us. With their help we saw over 50 life birds, in addition to many familiar species, during our visit. I had hesitated over the cost of the two day package, but took a leap of faith after reading Tripadvisor reviews. We were not disappointed. In addition to comfortable accommodation, full-time professional guiding with a charming guide, and lots of good food, we were also picked up at our hotel in Hobart and driven back to the Hobart airport on our last morning. If you are interested in birds and wildlife, Inala is worth every penny.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank greenthorntail
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Inala_Nature_Tours, Manager at Inala Nature Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank-you for your review, and we're also pleased that you took a leap of faith and put trust in Inala and our guides to deliver for you! Nearly all of the tours run through Inala Nature Tours are personalised, and whilst that can make them seem expensive, we do aim to provide you with an experience that is purposefully tailored to your interests and timeframe. It is also great to hear that our guides were able to share Inala and Bruny Island with you, and that you enjoyed staying up at Nairana Cottage. Fantastic news that you managed over 50 life birds in your 2 day package! We wish you all the best in your future birding endeavours, and you are welcome back any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

We spent three wonderful days staying at Inala earlier this year. Although we had read about Inala it was really only on arrival that we could appreciate just how special it is. As soon as we went into the office - with Mark Holdsworth, our incredible naturalist/guide for two days - we were hustled into the bird hide to see a white goshawk feeding on roadkill, and this was just the start of our stay. Mark was patient, knowledgable and a mine of information on birds, mammals and vegetation. Under his expert guidance we saw and learned so much, including pademelons, quolls,wallabies, yellow-tailed black cockatoos and even the elusive 40-spotted pardalote. The accommodation at Inala is excellent - our cottage was airy, spacious and well-equipped and we loved the freedom to walk around the property, enjoying the brilliantly labelled Jurassic garden and the wilder areas.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank deborahlazarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Inala_Nature_Tours, Manager at Inala Nature Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank-you for leaving such a lovely review and fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your time at Inala! Mark is one of our passionate guides and it sounds as though he was a perfect fit for you. It is also really great to receive some feedback on the Jurassic Garden as this is a relatively new project and we're really excited to watch its progression. Many thanks again, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

We spent a week at Niarana cottage and were successful in seeing and photographing 63 different species of bird. Most of these were on Inala grounds. The birds were challenging at times ( especially the 40 spotted pardalote) to photograph. This is not a place like some birding properties that do a lot of feeding. I liked the fact that this is a nearly natural environment. The only exception is the raptor feeding with road kill.
The cottage is first class and to be recommended. We did not use any of the guides so cannot comment, and given that we had seven days felt that we could find the birds ourselves.
Well done Inala.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank dougc748
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Inala_Nature_Tours, Manager at Inala Nature Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

We're so glad that you had a successful time with the birds at Inala, as we agree that sometimes they are easier to see than photograph! Thanks too for the feedback on an accommodation-only stay, we really value this as it helps us provide the best possible experience for our guests. We have invested a lot of energy into habitat restoration and are really proud that our bird and animal populations continue to thrive in as natural environment as possible. Inala staff have licences to collect roadkill and place it in the paddock for the raptors, and this keeps the birds from accidentally being hit on the road and it gives our guests great photo opportunities! We look forward to welcoming you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews