We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Altogether ordinary” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sebel Resort & Spa Hawkesbury Valley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sebel Resort & Spa Hawkesbury Valley
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Windsor
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Altogether ordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

There aren't many options for hotels in the Hawkesbury valley. Given that, the Sebel was fine. The rooms were decently sized, the food at the restaurant and bar was good and the service from the staff was attentive to a point.

My main complaints are that the wireless internet did not work inside my room, though it worked perfectly as soon as I stepped out of it, and that a hook fell off the back of my bathroom door when I attempted to place an item on it. I informed the front desk of this when I discovered it, which was the first day I arrived, but it had not been resolved by the time I left. Moreover, the hook was left sitting on my bathroom counter, complete with its screw.

I recognize that maintenance requests can take some time, but how long does it take to putty a hole in a door and then re-affix a hook? Several days, apparently.

Room Tip: Avoid a courtyard spa room if you actually want to use the internet while in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trigeekgirl236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    248
    123
    52
    39
See reviews for
122
313
30
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
springboro
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Average Rooms , good breakfast. Stayed there because it was close to Air base. The rooms were clean, staff was very friendly. No complaints on noise. The room I was in had brickwalls. Rooms had flat screen TV, small refrigerator and hot pot for tea. The workout area was well stock with machines and weights, hot tub and a smallindoor pool. The grounds had nice gardens and taken care of.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schultzy141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

This hotel is situated in Windsor which is quite far out from the Sydney hustle and bustle. So you would think that the area would be peaceful and quiet. Yes....... mostly, however there is a airstrip very near the hotel and the planes fly in and out intermittenly till very late at night. It's so close it sounds like the plane is actually in the room with you.
The exterior of the hotel is okay and the lobby is quite nice, but that's about it. I stayed in a courtyard room and they are dark, dank and in need of a complete renovation. The windows are tiny. The 80's style furniture and toilet fittings just add to the gloom. The walls are painted over brick. Really a piece of gyprock or two would not go astray on this property.
The gym is tiny but quite well stocked, but the pool is foul. Tiny with a grimy bottom.
The food is inconsistent, sometime great other times not really edible. The staff at the restaurants are quite friendly though.
This property tries to pitch itself as a relaxing romantic getaway, but no, I would have been very disappointed if I had been there for a romantic weekend. No up to scratch.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

I was meeting someone in this western suburb of Sydney, which is why I wound up there. I can't imagine going there by choice! Don't do that!

The grounds are nice, with gardens and birds. The room was fairly clean, but you could hear everything & everyone through the walls ( I slept with ear plugs ).

The hot tub was more of a lukewarm tub.

The pub was...full of folks from wedding parties / rehearsal dinners. It served beers, wine, and packets of beer nuts available from a metal stand on the bar.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H2where
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Very disappointed! Upon arrival we realized there were 2 weddings taking place. The grounds were full of guys with long hair and dredlocks in suits drinking stubbies- aka bogans.

The room were less than average- smelly, shabby, Rusty fixtures in the bathroom.

The Day spa was beautiful- we both had a massage however there was not a huge sense of service with dirty cups everywhere in the sittig room despite there being several staff apparently doing Not much.

We could hear the weddings going on until all hours of the night. The noise from the hallway was terrible and kept me awake.

I would not recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway. If there are wedigs going on they should book out the whole hotel as other guests are made to feel uncomfortable with all the noise etc.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyliepet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor
20.4 km away
Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge
20.2 km away
Mercure Penrith
Mercure Penrith
#1 of 3 in Penrith
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
17.6 km away
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
#1 of 1 in Rooty Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.1 km away
Retreat at Wisemans
Retreat at Wisemans
#1 of 2 in Wisemans Ferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.7 km away
Windsor Terrace Motel
Windsor Terrace Motel
#2 of 3 in Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
4.1 km away
Alexander the Great Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Resort & Spa Hawkesbury Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Resort & Spa Hawkesbury Valley

Property: The Sebel Resort & Spa Hawkesbury Valley
Address: 61 Hawkesbury Valley Way, Windsor, New South Wales 2756, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Hawkesbury Valley > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Windsor
Price range (per night): $155 - $278
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Resort & Spa Hawkesbury Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Resort & Spa Hawkesbury Valley is the only 4.5 Star hotel located in the Hawkesbury and Nepean regions. With 105 beautifully appointed rooms and suites, it is the ideal choice for conferences, weddings, romantic weekends away or time out with the children. Our child friendly accommodation near Sydney is perfect for a family weekend, holiday or just to get away from the busy city. This Hawkesbury accommodation is located in the historic town of Windsor in the foothills of the Blue Mountains, if you are thinking about looking for weekend getaways near Sydney, our resort is just an easy 45 minutes' drive from the Sydney CBD and 60 minutes from Sydney International Airport. Planning a romantic getaway near Sydney? You must try our resort. The hotel is set within 8 hectares of manicured, landscaped gardens, and includes an indoor heated pool, 2 floodlit tennis courts, an on-site 9-hole golf course and adjacent 18-hole championship course, fully equipped gym and kid's playground, plus the only Villa Thalgo Day Spa in Australia. It is the perfect setting for romantic getaways in Sydney and the surrounding area. The resort has 8 formal and 5 informal meeting rooms (most with natural light), offering conference organisers and delegates the ideal venue for company training, product launches or incentives. With beautifully manicured rose gardens, lakeside settings and a private chapel, it has all the perfect ingredients for a heavenly wedding in the Windsor and Hawkesbury area or any plans for romantic weekend getaways in NSW. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Sebel Resort & Spa Hawkesbury Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Hotel Sydney
Sebel Hotel Hawkesbury Valley
The Sebel Resort & Spa Hawkesbury Valley Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing