We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“School Reunion”
Review of The Amaroo Tavern

The Amaroo Tavern
Ranked #3 of 6 Quick Bites in Moree
Cuisines: Pub
Description: A true family tavern. Complete with a large Bistro serving quality meals every day, a quiet Beer Garden and a kids playground. Home of the BIG plane.
Restaurant details
Description: A true family tavern. Complete with a large Bistro serving quality meals every day, a quiet Beer Garden and a kids playground. Home of the BIG plane.
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Organised party alternate drop meals where ok steaks where all rare when ordered well to medium.Desert and fruit plate where very good.The Tavern is located walking distance to Gwydir caravan park. Overall friendly staff with a Midnight finish.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank ccampbell691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Amaroo T, Public Relations Manager at The Amaroo Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Thank you for your review ccampbell691, we take all feedback very seriously and appreciate any comments that can help us grow as an establishment. We're sincerely sorry about your negative experience and we hope you can come back and give us another shot sometime soon! Thanks, The Amaroo Tavern team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2018

I rang to make a reservation and was put on hold for awhile before I could speak to someone. When we arrived no table had been reserved. Luckily we were early and there were plenty of tables. It was ribs and wings night so we ordered a plate of ribs and wings. When the food arrived I was amazed at how enormous the serving sizes were. The ribs could have been cooked a bit longer because the meat was a bit chewy and certainly didn’t fall off the bone but the sauce on them was tasty. The chicken wings were fine. Overall an average pub meal where you order at the counter, food is brought to the table and you gather your own cutlery and you get a lot of food at a good price.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Amaroo T, Public Relations Manager at The Amaroo Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Hi Vicki, thank you for your review. We are so glad you were impressed by the size of your meal and have passed on your feedback around the meat being cooked a little longer and to your liking. We appreciate all comments that will help us grow as an establishment and have passed your details on to the management team around your reservation issue and ribs. Hope we see you again soon, The Amaroo Tavern team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Close walk from the caravan park, we visited for dinner. Recently renovated and modern interior.
Two men ordered the Tuesday special mixed grill. Portion size was great but chips were cold as was bacon. Steaks were underdone too. Girls meals were ok - what you’d expect from pub meal. Prices were reasonable. Convenient but could have easily been better

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank darrenb193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Amaroo T, Public Relations Manager at The Amaroo Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Hi Darren, thank you for taking the time to write your review. At The Amaroo, we take all feedback very seriously and appreciate any comments that can help us grow as an establishment. Thank you for your positive mention of your mixed grill meal however sincerely apologise that the chips were cold, and steaks not being cooked to your liking. We have passed this feedback onto the management team. We hope you visit again soon and give us another try. Thank you, The Amaroo Tavern team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

After checking trip advisor where this venue rated 3.5 stars we headed there for dinner. Boy oh boy what a disappointment. Worst food I’ve ever had to pay for and the service was appalling. If you’re passing through Moree, give this place a miss.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Amaroo T, Public Relations Manager at The Amaroo Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Hi Heather, thank you for taking the time to write your review. At The Amaroo Tavern, we welcome all feedback that can help us grown as a venue. We're so sorry to hear about your experience. If you could please email us at info@amarootavern.com.au with your contact details. The General Manager will reach out to discuss your experience further. Thanks The Amaroo Tavern team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

Recently had a lovely lunch of crumbed squid rings and grilled barramundi at the Amaroo Tavern. Both meals were absolutely delicious and good value - as good as you'll get in any Sydney bistro or café. Service by the bar and wait staff was friendly and efficient and there were quite a few customers in. A good menu included steaks, parmis, burgers and salads; enough to satisfy most tastes. There were also four or five choices on the Kids Menu with a free soft drink. I can recommend the Amaroo Tavern bistro for a good meal at a good price

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 67Blackjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Amaroo T, Public Relations Manager at The Amaroo Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Thank you 67Blackjack for your review. We are thrilled you were impressed with your crumbed squid rings and grilled barramundi served to you at the venue. Thank you also for your positive mention of the great value for money and diverse range of kids meals on the menu. Hope we see you again soon! The Amaroo Tavern team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Amaroo Tavern also viewed

 
Moree, New South Wales
Moree, New South Wales
 
Moree, New South Wales
Moree, New South Wales
 

Been to The Amaroo Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing