We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard work but rewarding”

Seven Oaks Fossicking
Ranked #7 of 15 things to do in Inverell
Attraction details
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Hard work but rewarding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

If you are after trying out fossicking then this is the type of place for you. Unless you are an advanced fossicker then you should come here first. Fossicking in creeks means a lot less sapphires since here they have a running mine and this means the dirt you fossick through is from an old river bed and saves you digging down which legally you can only do up to 1m unless in a legal mine like this.

The property is a nice drive from Inverell and the last part through the property is dirt. The road is suited for 4WD but any vehicle can make it as long as you drive slowly.

A small fee allows you to wash dirt for the whole day. There are basic toilets, showers and picnic facilities. Camping is allowed for a small fee. A small water tower supplies the water you need to wash with. For an extra fee you can hire a small motorized wash plant for an hour. The caretaker is always nice and will walk you through how to fossick.

If you dont like doing much work or have a bad back the this might not be for you. The wash material is from a working mine so it does contain a lot of sapphires per cubic meter but you have to get it out of the clay. Buckets and sieves etc are supplied. I recomment you fill a few buckets with wash (dirt from pile) and let them soak for a tad to make removal of the clay easier. All up with a little practice anyone can fossick for sapphires here.

What you find you keep....fossicking through the pile of dirt is hit and miss. Some people believe digging the top is the best since its at the bottom of the truck then it is delivered from the mine...some say it makes little difference as its all stuck in big clumps of clay...whatever your secret is please respect a shovel sticking in dirt when you see it...this means someone else is digging there. Nothing annoys more than digging an area and then having someone else go to your hole.

If you have kids then keep them away from other peoples holes. Speckling is when you try and find a sapphire with the nakes eye in situ....again there is nothing worse than a little kid finding a sapphire in a hole that you are digging.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Bastian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ciron, Centre, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrific fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Great family or couple fun - finding sapphires was fun and they help you if you cant find your own! Great venue, take lunch and have it by the river, take a swimming costume too for a dip. You can camp as well and the hosts are so friendly - it truly is a good day but can be very hot so take a hat, and shoulder cover.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leura, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“FUN DAY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

We packed a picnic lunch and headed out to Seven Oaks not knowing exactly what to expect. There was 10 of us and we were there to have fun. After having it all explained to us and a gentleman there all day with us to help we really enjoyed our day. The ammenities were not too bad but we were in the bush so we could allow for that. A good day was had by all and we all took home so small stones.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Great looking professional website so I expected the prospecting site to look a little less primitive. Enjoyed prospecting but I felt that for $20.00 the owners could have made more of an effort. There was a very cursory effort made in showing me what to do and then I was left to my own devices. Its difficult to spot any tiny sapphires so a little more attention as to what to look for would have been appreciated. I also felt that the very muddy barrels could have had the water changed more regularly as it was very difficult to get all the dirt off the stones and spot the potential sapphires with the very filthy water. This place has so much more potential to be a fantastic experience with a little more care.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank mitzisydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great family fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We took the family camping and fossicking here for a few days. It was lots of fun for the kids. They panned for sapphires and found lots of little stones which was exciting for them. They played in the creek and generally got very muddy. They loved it. We camped on the river, had a fire and a relaxing time. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The amenities are very basic and we would have preferred a more secluded camping spot but overall the experience was good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kontented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seven Oaks Fossicking also viewed

 
Ashford, New South Wales
Inverell, New South Wales
 

Been to Seven Oaks Fossicking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing