We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Small-Group Blue Mountains Tour with Bush Walks and Featherdale Wildlife Park
128

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Govetts Leap
Reviews (640)
Filter reviews
640 results
Traveller rating
488
138
13
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
488
138
13
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews evans lookout blue mountains car park stunning views waterfall walks track valley steps
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 640 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We've recently spent a week in Blackheath and so took advantage of a pleasantly warm fine day to visit each of the main lookouts over the Grose Valley accessible from the town. Evans Lookout is at the end of about 5 km of narrow road and is the starting point for several bushwalks. Perrys Lookdown is at the end of 8 km of narrow road, including about 3 km of rutted gravel. It offers minimal camping facilities for self-contained campers, not really suitable for caravans. Govetts Leap, on the other hand, strikes out through the main part of the shopping centre, has the National Parks Information Centre and Shop, and is by far the easiest lookout to get to. I have a special preference for sites with waterfalls, and this is what is offered at Govetts Leap, with a delightful view of the high Bridal Veil Falls which descend into the valley as gentle spray which catches the sunlight at the right times delivering lovely rainbow mist. Picnic and toilet facilities are nearby, and it is the mid point of walking tracks to Evans Lookout, and down into the Grose Valley for the energetic. Easy access, great views, good facilities, plus National parks information: what's not to love? Recommended.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Govetts Leap continues to amaze with a view like no other place in the Blue Mountains. A must see, even if you've been before.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Hostie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

The main lookout is right next to the car park, and the views are just amazing. It's Australia's answer to the Grand Canyon.

I visited on a Sunday at about midday, it looked busy but I found a car space straight away and the lookout wasn't at all crowded.

No walking required if you don't want to,
however, if you wish to take a hike there are several options ranging from 1 hour to twelve hours. Personally i don't recommend the Brides Veil Lookout (15 mins each way) as it doesn't offer any better views than what you already saw, and the paths are narrow & overgrown in a few places - I would recommend instead visiting Wentworth Falls instead if you want a short walk to a waterfall.

The old Govett monument and well are nice little touches of history at this lookout.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank GJ087635
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Many people overlook Govetts Leap at Blackheath, but it is a stunning lookout, where you can park for free right up to the lookout. So, its great for less able or children. The views look north into the Grose Valley, and are break taking. You can see the waterfall to the right. There is a short walk you can do to the top of the waterfall, which is great, and not too steep back up to the car park.
There are toilets here.
Just before you reach the look out you can stop at the National Park Visitors centre and shop. They give good advice on track closures, sell maps and other items. Well worth dropping in here on your way.
You'll need a car or be able to walk from the town to access Govetts Leap.
This is one of the best look outs in the mountains that is easily accessible, and does not get nearly so busy as Echo Point, as most of the tour buses do not stop here.
Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: February 2017
2  Thank shebe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Blue is filled with terrific hikes. This one has an advantage for those who like civilization with their wilderness, because you could either drive up to the top, where there is a little children's park complete with restrooms, or reach it from the wilder side. Or, like myself, combine the options and use the park as a midwalk break.

The only down side was the presence of a noisy drone hovering over the edge. I sure hope tje operator got great photos, since his pleasure came at the expense of driving out the birdsongs and peacefulness everywhere else on the trail.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank deborahf702
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews