We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
30
4
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
4
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews open air water taxi ceviche treehouse hola ocean paradise village waterfall comfort bahia butterflies margaritas privacy
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2016

Where to start? The clean ocean air? The brilliant flowers spilling out from the jungle that meets the water's edge? The multitude of butterflies flitting around, or the iguanas sunning themselves on the same rock every day? Or how about the total lack of cars and traffic? What a dream. The Eagle's Nest room in El Jardin was just what we needed after living in a congested city all year. This quiet outdoor room is just meters above the ocean, which means gorgeous views first and foremost, as well as the sound of waves 24/7, not to mention soft breezes and sparkling stars over the bay. We felt like we were floating on the sea, our bed being suspended from the ceiling. This room also has its own bathroom attached (other rooms share a bathroom). We loved that El Jardin had an outdoor kitchen so we could enjoy the communal atmosphere while making breakfast. Every morning we drank our coffee by the ocean while watching pelicans and boats go by. Michael, our host, was simply wonderful - very hospitable, friendly, and warm. What a great guy! We stayed for a week and wished we could stay longer! If you do go, do the hike up to the waterfall farther away...it's easy and long (bit less than 2 hours to reach the waterfall), and you don't need a guide. You will enjoy the total peace and quiet, not to mention the tropical birds flying overhead.

To get here, you get dropped off at Playa Isabel, a tiny, sweet little sandy beach and walk to the right along a cobblestone path right near the edge of the sea. You must bring a flashlight for night walking from the village to the hotel.

Room Tip: Eagle's Nest is the best room. It has its own balcony and bathroom, as mentioned.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016

I love this special spot! Perfectly situated on the water, with charming thatched palapas, and a tranquil, comfortable large open common space, well equipped with everything one could need to enhance their experience, including snorkeling gear, kayaks, hammocks, ping pong and really comfy couches, all open to the magnificent views of the clear, aqua bay. The icing on the cake is Micheal, the manager extraordinaire, who is incredibly gracious, wonderful company, and knocks himself out to make each guest feel special and cared for. Micheal will also tell you everything you need to know about Yelapa, where to swim, snorkel, hike and eat. Even is you are traveling alone, Micheal will make sure you have a friend. His love for this jewel is so obvious and contagious and palpable; you will feel immediately welcome and at home. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank _saragrahammaurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

I don't think I can say enough about this great gem of a place in Yelapa.
My husband and I stayed at El Jardin for 4 nights. It's right by the water and about a minute walk to Playa Isabel. We chose the Eagle's Nest for our room and it was fabulous. It's located almost right above the water with a little deck to sit out on and gaze at the view of the bay. The bedroom and bath are both open air which was wonderful allowing us to be able to feel the ocean breeze.
The common area is great too! It's surrounded by lush, tropical vegetation and views of the water. Guests are welcome to use the fully equipped kitchen and relax at any one of the tables or sofas.
It's great that El Jardin is away from the hustle and bustle of the main playa. It's about a 15 to 20 minute lovely walk there and then only about an 8 to 10 minute walk into town.
Sebastien, one of the owners, and Michael, the manager, made our stay extra special. Both so helpful, kind and just awesome people in general. For more than a reasonable price, Michael made us a delicious breakfast each morning. Such a treat! We couldn't have asked for better hosts.
Another perk was being able to use the two kayaks El Jardin has and paddle around the bay. So fun!
I do want to make a note about Yelapa. It's beautiful with beautiful people who work and live there. It's a fairly calm but happy atmosphere. Say "hola" to the locals even if it's the only Spanish you know. Be kind and courteous to all you meet and your holiday will turn into a magical one. This is the kind of place to get in touch with nature and people. There are small tiendas not large super markets. There are fans not air conditioning. There is the ocean not infinity pools. So decide before hand if this is the place for you. Your feet will get dirty. You will get bug bites. But you will have an amazing experience if you're open to it.
We can't wait to get back to Yelapa & El Jardin!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenekika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2015

My one week at El Jardin was very refreshing and relaxing. The main room/kitchen area is open air and very beautifull and nice to be in. Wonderfull light in the kitchen in the morning! I think the open area, that is covered in sand, is one of the nicest spot in yelapa. I stayed in Bamboo and it was confortable and clean. It was also very private.
Staff/Owners where great!!

Room Tip: Eagles nest and Bamboo for more romantic.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebastien g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015

I brought a small group here for a yoga retreat. The setting absolutely can't be beat. It is right on the ocean, just a short walk or boat ride to town.

Chrissi was a wonderful host. She worked really hard and cooked the group 2 delicious meals every day. She also took care of arranging all our excurions and special requests, like a last minute birthday cake. She was gracious, extremely easy to communicate with and clearly had her entire heart in making sure we had a wonderful time, which everyone did.

The palapas are basic. It really is a step up from camping, so as long as you and your group is prepared for that experience, you will have a wonderful time!

Will book again!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank katyc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews