We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Minnesotan”
other traveller has booked this property
Casa Coco
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Coco
Casa Coco Panoramic Ocean View Fully Equipped Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Casa Coco
Casa Coco Panoramic Ocean View
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Bathroom w/ Shower
Upstairs Den
Yelapa Bay
Paragliding in Yelapa bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Yelapa, Costalegre

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
jonp891
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Minnesotan”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We just spent 10 wonderful days at Casa Coco. After arriving to this magical place in the jungle overlooking the Pacific, we came to also love the little town of Yelapa. Happy children, quite a few gringos that have been going for 20-40+ years. Richard was wonderful in taking our reservation and Felipe and Yanet, the caretakers were very sweet.

The night we arrived was my son's 19th birthday, and Yanet prepared a birthday dinner including a Mexican chocolate cake. The refrigerator was stalked as we took advantage of having Yanet and Felipe offer to have some basics there.

So much to do. Waterfall hikes, fishing, take a water taxi to one of the close-by villages, wonderful food, friendly locals. This is a rare opportunity. If you have trouble with steps, plan on taking your time and enjoy a slow walk on the path to town. Its about 90 steps to the Casa from the path below.

Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
497der
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful house with excellent view”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Coco is a wonderful house to stay in. It was well stocked with everything needed to cook with. There are plenty of lounge chairs if you just want to hangout and enjoy the view (which is exquisite) . As everyone else said, its a bit of a climb to get up there. We loved it but it was hard on one of our friends to climb up and down, sometimes twice in a day….Our favorite things to do were to hike up to the upper waterfall, exploring the river along the way and snorkeling by the rocks near the house (hey it was pretty good snorkeling for the Pacific),…. The host , Richard is very kind and the caretaker Felipe is great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The hike up the mountain
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melissa r
La Center, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Casa Coco was a great getaway for my husband and I, and my sister and brother-in-law. The house is spacious and could easily accommodate multiple families with ease, although as others have mentioned, it would be difficult with young children. And I unfortunately wouldn't recommend it for anyone who has mobility issues (such as older parents) due to the stair climb to the house up from the path.

That said, it was perfect for us! The view is to die for, the surrounding gardens lovely and well tended, the house very comfortable and well appointed, and it is quite private. The owners have put a lot of thought into making this a great rental. There are chairs and tables in all the right places and everything you could want in the kitchen. If you were stocked with food and water, there would be no need to go to town during your entire stay. (However, Yelapa is a great place to visit, so I can't imagine not making daily forays into the village.)

What we liked best? The jungle birds and butterflies, the view, the helpfulness of Felipe (the home's caretaker), his wife Yanet's cooking, Yelapa itself, our boat ride out to Las Marietas, the restaurants in town, and the general laid back and welcoming atmosphere of this beautiful spot!

Least? Not much. The town really needs to turn the light off on the beach at night! (Not much of a problem from Casa Coco, but it is truly dreadful. I don't know what they are thinking!) Bugs weren't really a problem, but do take bug spray and use it. My brother-in-law didn't like the distance from town at first, but my husband and I appreciated the location immensely. The beds could be a little more comfortable, but I am known as a princess-in-a-pea, so it could just be me. And the wi-fi was down when we were there and cell service definitely spotty. Just turn off the electronics, you're on vacation!

My husband and I definitely plan to return again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
earlyyoga
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best getaway from NYC to recharge our batteries and eliminate stress.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

our second visit to Coco Cabana, and Yelapa, was even better than our first. everything about our first visit & review were the same, but since we had been there last year we "knew our way around" the house, town of Yelapa, and explored further afield from our little area than before. i had a minor ear problem and had to go to the local clinic. surprisingly, the doctor was excellent, and spoke english quite well. he accurately diagonized my ear infection, and although the clinic did not have meds, and there was no pharmacy in town, we easily took a water taxi to the nearby town of Boca, and from there walked a few minutes to the local bus into Puerto Vallarta, where we found a terrific pharmacy steps from getting off the bus. it was much more professional than i would have imagined and they had the two meds i needed, for a ridiculously low price. and i thought i would be "ripped off"...but i had quite the opposite experience. we met many local people, both expats and locals, and had a great time. the only problem was that the week went by to quickly ! my girlfriend and i hope to go back every year, and highly recommend this to couples, two or three couples, or a family, although very young children should be watched carefull.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything, but it is not the "Ritz"...for travelers who are flexible and want to integrate into the local scene. i am a former peace corps volunteer who served in west africa, so i thoroughly enjoyed it. don't think this is for the "cruise" type
Liked least: nothing really. we had been there before, so we knew what to expect. oh, one night the frogs were mating, and they made quite a racket for awhile
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raimondas...
New York City, New York
1 review
“far from the maddening crowd”
Reviewed 21 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Up on the hill overlooking the bay, Casa Coco greeted me with her warm and Joyful colors
It was a joy for the senses and for the soul.
Felipe and Yanet, the household staff, helped us with the heavy weights, and we found new energy in Casa Coco's peaceful surroundings.
Although we went in March, the dry season, there were many flowers to brighten the garden surrounding the house.
A great stay with trips on the boat to the Botanical Garden and the Nature Reserve Islands.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the incredible position of the house and the assistance
Liked least: nothing , liked everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing