We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
234
45
16
16
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
234
45
16
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub petworth park fudge stayed in the twin room venison wonderful pub lovely lunch south downs local suppliers cottage horseguards hammocks
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2017

I took two visitors from France and Germany for a drink in a typical English pub. They had done their research and were very keen to visit The Horseguards. Unfortunately this is no longer a pub but a restaurant. There was nowhere to stand to drink our beer and despite 50% of the tables being empty we were not allowed to sit down. We stood awkwardly in everyone's way, the bar staff were harried, the waiters and waitresses were busy and kept having to squeeze past us and we were left feeling unwelcome and unwanted. Go here if you want to eat but if you want a pub - forget it.

Room Tip: didn't sleep there
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank heywood08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

This wonderful little pub provides excellent gastropub food with a number of unique dishes on the menu. There are also some decent real ales. Hospitality and service are excellent. The only downer is that most dishes are fairly pricey and the beer is too. Having said that, we popped in for a light lunch and there is a light lunch menu with some inexpensive dishes. I had a bap filled with masses of pork and apple accompanied by fries for only £8.50. So do give this place a try!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

First of all, you can look left and still miss it. It sits above the road and the signs are quite discreet. There is no car park but you can park safely further up the road in a layby.
It is a bit higgledy piggledy inside but all quaint and charm. The service was warm and friendly and the menu broad and interesting. The menu will be ever changing so suffice to say that all courses were fresh, well presented and enjoyed by all.
It is away from the hubbub of Petworth but obviously a favourite with the local country set so booking is recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Today we had a sublime lunch: Dorset Snails(Starter) and Brighton Dab (main). Perfect sized portions lovely veg side, all the food was stunningly cooked with beautifully balanced flavours. Fab/efficient and friendly service, warm cozy and fun atmosphere, I can't wait to visit again. Well done Horse Guards!!!

Stayed: October 2017
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Looks like an 18th century Inn from the outside. Not easy for those with walking disabilities to get to. Once inside it is all character. Low beams, great decor, friendly staff and great food. Looking for a cheap lunch? Go elsewhere. Looking for a reasonably priced light lunch, yep or a more expensive main, yep. Like a dessert that is made in-house? Yep.Great service, friendly staff and excellent, locally sourced food. Well worth a visit if you are in the three counties.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allen555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews