We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry to be a pain!”
Review of The George Inn

The George Inn
Price range: USD 5 - USD 25
Cuisines: British, Bar
Description: The George Inn is the local JD Wetherspoon pub in Littlehampton. We are open for Breakfast at 8am and close at Midnight Monday to Thursday, on Friday and Saturday we close at 1am and Sunday we close at 11pm. We serve food from 8am to 11pm Monday to Saturday and on a Sunday till 11pm. We have some specialist club nights which start at 12pm Tuesday - Steak Club Wednesday - Chicken Club Thursday - Curry Club Friday - Fish Friday (Each club meal offers a free drink specified on the menus this is subject to availability) Monday is a promotion price on drinks and Saturday is the normal menu.
Restaurant details
Description: The George Inn is the local JD Wetherspoon pub in Littlehampton. We are open for Breakfast at 8am and close at Midnight Monday to Thursday, on Friday and Saturday we close at 1am and Sunday we close at 11pm. We serve food from 8am to 11pm Monday to Saturday and on a Sunday till 11pm. We have some specialist club nights which start at 12pm Tuesday - Steak Club Wednesday - Chicken Club Thursday - Curry Club Friday - Fish Friday (Each club meal offers a free drink specified on the menus this is subject to availability) Monday is a promotion price on drinks and Saturday is the normal menu.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Everything was too much trouble for this lot!. Curry night and food to be fair was great and as expected. Clearly staff do not like serving drinks to the table and resent the mobile app. Ploughed our way through the gin menu and got to Hendricks, delivered with no attempt at a smile, can we get some cucumber please?, no!, can we get anything to go with it? No!. Just not interested at all, go to bar and staff head to kitchen and come out with cucumber and an apology.

Honestly, may be cheaper than other boozers but service shouldn't suffer as a result

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

3 of us came here on Saturday at 4pm, it was quite busy and the service was slow. They have a great selection of all types of drinks as all Wetherspoons do.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank aglaiaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately we became a massive inconvenience to the staff when me and my friends popped down for a drink for my birthday, we used the pay at the table app, but apparently some staff believe this is beyond their job title - zero customer service! Don’t expect much from a weatherspoons but a smile and a thank you goes a long way. Only saving grace was the guy behind the bar (Dylan I think his name is) who was friendly, polite and efficient!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank M7908SHcarolj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

My partner and I visited The George for a Sunday breakfast. We went a couple of weeks ago and were served quickly and efficiently by an older gentleman.
However, yesterday we ordered our usual breakfast with a portion of black pudding. The breakfast took half an hour to arrive. No black pudding. The plate was cold, as was the breakfast. Looked like it had been lying around for half an hour. Plates taken away to be heated, no apology. Black pudding arrived in a bowl, burnt, like a lump of charcoal. Plates arrived back, still cold. Sent black pudding back, came back exactly the same!
We know it's only a breakfast but please put some passion into it!! Oh, and try to get staff who smile occasionally!

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank Arundel67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

My wife and I stopped here for Breakfast this morning. Our normal breakfast haunts are still closed for the season, on holiday, sick or retired.

We ordered their 'Traditional' breakfasts and got served quite quickly considering the young lady was on her own and having to rush around like a headless chicken.

The breakfasts were not 'traditional' as I understand the word as hash-browns and baked beans are American in origin. Bubble and squeak, grilled tomato, black pudding and fried-slice or, something similar is what we were expecting.

My plate also had chewy salty bacon, a broken egg yolk and a mealy/bready tasting sausage. None of which is pleasant when it gets all tangled up in my false gnashers ! !

As we left a young man appeared behind the bar who was dressed untidily in company attire and did not appear to do anything while his co-worker busily carried on clearing tables and serving food.

Recommendations:

Senior managers; stop buying cheap catering sausages and bacon. it's rubbish and you know it.

Managers: Sharpen up on your staff management practices or, give up. Your career may lie elsewhere and among other people.

Cooks; learn to fry eggs properly.

Conclusions; We don't have much experience of this chain organisation and i doubt we will be seeking it. Not recommended to Tripadvisor Travellers.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Fred E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George Inn also viewed

Littlehampton, Arun District
Littlehampton, Arun District
 
Rustington, Arun District
Littlehampton, Arun District
 
Littlehampton, Arun District
Littlehampton, Arun District
 

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing