We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,635)
Filter reviews
2,636 results
Traveller rating
1,074
710
430
245
177
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,074
710
430
245
177
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ryder cup afternoon tea great golf hydrotherapy pool golf shop play golf main bar relaxation room round of golf spa experience golf weekend sunday lunch lovely spa leisure club groupon deal scones overnight stay
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 2,636 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2018

Booked an over night stay with three friends as part of a golf package deal over a Sunday/Monday through Golf Travel. Checking in was simple and convenient as the checking in lady was situated near the golf shop and explained the procedure clearly. A minibus took us, our golf bags and trollies to the 1st tee on the Derby course and picked us up promptly from the 18th tee after our game to go back to the golf shop. Trollies and golf bags could be stored overnight in the golf store room which was smoothly run. Rooms were clean, very comfortable and well equipped. The health club and spa was also clean and well equipped. The evening dinner was a help yourself buffet in the Ryder Grill. Loads of different, tasty food to choose from. Service was exceptional. Very attentive and friendly staff. Breakfast was also a help yourself buffet again with excellent service. Checking out was simple in the golf shop. The tee off on the PGA course was smooth with a member of staff on the 1st tee providing relevant information. Overall this was an very enjoyable stay and I would definitely recommended this hotel and resort to friends and family. We will be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GladysMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris E, General Manager at The Belfry Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear GladysMidlands
Firstly thank-you for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor. We are incredibly pleased to hear that your visit to the Resort was so enjoyable. Your kind compliments are both welcomed and very much appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Belfry in the future.
Kindest Regards
Chris Eigelaar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

The hotel stay was average & drinks very overpriced.
We ate in Sams clubhouse and it was an awful meal. It was luke warm, reheated in the microwave. There was nothing fresh about it. I don’t know how they can charge such extortionate prices for such bad quality food. A shame as I’m going through cancer treatment at the moment and it was a treat as I haven’t been able to eat out in 2 months. A total anti climax :(

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris E, General Manager at The Belfry Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Hayley B
Firstly thank-you for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor. We are highly concerned that your experience of the Resort was not what you had envisaged it to be, and offer our apologises for your disappointment. Please be assured that all of our meals are freshly prepared and served, with the finest quality produce sourced for our menus. Had we have been made aware at the time of your dissatisfaction, we would have had the opportunity of resolving this for you immediately.
We very much hope you shall return to The Belfry in the future offering us the opportunity of showcasing the Resort at its finest.
Kindest Regards
Chris Eigelaar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel, lovely staff, beautiful buildings and grounds. I love the leisure facilities and the food was fabulous.

I was lucky enough to get a really good rate through a Groupon deal and can’t wait to return.

Thank you to The Belfry Hotel and Resort.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled solo
Thank HDA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris E, General Manager at The Belfry Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear HDA99
Firstly thank-you for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor. We are extremely pleased to hear that your experience of the Resort was thoroughly enjoyed.
Your kind compliments are both welcomed and most appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Belfry in The future.
Kindest Regards
Chris Eigelaar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

We booked the hotel to break up our long journey from the south to the north and were curious to visit this well known hotel. We were delighted with its setting and the great views from our room which overlooked the first tee. Having bid for an upgrade ( great marketing ploy!), we were really pleased with our room until we realised it was very close to the club bar and the corridor was a busy thoroughfare. This was not so much a problem in the evening but we were awoken early the next morning by very loud and inconsiderate guests. We were looking forward to an à la Carte meal in the restaurant but the hotel was catering for several functions and could not provide this menu. Instead we were offered the buffet dinner and, as it was too late to make other arrangements, we were obliged to have this option. The food was ok but was rather reminiscent of a school dinner! Not our idea of fine dining! We were compensated the next day on mentioning this but we would rather have had a lovely dinner. I must say, all the staff we met were excellent, very efficient and friendly, especially the waiting staff in the restaurant. Also, we had an excellent breakfast the next morning. If you are a golfer or attending business meetings, this is a great hotel but not for couples wanting a quiet stay.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank suepO9086PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris E, General Manager at The Belfry Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Sue P
Firstly thank-you for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor. We read with regret that you were not able to fully enjoy your experience of the Resort, and offer our sincere apologies for the noise disturbance encountered, and further for the option of the A La Carte menu not being available at the time of your visit. It has been disappointing to hear that your opinions of the Chefs table option fell short of what you had envisaged it to be, and have been relayed to our Chefs, with Customer feedback being of most importance to us.
Your kind compliments regarding our Customer Service and Breakfast, have been both welcomed and very much appreciated, we would very much hope to be able to restore your faith in The Belfry at some point in the future, showcasing the Resort at its finest should you offer us the opportunity.
Kindest Regards
Chris Eigelaar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Well, it’s a great venue for golf. We were there at corporate expense, so I don’t think I can be negative about it. We had a suite of rooms which was very comfortable and we all ate in the evening in the Wishaw suite. They tried very hard to give us superlative food and it was mostly good but not brilliant because it’s just so hard for such a place to do so while mass catering for hundreds of guests. I think the hot buffet in the evening would be the thing to chose, and that’s what I would have done given the chance. I don’t know why people on trip advisor complain so much about the Belfry, it’s a place with corporate entertainment very much at its heart. There were at least three or four similar events to ours going on there, which is why the place seems to be as much a conference venue as a hotel. The bar was quite expensive, it was nearly £10 for a gin and tonic, but you are paying for the spacious ambiance of the place as much as anything. If I was a golfer I would go there again, but as I am not, I probably won’t.

Stayed: October 2018
Thank ChuckCo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris E, General Manager at The Belfry Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear ChuckCo2016
Firstly thank-you for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to read that the majority of your experience of the Resort was enjoyed, however concerned that you felt let down by certain aspects. As a vast Golf and Leisure complex, we serve as a most popular choice for hosting large conferences and events, and pride ourselves on delivering excellent Customer Service, Hospitality and Cuisine regardless of the capacity of Guests. We therefore offer our apologies that the meals provided were not to your satisfaction. Our beverage tariffs are displayed throughout the outlets, allowing our Customers to make informed choices prior to ordering, and are indeed reflective of the quality produce sourced, surroundings, ambience, and service offered to our Guests.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Belfry in the future.
Kindest Regards
Chris Eigelaar
General manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews