We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Cottage Beyond

The Cottage Beyond set in it's own large, private garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage Beyond set in it's own large, private garden
Enjoy swimming and sitting in the hot tub whilst admiring your garden The fabulous pool suitable for all, with a length of 13m and a deep end for the serious swimmers
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
The Cottage Beyond set in it's own large, private garden
Enjoy swimming and sitting in the hot tub whilst admiring your garden
The fabulous pool suitable for all, with a length of 13m and a deep end for the serious swimmers
The front door
Enjoy swimming and sitting in the hot tub whilst admiring your garden
The light and airy lounge which has a curvaceous ramped entrance, loved by all.
The modern, curvaceous, contemporary kitchen.  Easy to use and packed with everything a cook needs.
The large solid oak dinning table capable of seating 15.
Bedroom 1 on the ground floor which is fully accessible
Bedroom 6
Entrance to the Spa Hall
Pepsi the farm dog talks to one of our cattle
Hugging goats!  Over 100 goats graze our fields, they are all friendly and like to see visitors
The magic ball which continues to amaze with it's wonderful reflections
East side of the house with the trampoline on the left and the Spa Hall on the right
One of the two circular tree seats to enjoy your morning coffee sitting under the walnut trees
Spa Hall seen from the upper lawn area
Bedroom 3 that can sleep 2 in either a super king sized bed or two singles
Bedroom 4 detail
The sauna
Swings and slide set in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Sampford Arundel, Wellington, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
paulineso...
southampton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way.”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We visited this for a birthday celebration for my husband. We have family for 3 days and then friends for 3 days.

The age range was 2 - 72... There was something for everyone. We all loved the Spa Hall., especially the teenagers when Christine helped them sort out the music. It was great.
The different walks which are around the farm. The pure ambience of the cottage. This is the sort of holiday where you walk in and know you have made the right decision.

Thank you Christine and John for your welcome and for being lovely hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spa Hall
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
Thank you so much Pauline, you were the most wonderful guests. Here's hoping we welcome you all back in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buntyshah
Potters Bar
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“U.K. Holidays don't get better than this place”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Alan you are awesome!!! Loved the tour of the farm. The house itself has everything you need to have a relaxing holiday. Everything has been thought of and every time I opened a cupboard I found more useful items. Holidays don't get much better than this. Thank you so much. Especially for pulling the Disco out from the Ford

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Thank you - we love having guests like you - adventurous, enthusiastic and with a great sense of humour. We do hope you will return and I'll make sure Alan's on standby!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
334Samant...
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect Retreat for a large family celebration”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We were looking forward to visiting 'The Cottage Beyond' after seeing the rave reviews that it had on Trip Advisor. They were all correct and we can add our voice to everyone elses.

It was perfect for our family stay: Parent's 50th Anniversary celebration week.
We made family dinners every evening and had no problems as there is such a well stocked kitchen. Having 2 diswashers for the constant stream of washing up made by 14 people came in very handy!

The location is beautiful. There are plenty of places to walk with handy maps to show where to go.

Our favourite place was the swimming pool at the bottom of the garden. The pool was surprisingly big and had a sauna and jacuzzi too.

Our children enjoyed collecting eggs each morning and on the 3rd morning were very kindly given the job all by themselves. The eggs were delicious too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted that The Cottage Beyond was everything you hoped for and you all had such a brilliant time - especially as you had to make quite a journey to get here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridanp...
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gorgeous house! Would highly recommend!”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I have just returned from a long weekend at The Cottage Beyond. There were 8 of us who stayed here and we were celebrating a 40th Birthday. The house is absolutely gorgeous. The owners have thought of everything, even baking us a delicious chocolate cake for our friend's birthday. The bedrooms are clean and spacious with good sized en suite bathrooms (towels and dressing gowns provided). All rooms have a nice view but the largest room has an extra special outlook with a bed that looks out onto the pool house and a very picturesque landscape. The swimming pool is fabulous. It's a really good sized pool with a jacuzzi and sauna. There is also the option to play your own music via the sound system. The lounge and dining area back in the hous are also spacious and comfortable. We immediately felt relaxed and didn't want to leave the house to venture out. Unfortunately the weather was pretty bad so we didn't get to do any walks but the owners left us with a very thorough information guide that detailed 3 recommended routes. They were also extremely helpful in connecting us with some local beauticians who came to the house to give us massages and treatments. Overall we all had a fantastic time and have already talked about returning to this wonderful retreat. I would highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2016
Thank you Sheridan for your lovely comments. Delighted that you all had such a brilliant time. Kind regards, Christine & Alan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissT1976
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect stay for my 40th”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at The Cottage Beyond with 7 friends for my 40th birthday, we could no fault anything about our stay. The house catered for everything and everyone, they have thought of everything, and you only really need to turn up with clothes for your stay. The private pool house was stunning, we spent a lot of time using the facilities here, so have come home feeling very refreshed and chilled. They even provide robes for all guests, so we really did feel we were at a spa retreat!! Christine and Alan were lovely, Christine has even extended the hospitality after our stay, after sourcing an item my friend loved in the house! The views around the house are also stunning. With sky movies/sports, Wi-Fi, sound bars in the pool area and house, cupboard stacked of games, books to read, walks mapped out of the land, a folder full of information on local pubs/restaurants/shops, you really do feel at home. In the kitchen, the cupboards are full of glasses of all sorts, all the crockery you could need, and an honesty shop. I would 100% recommend the house, and am hoping to return at some stage! The lounge set up is lovely to all sit and gather in the evenings. Thanks Christine and Alan :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too hard to pin point just one thing... but pushed I would say the pool house.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review and thanks for being such lovely guests - you left The Cottage Beyond in great shape. We very much look forward to you all returning in due course. Kind regards, Christine & Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing