We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay for my 40th”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Cottage Beyond

The Cottage Beyond set in it's own large, private garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage Beyond set in it's own large, private garden
Enjoy swimming and sitting in the hot tub whilst admiring your garden The fabulous pool suitable for all, with a length of 13m and a deep end for the serious swimmers
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
The Cottage Beyond set in it's own large, private garden
Enjoy swimming and sitting in the hot tub whilst admiring your garden
The fabulous pool suitable for all, with a length of 13m and a deep end for the serious swimmers
The front door
Enjoy swimming and sitting in the hot tub whilst admiring your garden
The light and airy lounge which has a curvaceous ramped entrance, loved by all.
The modern, curvaceous, contemporary kitchen.  Easy to use and packed with everything a cook needs.
The large solid oak dinning table capable of seating 15.
Bedroom 1 on the ground floor which is fully accessible
Bedroom 6
Entrance to the Spa Hall
Pepsi the farm dog talks to one of our cattle
Hugging goats!  Over 100 goats graze our fields, they are all friendly and like to see visitors
The magic ball which continues to amaze with it's wonderful reflections
East side of the house with the trampoline on the left and the Spa Hall on the right
One of the two circular tree seats to enjoy your morning coffee sitting under the walnut trees
Spa Hall seen from the upper lawn area
Bedroom 3 that can sleep 2 in either a super king sized bed or two singles
Bedroom 4 detail
The sauna
Swings and slide set in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Sampford Arundel, Wellington, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MissT1976
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect stay for my 40th”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at The Cottage Beyond with 7 friends for my 40th birthday, we could no fault anything about our stay. The house catered for everything and everyone, they have thought of everything, and you only really need to turn up with clothes for your stay. The private pool house was stunning, we spent a lot of time using the facilities here, so have come home feeling very refreshed and chilled. They even provide robes for all guests, so we really did feel we were at a spa retreat!! Christine and Alan were lovely, Christine has even extended the hospitality after our stay, after sourcing an item my friend loved in the house! The views around the house are also stunning. With sky movies/sports, Wi-Fi, sound bars in the pool area and house, cupboard stacked of games, books to read, walks mapped out of the land, a folder full of information on local pubs/restaurants/shops, you really do feel at home. In the kitchen, the cupboards are full of glasses of all sorts, all the crockery you could need, and an honesty shop. I would 100% recommend the house, and am hoping to return at some stage! The lounge set up is lovely to all sit and gather in the evenings. Thanks Christine and Alan :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too hard to pin point just one thing... but pushed I would say the pool house.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review and thanks for being such lovely guests - you left The Cottage Beyond in great shape. We very much look forward to you all returning in due course. Kind regards, Christine & Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackie r
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful could not have chosen better”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second trip to the cottage. The whole family went, even the dogs. the house is so clean and spacious plenty of rooms, my grandson loves the animals. my sister loves the walks. the whole family relax and enjoy the pool hot tub sauna, what more could you ask for. beautiful garden and play area. will be booking for next year, as this will be our family get together holiday. thank you Christine and Alan for the perfect retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind words, delighted to have you and look forward to seeing you all next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy V
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Looking for perfection? - You have found it”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My 60th Birthday. All the family - my wife , our 3 children, their partners and our 8 Grand children made our way to this fantastic place 'in the middle of nowhere' . , with Spotlessly clean with ample bedrooms for all of us - all top quality. Excellent indoor swimming pool, full playground, games for all the family and of course 'Blackberry & Apple' the tame pet pigs- the kids did not stop smiling until it was time to go home.
On arrival we were met by the owners who explained how everything worked and how to contact them if we needed anything(we didn't). Flowers, a large home made cake, tea and coffee were all left for us .
Beautiful garden, superb views. If you are looking for somewhere to 'get away from it all' - look no further
Cannot recommend this to highly - simply fantastic

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2015
Wonderful, kind words, full of positive feedback - brought smiles to us all - thank you so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnynats
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 17 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a friends 30th birthday. There were 10 of us. You need a car to get here - it is the middle of nowhere. I was glad to arrive in daylight hours. We were lucky out satnav worked the whole way, I wouldn't recommend relying on phone signal. Print the directions from the website as well - they are most helpful.

We had a delivery from ASDA come to the house. They deliver there regularly apparently.

The house is beautiful. It is huge. Plenty of space for us all to either be together or have time on our own. All facilities in the kitchen are fantastic. We cooked 3 meals a day for all 10 of us all across the weekend. All cutlery, glass wear, cookwear etc is provided.

A large dining table, comfortable living room, sky tv, DVD's, books, a play room for kids, table football, board games, all available. A table tennis table and air hockey are available in a garage just outside the house.

The pool isn't attached the house, but it's only a short walk. You can connect your music through bluetooth and the pool looks fantastic at night all lit up. The hot tub and sauna are all easy to use. The owner of the house comes down to show you how to use everything.

They provide you with manuals all over the house as well, so you can generally figure most things out.

We lit the fire and had a lovely snuggly afternoon on the sofa's watching films.

There was wifi provided in the house that was fairly reliable. And the owners live next door. They have a lovely dog - Pepsi, who was so well behaved and loved the guests.

They also had a little cupboard full of little bits that you might have not brought your self that you can buy from them - super helpful.

Kitchen roll, toilet roll, cling film, tin foil, salt, pepper - all provided!

We would stay here again in a heartbeat. It was beautiful and perfect for what we needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2015
Thank you Jess. So glad you all had a fantastic time, The Cottage Beyond is such a special place. Hope we can welcome you back again soon. Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HfamilySo...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful house with superb attention to detail”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We are a group of 11 friends; we stayed at TCB from May 16th - 19th. This place is amazing - from the lovely welcome on arrival, through to the beautiful house and pool building, and the superb weather (OK, we were lucky there!), the whole weekend was perfect. And we, as a group, are very fussy! We loved this place and would 100% recommend it to anyone; you won't be disappointed, I promise. We didn't want to go home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool building
Liked least: It's a bit difficult to drive to (but very peaceful!)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing