We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A comfortable and very well equipped house”
other travellers have booked this property
Good front garden for extra privacy.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Good front garden for extra privacy.
Sheltered and private rear garden The Briar Rose is set in a quiet residential area 9 minutes from amenities in Shiney Row Village.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Good front garden for extra privacy.
Sheltered and private rear garden
The Briar Rose is set in a quiet residential area 9 minutes from amenities in Shiney Row Village.
A sheltered south facing  patio  and garden - perfect for relaxing and enjoying the sun in private.
The bungalow is centrally heated and an electric fire provides ambiance in the cosy lounge
The spacious lounge has comfortable sofas for chilling out and relaxing
Shiny new fully equipped kitchen
The wet end with sink, dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer
Smart TV to assist with recipes if required
Ready to dine
New bathroom suite, with heated towel rail
A separate shower and plenty of towels
A relaxing bath is also an option.
Penshaw monument, a 20 minute stroll from the bungalow
Roker Beach (Blue Flag status), 20 minutes away
Enjoy the seaside gardening all along Roker promenade.
Newcastle & and Gateshead only 23 minutes away
Historical Durham City only 17 minutes away
Lumley Castle,  Medieval banquets and a-la-carte dining 5 minutes from the bungalow.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Washington, Tyne and Wear, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alison556...
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
“A comfortable and very well equipped house”
Reviewed 29 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Set in a quiet residential area of Shiney Row village, this house is well placed for visiting the North-East, with easy access to Newcastle, Gateshead, Sunderland and Durham. It is extremely comfortable with a fabulous and well equipped kitchen. The house was spotless and well kept, and we were delighted to find basics in the kitchen for our arrival (selection of hot drinks, bread, butter, milk, etc).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2017
Thanks Alison for taking the time to leave this excellent review. We are very pleased you enjoyed the property and your visit, and look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann B
1 review
“Ok for using as a base whilst in North East.”
Reviewed 13 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Good location, nice home furniture is dated however in good condition. Still waiting for our deposit return with no contact from the owner. As yet unsure if we'd book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am disappointed that you thought we were only worth a grade of 3 and not 5 as most of our previous guests have rated us. We do make every effort to ensure the property is spotless for our guests and go the extra mile by providing tea, coffee, milk, bread butter and other consumables to ensure that you have everything you need on arrival. I understand that your son became ill whilst on holiday and that you had to go home a day early which may have marred your break. We are sympathetic to this and have offered to give you a discount should you choose to return, as we like to ensure our guests are delighted with our service.

Your booking was made through Trip Advisor who hold the deposit for 10 days after the guest departs the premesis. I regret there is nothing I can do to speed up the return of this but I hope you will feel reassured that it will be returned to you in full, as has been the case with all our guests to-date.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devinejf
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Lovely comfortable home with everything you need. Special thanks for the welcome pack and little extras like tea and coffee. Would definitely recommend and hope to stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. This is very much appreciated. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneC4fre...
Long Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Superb holiday accommodation”
Reviewed 8 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Have just returned from Briar Rose after a very pleasant stay. The bungalow is very clean and comfortable and has everything you could possibly need. A real home from home. It is also situated in a very good location perfect for all areas in Tyneside and Teeside. The beaches north of Sunderland we particularly liked. So you have the sea and beautiful unspoilt beaches, the wonderful heritage and also lovely countryside. The owner, Ray, had left a very thorough information pack. We had a great time and could have done with longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2017
Thank you Anne for supplying a review to Trip Advisor, especially as it was so positive. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope that if you are visiting the region again you will make The Briar Rose your home from home. You will be very welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P
1 review
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Excellent base for exploring the region with Great transport links close by.
Spacious, clean, well equipped, comfortable bungalow in a quiet residential area with good amenities close by.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Thank you for your review Julie. I very much appreciate you taking the time to do this.
Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing