We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 days of good golf”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Selsdon Estate
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I took 19 guys down for 3 x days of golf on what turned out to be a picturesque and challenging course. One of the best courses I have played this year but dont try and walk it, its hilly and I advise buggies. The hotel was lovely and the staff exceedingly good especially Leena who kept the beer flowing for the lads after golf. The evening meals were fantastic but the breakfasts were a bit of a let down being cold. All in all I would recommend any society or groups of golfers to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakes4fs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPHGC, Management Administrator at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write your review which will be passed to our Quality Wins Team who meet regularly to ensure that the high standards we strive to are being maintained.. We would like to thank you for your feedback and are pleased to hear that your enjoyed our golf course and we look forward to being able to welcome you back to Selsdon Park Hotel and Golf Club in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,281)
There are newer reviews for De Vere Selsdon Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,739 - 1,743 of 2,283 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

Nice rooms, clean & spacious, lovely restuarant, nice areas within hotel. I didn't golf but grounds look nice. Spa very basic & not v relaxing as kids allowed in pool but treatments nice.Nice break with my husband.friendly staff & free parking.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kscv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPHGC, Management Administrator at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write your review which will be passed to our Quality Wins Team who meet regularly to ensure that the high standards we strive to are being maintained.. We would like to thank you for your feedback and i am pleased to read that your enjoyed dining with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Selsdon Park Hotel and Golf Club in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We went on a Groupon voucher it said on voucher bottle of presecco we were given 7.5 % sweet fizz breakfast not great juice was warm and tea very weak rooms were hot and a lot of noise no out door pool or jacuzzi as it was having maintenance. Very expensive drinks at bar 6.80 for glass of wine

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickytay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPHGC, Management Administrator at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write your review which will be passed to our Quality Wins Team who meet regularly to ensure that the high standards we strive to are being maintained.. We would like to thank you for your constructive comments which will enable us identify any area of improvement or retraining and we look forward to being able to welcome you back to Selsdon Park Hotel and Golf Club in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

On the surface this is a very presentable upmarket hotel, but the cracks soon began to show. I booked a late rooms deal which looked a bargain, but from the minute I arrived I felt that corners were being cut and the place was cheapening itself to allow sub £100 per night bookings.

The single rooms are very small and dated,quality furnishings and nicely tiled bathroom but too hot, single glazed, pathetic small tv with just six channels. Clean but not spotless. The room service took several attempts to reach by phone, and was then told that there would be a long wait and a £5 tray charge. I went instead to the local supermarket and bought a feast of epic proportions for less than the price of a room served omelette.

This hotel probably has some lovely rooms, but you don't feel special booking at the low prices on late rooms.. One pathetic pillow... They brought another when asked but why not give you the abnormal two to start with? One set of towels. No biscuits and a very limited selection of drinks.

Trying to fill up cheap, but leaving me feeling that I'd have been better booking somewhere smaller that tries harder to make you feel special.

5/10

Room Tip: Don't book a single
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPHGC, Management Administrator at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write your review which will be passed to our Quality Wins Team who meet regularly to ensure that the high standards we strive to are being maintained.. We would like to thank you for your constructive comments which will enable us identify any area of improvement or retraining and we look forward to being able to welcome you back to Selsdon Park Hotel and Golf Club in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed at the Selsdon for a wedding (though the wedding was not at the hotel, it was elsewhere). Our first impression was of a nice old building. When we booked in it was obvious that the staff were under pressure, what with 2 weddings, a 50th birthday party, golfers and guests checking in. We eventually found the old, rickety lift, more by accident than the rather obtuse instructions we were given.

The keys did not work and I had to trudge the considerable distance back down to get them 're-cut'.

The room itself was a good size (room 218) and had a nice view over the golf course. The decor, along with that of the entire hotel, needed attention (in fact the whole place could do with a complete re-fit). A broken window in the bathroom (covered with opaque plastic) and pubes in the bath (other guests had this too) did not improve the first impression.

After having an expensive drink at the bar we decided to retire to the room. (Way too many children in the bar, but then the 'Leisure Centre' does exit through the bar, complete with people dripping pool water everywhere).

We ordered some room service, two Eton Mess'. I was told that there would be a surcharge on top of the £7.50 each they were costing, but hey ho, it's room service. After an hour I had to call up and chase them up. I was told it was 2 minutes away. 15 minutes later it arrived. A few mini- meringues some Strawberries and mouldy tasting blueberries. Very unsatisfying.

When we returned to the hotel after returning from the wedding we were thankful to avoid the mayhem that was ensuing in reception as the world as his wife seemed to being checking in. At 0030. Typically then the keys did not work. Again. After my long trudge back to reception, a long wait and then a long trudge back, we got into the room.

A plus side was the breakfast, though I'd try and get the early-ish if you don't want to queue.

At the weekend, at least, it seems to be rammed with Weddings, parties and golfers. Let alone normal, everyday guests. The venue does not seem to be able to cope with a huge volume of people, or events without letting other parts of it's business suffer.

Oh and the jacuzzi was still not working.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YannLePentrec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPHGC, Management Administrator at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write your review which will be passed to our Quality Wins Team who meet regularly to ensure that the high standards we strive to are being maintained.. We would like to thank you for your constructive comments which will enable us identify any area of improvement or retraining and we look forward to being able to welcome you back to Selsdon Park Hotel and Golf Club in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Croydon hotels
4.3 km away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#9 of 24 in Croydon
1,153 reviews
4.9 km away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
4.9 km away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#8 of 24 in Croydon
1,190 reviews
2.7 km away
Premier Inn London Croydon South (A212) Hotel
4.3 km away
Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Croydon

Been to De Vere Selsdon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Selsdon Estate

Address: 126 Addington Road, Croydon CR2 8YA, England (Formerly Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Croydon
Price Range: $92 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Selsdon Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 200 acres of beautiful Surrey countryside, De Vere Selsdon Estate is an historic country mansion with an 18 hole championship golf course, luxury beauty treatment rooms and well-appointed leisure club. Perfect for large scale business events in the area as well as romantic weddings, this picturesque setting also features extensive grounds ideal for outdoor team-building and celebrations. From the 23rd Dec -7th Jan that there are no restaurant open during this period. Breakfast will be available – lunch & dinner in the bar from a limited menu. Room Service will be available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Selsdon Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selsdon Park And Golf Course
Selsdon Park & Golf Course Hotel Croydon
Selsdon Park Hotel Course
Selsdon Park Croydon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing