We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year's Eve Celebrations 2010 - The Ice Ball” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Camberley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve Celebrations 2010 - The Ice Ball”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

This was the first time that we tried and organised event. My husband and I wanted a 'grown up' (no kids) evening to celebrate the New Year. We also didn’t want to travel to far from home and opted for the Frimley venue which was just 20 mins from home. The Ice Ball by far exceeded all of our expectations. My wish was to dress up in my long swishy evening dress and enjoy an evening of dancing, good food with like-minded people. Our hotel room was really nice and comfortable and all around 10/10. The event ticked all the boxes and we will definitely recommend it and would go again. The perfect way to see in the New Year! We also enjoyed the cooked breakfast and we spent the rest of New Year's day relaxing in the spa. Just perfect!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enola_Collins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
Thank you Enola_Collins for your kind comments. I will of course pass on your comments to my team. As you have experienced, they are very passionate and committed to delivering the highest standards of service, quality and customer care which is shown by the number of guests that are coming back for a return visit, time and time again. We look forward to extending you a warm welcome back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    574
    458
    209
    123
See reviews for
320
816
35
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

I booked this hotel for a 2 day get away for mine and my husband’s anniversary. I was attracted to the hotel because of the Macdonald name and also that is was a Spa hotel. When booking the hotel, I made a note on the booking form to say this was our anniversary and I would really like a nice peaceful room – I had upgraded to a superior. You can imagine my disappointment when the view from our room was the hotel roof and there were builders out there so we had to keep the curtains shut. Even more to my disappointment, we were woken up at 7.30am the following morning to these builders starting their work! I did complain about this and re-iterated that I had specifically asked for a quiet room and all I got was a mumbled apology and was told it wouldn’t happen the next day.

On arriving at the hotel, I was disappointed as it is basically situated within a housing estate – there are no grounds to speak of so please don’t go here expecting to have a nice walk around the grounds. Because it was a spa hotel I had visions of walking around in robes from our room to the pool area – how wrong was I! Firstly no robes provided in the superior rooms and secondly the spa is separate from the hotel. You have to walk outside, through the car-park to get there, so you have to be fully dressed. We didn’t have any treatments so can’t comment there, but the pool area just consisted of a pool, steam room and sauna and was very shabby – not quite what we had in mind for our day at the spa!

I have to say that the food and service was very good – the staff were very friendly however I did feel at times that the clients there using the business facilities were more important than us. I think if you were to use this venue for an occasion rather than just a 2 night stay you would probably have a better experience. I also have to say I thought the hotel was extremely over-priced for what it was – in my opinion the prices were relative to a country house hotel which this definitely was not.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chinke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 December 2010
Thank you chinke for your review. I was most concerned to read your comments as the issues raised are certainly not in keeping with the standards, quality and customer care normally associated with Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls experienced on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

We booked a 2 day stay for 7 people - meeting room, activity room, Black Tie dinner etc. for a team to talk through and set it's strategy for 2011, as well as having some fun. Great service from the Conference Team, prior to and during the stay. Great food, and we were well looked after throughout our stay. Nice rooms, with good bathrooms and showers. Lovely ambience from the real fire, with a quiet enviromnent.

A memorable stay and the perfect setting to talk about the future, and get to know one another better.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnergyMan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 December 2010
Thank you EnergyMan2010 for your kind comments. I will of course pass on your comments to my team. As you have experienced, they are very passionate and committed to delivering the highest standards of service, quality and customer care which is shown by the number of guests that are coming back for a return visit, time and time again. We look forward to extending you a warm welcome back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

Stayed here last week with a group of girlfriends on a night away from the kids. We got a good value weekday deal that included dinner and a spa. It wasn't expensive but I guess you get what you pay for. The room was the noisiest I have ever stayed in - we could literally hear next door's ablutions plus every conversation that took place from 6.30am in the corridor outside. Our friend's room had a shower that didn't work. Sadly the much longed for sleep and lie-in didn't happen!
Dinner was OK-ish. Certainly nothing to rave about. The restaurant was freezing, lacking in atmosphere and unfortunately our waiter could not speak English. Trying to get a pre-dinner drink was a disaster - I had to ask three times as the barman studiously ignored us. When the drinks finally arrived after 20 mins they were wrong. Breakfast was a similarly average affair. We had to call the waiter over to take our orders after sitting there for 10 minutes being ignored. When it arrived it was pretty good though. I witnessed an American guest on the next table trying to ask the non-English speaking waiter for two eggs 'sunny side up' - I had to chuckle and wondered what his chances were of actually getting his order.
The Spa is OK - therapists and treatment rooms are nice. Lots of tiles coming away in the steam room and the pool is freezing.
Overall a bit disappointing, mostly due to the service which is universally indifferent. Sad because you feel that this hotel could be really quite nice with a bit of staff training.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whatleylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 December 2010
Thank you whatleylover for your review. I was most concerned to read your comments as the issues raised are certainly not in keeping with the standards, quality and customer care normally associated with Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls experienced on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

We arrived , in the snow, after a 5 hour drive to be told that the Restaurant was closed as there were 2 Chrstmas parties being held at the hotel that night. We were offered a list of nearby restaurants or ordering off the lounge menu (sandwiches). We didn't want to venture out into the snow again so opted for sandwiches only to find the people next to us being served steak and chips! Apparently the receptionist had forgotten to tell us that we could have ordered from the room service menu as well !
To add insult to injury we were also too early for breakfast and only had the option of continental breakfast in our room for £13.50 service charge. Very dissapointing when we had paid £355 for 2 nights B&B!
We complined and were told that we could have a hot breakfast in the room. I ordered Poached eggs which tasted of vinegar - not nice. I addition the room was so small there was no where to sit and eat breakfast - we ended up balancing on the edge of our beds eating off our laps.
Altogether a very dissapointing stay!
On the plus side the reception area was nicely decorated and we enjoyed the lounge area with the open fire. However the new extension doesn't blend in and the rooms are small.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nursea66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 December 2010
Thank you nursea66 for your review. I was most concerned to read your comments as the issues raised are certainly not in keeping with the standards, quality and customer care normally associated with Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls experienced on this occasion. If you would like to contact me at the Hotel directly, I would be more than happy to discuss your comments further and resolve the outstanding issues for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Camberley hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camberley
2.2 km away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
7.7 km away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
17.0 km away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 km away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
17.8 km away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
15.2 km away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Lime Avenue | off Portsmouth Rd, Camberley GU15 2BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Camberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Camberley
Price range (per night): $168 - $302
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Victorian Manor House, on the Surrey/Berkshire border, just 15 minutes away from the M3 Motorway, Ascot Racecourse and Farnborough Airfield, boasting landscaped grounds, 98 bedrooms with every modern facility and a Vital Leisure Club with 5 Beauty Treatment Rooms. The ideal venue for all occasions whether it be business,conference or a Wedding, Macdonald Frimley Hall is Surrey's premiere Wedding venue. This Victorian Hotel is the perfect stayover for trips to Legoland, Windsor Castle, Ascot Racecourse and Virginia Water. The award winning 2 AA Rosette Linden Restaurant offers a sumptuous Menu,using the highest quality produce available to our Chef. Macdonald Frimley Hall's Spa facilities include a 17 metre swimming pool, technogym, sauna and steam room plus beauty treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel Camberley
Macdonald Frimley Hall Camberley
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa Camberley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing