We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spa let it down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Camberley
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spa let it down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

We've visited Frimley twice now, the first in November 2011 for our anniversary, and the 2nd time in April 2012 with some friends. The staff at the hotel were lovely and the food was amazing. On our first trip we turned up on the motorbike, and felt somewhat underdressed as we went to reception, as a wedding was taking place, but everyone was in good spirits, and we were greated warmly by staff. On both occasions, we particurlarly loved the service by the restaurant staff, they were helpful, explained everything clearly (we had a package deal), made us feel comfortable and we could not fault it. The food was amazing. The breakfast was also lovely, and of good quality. Unfortunately on both occasions though, the spa let us down. The first disappointment (after I rang to confirm our bookings twice, two weeks before, and the day before) was the stuff up of our 2 hour treatment, the gym blaming the spa, and the spa not really caring as they are all teenagers, and we ended up with 30 minute treatments. The 2nd time we went (our friends booked) once again very young lady ignored us for 15 minutes before all of a sudden 'switched on, or woke up' and took me in for a very average massage and because i was feeling annoyed noted it was a 22 minute massage, not a 30 minute. My friend ended up having to wait half an hour as her therapist hadn't turned up.

Room Tip: Both our rooms were lovely, the trip in April 2012 we had a bath and shower in the room, which was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiMichelle74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Many thanks KiwiMichelle74 for your review. Whilst I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay in general, please be assured that your comments regarding the Spa have been passed to the new Spa Manger for review and action accordingly.
I do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to extend you a warm welcome back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    576
    462
    210
    123
See reviews for
322
819
35
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

The actual hotel I'd give a 3.5 or maybe a 4. But it's the very service minded staff that make it a 5. I've stayed there twice, once for business and once with family, and on both occasions I found the staff very helpful and friendly; all of them, from the Spa/pool staff to restaurant, reception and porters.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrettNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Many thanks BrettNottingham for your review. As you have experienced, they are very passionate and committed to delivering the highest standards of service, quality and customer care which is shown by the number of guests that are coming back for a return visit, time and time again. We look forward to extending you a warm welcome back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goring-on Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night at the Frimley Hall, bearing in mind the prices, we were disappointed with the very average room and the non existent service. When we arrived we ordered room service (a bottle of wine and a club sandwich) it never arrived ! when we chased room service they claimed not to know what colour bread we wanted, we chased again to be told the order had been lost. We never received our request. The next morning at check out, reception was not manned and I had to hunt to find a member of staff just so we could check out. One positive, the breakfast in our room in the morning (which did arrive) was very good and was delivered when we requested.

Overall, very average for such prices, oh and a blocked bath drain.

A Travel lodge next time I'm in Camberley.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thank you MrBenjamin for your review. I was most concerned to read your comments as the issues raised are certainly not in keeping with the standards, quality and customer care normally associated with Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls experienced on this occasion. If you would like to contact me at the Hotel directly, I would be more than happy to discuss your comments further and resolve the outstanding issues for you and indeed extend you a warm welcome back to Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel last weekend for a birthday treat from my partner and parents. Room was lovely, pool and spa facilities good but the best bit for me was our evening meal. It was fantastic, I had the most wonderful main course.... A blade of Scottish Beef and it was amazing. My parents are farmers so we know good meat and that was one of the best dishes iv ever eaten. Staff were lovely and friendly. It was a very pleasant stay.Will definatly be back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rward85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Many thanks rward85 for your review. I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very passioate about the provenance and quality of our food of which you submitted very kind comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

This hotel is a beautiful period property on amazing grounds, however, the "spa" is not really a spa...its a pool, sauna and steam with very few poolside loungers (10 in total - we had to sit on the floor!) and a separate, darkened relaxation room, which has chairs and foot stools with tea/coffee (10 seats there too). We booked as a group of 12 and they did not warn us there would not be enough seating, in addition, people had got there earlier and occupied all the loungers - leaving them with just towels/belongings on for many hours, without sitting in them. As you can imagine, it was slightly infuriating for those of us sitting on tiled floor! Management refused to bring in more seats due to having no "non slip" feet and did nothing about the unused loungers. All of that aside, we did have a lovely time and the hotel is very nice, but I'd not recommend this as a real spa resort.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Many thanks namford for your review. Whilst I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay overall, I was concerned to read your comments regarding the Spa. In terms of the lounger issue, we can only fit 10 loungers at poolside however, I will discuss the management of the loungers with my Club Manager as I agree with you that we should not be allowing people to leave thier belongings, as a reservation tool, on loungers for hours at a time.
I do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to offer you a warm welcome back on the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camberley
2.2 km away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
7.6 km away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
17.0 km away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,478 reviews
14.2 km away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
15.3 km away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Lime Avenue | off Portsmouth Rd, Camberley GU15 2BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Camberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Camberley
Price range (per night): $165 - $311
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Victorian Manor House, on the Surrey/Berkshire border, just 15 minutes away from the M3 Motorway, Ascot Racecourse and Farnborough Airfield, boasting landscaped grounds, 98 bedrooms with every modern facility and a Vital Leisure Club with 5 Beauty Treatment Rooms. The ideal venue for all occasions whether it be business,conference or a Wedding, Macdonald Frimley Hall is Surrey's premiere Wedding venue. This Victorian Hotel is the perfect stayover for trips to Legoland, Windsor Castle, Ascot Racecourse and Virginia Water. The award winning 2 AA Rosette Linden Restaurant offers a sumptuous Menu,using the highest quality produce available to our Chef. Macdonald Frimley Hall's Spa facilities include a 17 metre swimming pool, technogym, sauna and steam room plus beauty treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel Camberley
Macdonald Frimley Hall Camberley
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa Camberley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing