We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveller rating
154
195
158
67
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
195
158
67
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aston marina pool and sauna leisure facilities sunday lunch bridal suite the ground floor breakfast was excellent a lovely stay an evening meal town centre staff were helpful alton towers full english wedding venue staffordshire
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 635 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018

We held the wake for my Gran, here. The private room that we were allocated (and were charged for) was an anti-room to the conservatory so we had people wandering through the wake. The room itself was FILTHY with huge cobwebs hanging from the ceilings.The stucco plaster work had had leaks, which had been poorly repaired and the staining from the water-damage had not been re-painted, leaving big orange stains on the crumbling ceiling. After waiting at the bar for 10 minutes for somebody to serve the guests, the bar staff finally arrived - 2 double gin and tonics were £21 (but they couldn't find matching glasses to put them in!). The food itself was awful. The sandwiches appear to have been left out somewhere, as the bread had started to go stale. The sandwiches themselves were smeared in margarine and were bland and tasteless.These were accompanied by slightly 'soft' pork pies, i.e the pastry had picked up moisture and had lost its texture, which were also bland.
A disappointing venue for such an important occasion. I would not recommend this Hotel for functions.

Room tip: Don't bother. Find another hotel
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank simonrE1023OX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

I booked this hotel for 4 nights when working with a client nearby. I arrived on a Sunday just before the "Beast from the East" hit the area. It is an old house with two more recent extensions, one with rooms and one with the very small pool and a bit of a gym. The guy on reception was very good and helpful especially as I could not get Wi-Fi to work.
My room was in the old part of the hotel, lots of stairs, uneven floors and a small but modernised bathroom. The main issue with the room was the lack of a decent workspace, dated décor, a single overworked radiator and single glazing which made it a cold place to be in.
When I checked in, I was told that the hotel we going to be full for the week so I did not even ask to be moved. Due to the weather, I ate in every night and the food was OK with a varied menu and the room had a big fire which made it quite pleasant. Breakfast was cooked to order and was always nice but it could take a while for someone to take the order which was an issue one day when I needed to be out quickly.
The pool is very small and you have to pay to use a towel if you do not use your room towel, strange but true.
So would I stay there again, only if I really needed to be near to the client but would probably stay somewhere else.

Room tip: Try to avoid rooms in the old part of the hotel
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank yorkshiremanabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM333, Guest Relations Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us here at the Stone House Hotel.

If you would like to contact the hotel on 01785 815531 or generalmanager@lehost-stonehouse.com and we can discuss this further.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

2nd time my wife and her two friends have stayed at the stone house, shared the family room had had a fantastic weekend visiting the national shire show,
food was just fantastic,
chef even made them a extra early breakfast on request as they had to go to show their horse .. a nice swim and a sauna to end there days
will return again next year.. top marks to all the staff.
thankyou

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DNIXON74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM333, Guest Relations Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Stone House Hotel.There are plenty of lovely local attractions near us and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Truly amazing food in Staffs countryside.

You have to eat it to believe that!

My compliments to the chefs at the Stone House.

Thanks also to Zoey, and Rob for the wonderful service.

Great food, great service, thank you all.

A.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank ala359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

Just stayed in this hotel 3/4March 2018. Could not fault it from the time we checked in to the time we checked out. Had a family room which was very clean and comfortable, breakfast was well cooked and hot. Had dinner in the hotel on the Saturday group of 7 food was outstanding. Staff were very polite and attentive, one person I will mention is David in the restaurant, what a very polite and helpful chap, he seemed to have a sixth sense in that whenever we wanted something he appeared. Was most surprised when he said he had only been there 5 days he was so professional. Thank you for a great stay we will be back xxxxx

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Maggot074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM333, Guest Relations Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay her with us at the Stone House Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews