We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (617)
Filter reviews
617 results
Traveller rating
150
189
155
64
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
189
155
64
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday lunchaston marinapool and saunaleisure facilitiesblack puddingthe ground floorafternoon teafriendly hotelbreakfast was excellentfour poster bedan evening mealalton towersa lovely stayfull englishgood nights sleepweddingdip
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 617 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018

I booked this hotel for 4 nights when working with a client nearby. I arrived on a Sunday just before the "Beast from the East" hit the area. It is an old house with two more recent extensions, one with rooms and one with the very small pool and a bit of a gym. The guy on reception was very good and helpful especially as I could not get Wi-Fi to work.
My room was in the old part of the hotel, lots of stairs, uneven floors and a small but modernised bathroom. The main issue with the room was the lack of a decent workspace, dated décor, a single overworked radiator and single glazing which made it a cold place to be in.
When I checked in, I was told that the hotel we going to be full for the week so I did not even ask to be moved. Due to the weather, I ate in every night and the food was OK with a varied menu and the room had a big fire which made it quite pleasant. Breakfast was cooked to order and was always nice but it could take a while for someone to take the order which was an issue one day when I needed to be out quickly.
The pool is very small and you have to pay to use a towel if you do not use your room towel, strange but true.
So would I stay there again, only if I really needed to be near to the client but would probably stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms in the old part of the hotel
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank yorkshiremanabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM333, Guest Relations Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us here at the Stone House Hotel.

If you would like to contact the hotel on 01785 815531 or generalmanager@lehost-stonehouse.com and we can discuss this further.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

2nd time my wife and her two friends have stayed at the stone house, shared the family room had had a fantastic weekend visiting the national shire show,
food was just fantastic,
chef even made them a extra early breakfast on request as they had to go to show their horse .. a nice swim and a sauna to end there days
will return again next year.. top marks to all the staff.
thankyou

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DNIXON74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM333, Guest Relations Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Stone House Hotel.There are plenty of lovely local attractions near us and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Truly amazing food in Staffs countryside.

You have to eat it to believe that!

My compliments to the chefs at the Stone House.

Thanks also to Zoey, and Rob for the wonderful service.

Great food, great service, thank you all.

A.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
2  Thank Al A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

Just stayed in this hotel 3/4March 2018. Could not fault it from the time we checked in to the time we checked out. Had a family room which was very clean and comfortable, breakfast was well cooked and hot. Had dinner in the hotel on the Saturday group of 7 food was outstanding. Staff were very polite and attentive, one person I will mention is David in the restaurant, what a very polite and helpful chap, he seemed to have a sixth sense in that whenever we wanted something he appeared. Was most surprised when he said he had only been there 5 days he was so professional. Thank you for a great stay we will be back xxxxx

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Maggot074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM333, Guest Relations Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay her with us at the Stone House Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely afternoon tea at this Hotel,very reasonable as I used Groupon,a variety of sandwiches and pastries were very well presented,all very fresh,we had a lovely pot of green tea which was hot lovely change as I have been to a few tea rooms where the tea was lukewarm so great,a lovely friendly server
Who checked on us regularly to make sure we were ok and everything was to our satisfaction,I’m sure we will be returning,please try this lovely place you will not be dissatisfied.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank trenthamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM333, Guest Relations Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay her with us at the Stone House Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews