We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much loved theme park but needs a drastic rethink!! Queues, queues and more queues!!!”
Review of Alton Towers

Alton Towers
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 51.77*
and up
Alton Towers Resort 2 Day Admission
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Alton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Escape to the fantabulous world of the Alton Towers Resort - there's so much going on, the fun never stops! England's largest theme park offers 500 acres of attractions and rides the whole family can enjoy including X-Sector, Forbidden Valley, Dark Forest, Gloomy Wood, Katanga Canyon and CBeebies Land!
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Today was the worse day I’ve ever experienced here and we have been coming here for years. We really love this place and have had Merlin passes previously but due to recent hikes in prices and an ever shrinking household budget plus the fact we only ever really used them to visit here was excited by the prospect of getting season passes for £55. If it wasn’t for the fact that we live 40-50 mins away and my eldest has an ambition to become a roller coaster designer/engineer in the future (she would love to do her work experience here) then we would not be returning!! I have never had to wait to get into the actual place but had to wait 45 mins in a traffic queue. We should have turned back home then. Granted it was the height of the arrival period so dismissed this and was happy to be parked near to the walking path but to then have to wait an additional hour to be served just to get a ticket to get through the turnstiles is bloody ridiculous!! Once in the park we avoided the big queue for the box office to actually get our passes knowing from previous years how long they take to actually serve customers and print them so went to Galatica (which was the shortest queue at 30 mins). I love the fact you get the option now of riding it without VR. After waiting more than stated time due to the amount of fast track passes bumping up the time we headed for food as we had been in the park for nearly 3 hours and was famished. There are no eating places in the area apart from the rollercoaster restaurant so had to walk over to the food stands near the wicker man. We then queued for nearly an hour to ride the smiler only for it to break down. At this point my youngest child (who is autistic) was getting distressed at all the walking and waiting around. We had settled for the fact that it was busy as it was a nice day and wouldn’t get on many rides but would have our passes to come back. Even planning for a day next week. We gave up on the smiler so headed towards the box office knowing it would now shut at 6pm and wanted to get in the queue for wicker man before it shut as this was the one ride my eldest wanted to go on and was prepared to queue a long time but again the box office queue was long and it was half 3 so headed towards thirteen (our favourite ride) which had gone down from 120 mins to an hour. We took the sky ride as the youngest one was complaining about her legs only for it to keep stopping!! Thirteen was brilliant as ever even if it did seem painfully slow to get going and get off! At this point we knew we had to get our passes. The dilemma was we wouldn’t make the wicker man queue before closing!! We had to wait an hour to get the passes and my eldest was distraught and in floods of tears as the time ticked away and we got served at 6:05. Some rides were saying closed and others saying the waiting times so asked if some rides were still open but they as told the ride queues closed at 6pm. I have now promised my eldest that we will go back tomorrow afternoon to avoid traffic queues so we can go on wicker man ( in the hope it doesn’t break down). We have the luxury of living nearby and kept on telling her that there were people there that had travelled a greater distance and got the same amount of disappointment as us. I feel sorry for those people and having read a lot of the reviews from all week can see why a lot of people are turned off returning. I can’t believe a big company such as Merlin did not foresee the problems with the new system!! Why can’t there be a season/annual pass turnstile near the car park?? Why is the monorail and sky ride not running till later?? Why the staggered times? Surely you can afford to pay more staff the amount you’re taking each day!! Can’t you limit the number of people visiting on nice days or limit the number of fast pass and disabled passes which bump up queue times?? Why only 13 out of 17 ticket windows open on a busy day? And surely there must be an easier way of getting the passes?? Hoping this place can get back to being the family orientated magical place it once was!

Date of experience: April 2018
9  Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Alton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Suzanne C,

Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Resort on Trip Advisor.

We were sorry to hear that there were aspects of your visit that proved to cause issues throughout your day – Rest assured that we are very grateful for all feedback and will act upon such, as it allows us to ensure that we're delivering the most amazing experiences to every single guest who visits us.

Your comments have been duly noted and we will use your feedback to improve the guest experience as part of an ongoing review.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Wishes,

Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15,826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"theme park"
in 1,797 reviews
"cbeebies land"
in 1,481 reviews
"fast track tickets"
in 362 reviews
"big rides"
in 1,049 reviews
"queue times"
in 759 reviews
"sonic spinball"
in 201 reviews
"nemesis sub terra"
in 249 reviews
"scare mazes"
in 176 reviews
"ice age"
in 278 reviews
"runaway train"
in 219 reviews
"log flume"
in 468 reviews
"thorpe park"
in 330 reviews
"free tickets"
in 186 reviews
"merlin pass"
in 174 reviews
"end of the day"
in 385 reviews
"longest queue"
in 189 reviews
"main rides"
in 243 reviews
Filter

1,950 - 1,954 of 15,826 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

So we arrived today full of anticipation as it had been several years since we had last been !

40 minutes queuing to get into the car park, then a mile and half walk to the entrance to collect our tickets ! We hit the queue outside of the entrance at 1045am an hour and half later we had inched into the court yard to where we saw a queue snake around the court yard! When asked how much longer we could expect to queue for our tickets we were told approximately a further two hours!!

When asked why it was so bad and the queue control was horrendous I was told we didn’t expect it to be so busy today ! Only sunny day of the Easter Holidays to date !

So after the best part of three hours queuing we walked the mile and half back to the car without even getting into the park !

What a let down Alton Towers very disappointed daughter !!

Date of experience: April 2018
5  Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Alton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Sam A,

Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Resort on Trip Advisor.

We were sorry to hear that there were aspects of your visit that proved to cause issues throughout your day – Rest assured that we are very grateful for all feedback and will act upon such, as it allows us to ensure that we're delivering the most amazing experiences to every single guest who visits us.

Your comments have been duly noted and we will use your feedback to improve the guest experience as part of an ongoing review.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Wishes,

Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Roller coasters are fantastic, but I paid £70 odd in advance for tickets as this gave me a discount, then on day queued for nearly an hour just to get tickets. This queue was disorganised, with no staff outside the park supervising it. Once in the park joined the queue for the Smiler rollercoaster this lasted for nearly 2 hours. Smiler rollercoaster was fantastic, great fun. By now we were hungry so ate in chicken restaurant near ride, this was acceptable food for the money and I have no complaints. Joined next queue for a ride called 13. Another excellent rollercoaster but queue was again far too long. Last ride of the day was the Galatica rollercoaster which was good fun. The company I was with made standing in queues all day fun but seriously 3 rollercoaster rides for over £70 for a two people, I struggle to find this value for money. Also the fast track tickets I find disgraceful as the hard earned money people pay to get in means unless you are willing and able to you will be over taken by the rich and elitist

Date of experience: April 2018
9  Thank pitbull23071970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Alton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear pitbull23071970,

Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Resort on Trip Advisor.

We were sorry to hear that there were aspects of your visit that proved to cause issues throughout your day – Rest assured that we are very grateful for all feedback and will act upon such, as it allows us to ensure that we're delivering the most amazing experiences to every single guest who visits us.

Your comments have been duly noted and we will use your feedback to improve the guest experience as part of an ongoing review.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Wishes,

Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

First we started our journey with a Long walk in the SUN as the trains were shut because it was icy then we queued until 10 o’clock, when we went in and started to make our way to the first ride and realised that the ride did not open until eleven then we realised that we were mistaken none of the rides opened until eleven what a waste of time and why on earth does the park not open until eleven. After that disappointing start we decided to walk back to queue up for the ride we wanted to go on but it turned out that the ride did not open until 12:00 then we walked about a mile to find arcades which was a con-the grabber did not grab which and it was surrouded by more cons like win big ugly teddy bears which filled up half of the park (replacing all the old rides that children like me would have enjoyed) I only saw 4 people with the junk which their children had begged them to splash the cash on. After that we went on some rides which had about a two hour + wait. The rides were good but no middle level rides only cebeebies and big rides overall a disappointing expensive day we will not be returning to Alton “con”towers -terrible experience.

Date of experience: April 2018
9  Thank Esme D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Alton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Esme D,

Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Resort on Trip Advisor.

We were sorry to hear that there were aspects of your visit that proved to cause issues throughout your day – Rest assured that we are very grateful for all feedback and will act upon such, as it allows us to ensure that we're delivering the most amazing experiences to every single guest who visits us.

Your comments have been duly noted and we will use your feedback to improve the guest experience as part of an ongoing review.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Wishes,

Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Just got back from a day at my favourite theme park, first time we’ve been this season and what has happened?

Traffic getting in was horrendous, took an hour to get thought the village of Alton, ok not the parks fault that lies with Highways England for waiting till Easter to cone off every lane off every motorway, so we arrive at the car park and you can tell it’s very busy, far busier than last Easter,

No monorail working so every one has to work or be pushed, only to arrive at the ticket entrance at 10am to find its over an hours wait to get tickets!! This is paying on the day or choosing to collect on arrival, be warned do not use the bogof they have got rid of the pay kiosks, now you join one big line which none of the staff can control and everyone pushes inn,

Feel sorry for the staff as they have no clue what to do or control the vast amount of people trying to get in, so by this time 11:45, the new ride wicker man is already got a queue time of 180 minutes and we and thousands more have made it into the park,

When you are in the park, merlin have gotten rid of all the single rider queues, spin ball, smiler all gone, no ride now has a single rider line. I guess this is to force you to but fast pass tickets, the queue lines are so long and every ride broke down, it’s really become a case of poor value for money and a sorry state, my bet is, if it’s not to far wait for Blackpool’s new ride to open, let Merlin feel the heat if there wicker man If leave it alone.

Date of experience: April 2018
8  Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Alton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Steven G,

Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Resort on Trip Advisor.

We were sorry to hear that there were aspects of your visit that proved to cause issues throughout your day – Rest assured that we are very grateful for all feedback and will act upon such, as it allows us to ensure that we're delivering the most amazing experiences to every single guest who visits us.

Your comments have been duly noted and we will use your feedback to improve the guest experience as part of an ongoing review.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Wishes,

Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alton Towers also viewed

 

Been to Alton Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing