We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,717)
Filter reviews
2,717 results
Traveller rating
693
915
601
320
188
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
693
915
601
320
188
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water park splash landings theme park alton towers hotel bunk beds beachcomber room per adult the secret garden chocolate fountain ice age room all you can eat evening buffet great fun flambos restaurant family room hotel guests my son
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 2,717 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

We have stayed at Alton Towers over a dozen times since getting married there 15 years ago. But standards have dropped. Food and drink is now very overpriced. Got charged twice for 2 small bottles of Coke (£3.10 each btw!) and then was told to check my bank statement the next day when I queried it, the young lady behind the bar said as the receipt didn't come out of the machine it couldn't have charged me! Checked my account at the bar in front of her and it had! You used to be able to turn up anytime for breakfast - you now have to book (this wasn't made clear at the point of booking). When we arrived we we told the only time left was 9.45am (we had hoped to make use of the early ride time in the Theme Park by that time, one of the perks for staying in their hotel). We finally managed to persuade the restaurant staff to give us a 7.30 slot instead. Which sounds early but in fact we had plenty of time to get ready for it because we were woken up at 5.30am by the bin lorry reversing and moving the large industrial wheely bins back and fore whilst tipping tons of glass bottles into the back of it. It only lasted 20mins, so better than using own alarm! The breakfast menu has also changed, not so much choice as before, no naughty pastries to treat yourself with - nor mushrooms, tomatoes or fried eggs either! We used to look forward to staying at the hotel as it felt special/indulgent but there was nothing special about it this time. The monorail broke down so we were stuck for 30mins and didn't get into the Theme Park any earlier. As soon as we got to Galactica it was shut down for maintenance. Nemesis was also closed until lunchtime! Throughout the day several other rides 'broke down'. Decided to go back to waterpark at 5.45 as Website stated it closed at 8pm only to be told it closes at 6pm and that they haven't updated their site yet!!! Altogether a disappointing time, Alton Towers has lost it's edge, I can't see us returning there again which is a real shame.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank stephenmthomas11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi stephenmthomas11,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit to our resort.

We are very sorry for the fact that you did not enjoy your experience with us and that you encountered some unwanted issues. Of course this is not what we want for our guests when they comes to stay at our Hotels and rest assured that all your comments will be passed onto the relevant departments for their review.

We take feedback like this very seriously as it helps us to see where it is across the resort that we could be making improvements upon in order to provide an even more exciting and magical experience for all of our guests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we do hope that you may return one day to see, first-hand where it is that we are constantly making improvements.

Best Wishes,
Alton Towers Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Stayed here Saturday to Sunday can't explain what a poor experience it was but I will try , firstly they only have one restaurant which was fully booked, they also have a pizza buffet which is walk in but is a good wait plus we had already had pizza during the day which was disgusting but in The end it worked out well because we went out The hotel and found a lovely country pub and The food was amazing. The hair dryer in the room cuts out after 30seconds so no chance of drying hair might as well not have one there, the reception doesn't answer the phone when calling from the room, and the breakfast was the worst experience of the lot only cereal and English breakfast ie sausages, bacon, beans and scrambled eggs worst can not describe how poor it was worst food I have ever eaten, could not believe there was no fruit not a single piece not even an apple. No safes in the room so overall Too expensive food is rubbish hotel is even worse will never go back.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Ben G,

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent visit to the Alton Towers Resort.

We take great pride in ensuring that all of our guests have the most fantastic time with us and to hear that, for you this was not the case is disappointing to read.

With regards to your comments on the food available in the Hotel, we are sorry that it did not meet expectations and this is something that we are working on in order to try and improve the overall experience for our guests when they comes to stay with us.

Your feedback is very valuable to us as it helps us to find out where we can make improvements within the resort. Your comments have been passed on to the Head of the Food & Beverage departments as well as the Head of Housekeeping for their review.

We thank you for your feedback and do hope that you will return to the resort again some time soon.

Best Wishes,
Alton Towers Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

Visited here and was not impressed. Asked for a milkshake and was told the machine did not work and I need to go somewhere else. The bar area no-one collected plates or glasses whilst we were there. The play area was dirty as anything. Leo all over the floor in the playarea but also the bar. No one came to tidy up. Very run down and poorly run

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Hi Dave M,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry to hear about your recent visit to us. Please be assured I have past your comments onto our Food and Beverages team regarding our Milkshake machines and our floor staff. Your feedback will be reviewed by our management.

Please accept my apologies that this is the experience you had with us, we would love to welcome you back to the Resort soon.

Best Wishes,
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

This was an awful hotel, easily the worst I have stayed in.

The place has a 'Caribbean' - this means wild hectic colours and non-stop steel band type music. NON-STOP. Staying in a hotel means you can as adults, expect to have a glass of wine or two in the bar or with dinner and not worry about driving. Not here unless you enjoy screaming at your companions to be heard. Every evening the bar area is a cacophony of extremely loud music, so loud that if you need to ask the reception staff anything, they either yell at your or write it down. There is no place to sit and have a drink or a chat while your children enjoy the dancing or the arcade or just making friends. You literally have to sit there, in hell.

The on-site restaurant is VERY poor - pizza or pasta only, chips chips chips. The food is terrible and overpriced. The dining room is uncomfortable - you can't wait to leave. These are your choices; walk over to the next hotel or another pre-booked restaurant or sit in your room. Would it have been so hard to create a smaller lounge bar area for adults to sit and enjoy a drink? no outdoor areas to sit, no terraces, literally nothing here at all. Also, btw, this music is WAY TOO LOUD for delicate little ears for so long.

So....sit in your room? they are basic at best if you didn't get a themed room. We were four people and it was tiny. A double bed and a bunk with a bit of wood which protruded for no reason so you wack your legs on it all the time. No balcony or terrace, ONE hard dining room-type chair and nowhere to sit. There is a funny smell through the corridors of all the rooms - it smells faintly or urine everywhere. The carpeting is all bright, swirly colours and grubby looking. I shudder to think what is on it, we kept our socks on inside the room. No air conditioning and bathroom very basic.

There are no frills at all in these rooms; you get a shower gel, shampoo and bath bomb thing once per visit so if you all use it up on the first day, that's your lot! never known these not to be replenished every day.

Housekeeping came, they brought 2 more biscuits and coffee sachets, a toilet roll and clean mugs and that's it! no beds made, no vacuum, no fresh towels, no surface wiping, nothing. Really basic. The room itself is poor quality. There are no power points by the bed and in fact only ONE free in the entire room. We had three people with phones and all the other things you need and had to unplug the kettle and tv to have some functionality. The beds were the worst - after a hard day in the park, you get to sleep on a mattress which is hard as a board and the bunk mattresses were very thin. No mattress protectors, stained and smelly bed covers, and no extra anything (blanket, pillows, sheet, nothing).

It uses the fact that it accesses directly to the waterpark as a big advantage, but it isn't. Don't even bother staying here unless you really hate life.

Breakfast is not an advantage to buying a package here because it is awful. Everything is really cheap and nasty and very little food (at least no chips). You can have scrambled eggs floating in a watery yellow gruel, bacon you could use to mend your shoes with and sausages made from sausage-flavoured filler. Poor quality bread for toast and of course, cereal. A few hard apples and some cheap pre-packaged chocolate muffins I suppose as a nod to the poor vegetarians who might be incarcerated here.

Finally, the car park will be jammed with people visiting the park and waterpark until late at night or very early am.

We paid about £580.00 for four people for 2 (of the longest ever) nights with waterpark and including breakfast. The hotel seems to continue the theme of making sure this resort is the unhealthiest anywhere in the world. The only fresh thing here is the grass growing outside and that looked quite appetising after day 2.

I have never paid so much for so little, look around if you want to stay overnight near the parks, the gorgeous Alton Bridge Hotel is practically in the park and I wish we had stayed here.

Room Tip: none of them
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryjaneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear maryjaneLondon,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we truly appreciate all comments from our guests.

We're sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. We always aim to provide a fantastic experience for our guests, and we would like to discuss aspects of your stay further.

If you have not done so already, please email gs.feedback@alton-towers.com with full details, and a member of our Feedback team shall be in touch to discuss with you personally.

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

When we booked this hotel we could not get reservations at any restaurant, we had to make do with the hotel restaurant if thats what you want to call it. Also when we booked it never once stated that you dont get swimming at this hotel and the swimming is also open to the public!! I was disgusted! We paid all that money nearly £500 for 2 rooms 1 night and couldn’t even go swimming! Was going to cost us an extra £100 just to go! We Checked in at 1pm, went to the park as our rooms were not ready as expected anyway, did say 3pm. On returning we got our room keys, i had 2 rooms booked, the first room absolutely stunk like dirty nappies or toilet sewage. We could not sleep in that room, we went to reception and the lady changed the room for me, rooms were still dusty and dirty, bathroom was horrible! We got down for food around 8.30 after all the messing with the room, cost us nearly £100 for pizza and slop! My 7 yr old hates pizza or pasta, but because all restaurants were full we had no choice, my son had chips and some chicken nugget things. It was poor. The pasta contained off sloppy lasagne and pasta and peas in cheese sauce. We had booked breakfast in the morning, shouldn’t of bothered, iv had better breakfast abroad, they had sausage, bacon, beans, scrambled eggs in loads of water, tiny hash browns and that was it, the sausages were horrible like dry and powdery. So we ate toast, bread again after a night before of heavy pizza, makes you feel rubbish! Im disgusted in this place, massive let down! money grabbers!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank missblagden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear missblagden,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we truly appreciate all comments from our guests.

We're sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. We always aim to provide a fantastic experience for our guests, and we would like to discuss aspects of your stay further.

If you have not done so already, please email gs.feedback@alton-towers.com with full details, and a member of our Feedback team shall be in touch to discuss with you personally.

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews