We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place to stay!!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
The dining area features a large table and handmade cupboards.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The dining area features a large table and handmade cupboards.
Large bathroom with double ended bath, large separate shower and heated towel rail. The shower with soap and shampoo dispensers
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The dining area features a large table and handmade cupboards.
Large bathroom with double ended bath, large separate shower and heated towel rail.
The shower with soap and shampoo dispensers
Bedroom 2 featuring 'The Emperor' painting by Melody
Clothes hooks in bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 features a King size bed and Art Deco furniture.
The front entrance leads to a boot and coat lobby with further double doors to the main areas.
This is a shared courtyard area with seating available.
The main bed is a super king that can be split into two large singles, please request when booking.
The lampshades in the main and 2nd bedroom
Main bedroom with Harrison super King bed
2nd settee featuring 'Welcome', another painting by Melody
A new feature for the lounge
Early morning view towards Porlock Weir
A common site on Exmoor are the Red Deer and Stag, these are the largest wild animals in Britain
A few of the extras.
Main bedroom with super king bed, this can be split into two large singles.
We hope you enjoy your stay
A few reviews from our first guests
Further details of Melody Art
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Porlock, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Ann L
1 review
“Amazing place to stay!!!!”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I have just returned from Puffins, stayed with my mum and sister. I can honestly say this accommodation is outstanding...everything has been thought of to make guests feel at home, the beds are super comfy, the shower was wonderful, the dvd selection and lovely sofas were lovely after long days out, and wearing the soft robes and slippers that are provided was wonderful. Many many thanks David and Melody, we will definitely be back xxxx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Thank you, it is a pleasure to make people feel so comfortable, it is surprisingly rewarding. We look forward to your future visits. Kind regards David & Melody
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globaltou...
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in Porlock”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Puffins was perfect for our 3 night break in Porlock, Exmoor. It is conveniently positioned right in the centre of the village but down a quiet Lane so there is no traffic. The accommodation is is extremely well furnished with very comfortable beds a superb bathroom and full kitchen. Everything has been carefully chosen by the owners and there are plenty of nice additional touches such as bathrobes and slippers, through to the beautiful glassware. The artwork on the walls was also painted or photographed by the owners whose gallery is nearby. Should you not want to cook yourself there are multiple choices in the village for breakfast, lunch or dinner. All in all this was a perfect stay and we will certainly be staying at Puffins again whenever we get the chance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Most comfortable beds we had slept in on our tour.
Liked least: Leaving, should have booked for longer.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind review. I think after going away ourselves and with Melody's early life we had a clear view that we wanted to provide a place we would want to stay ourselves. Actually, we always wanted to try it ourselves, it just hasn't happened, I am particularly envious of the bathroom and in particular the shower, I may not be able to go home if I tried it! Thank David & Melody
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHappyM...
Etchingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home from home with added luxury :-)”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Excellent property right in the heart of the village.

I travelled with my daughter and my parents. This was my parents first visit to the area so I wanted a central base and I could not have asked for more. The apartment is situated down a side street off the main through road and is approximately a 3 minute walk to the shops and a 10 - 15 minute walk to the sea front.

The apartment was spotless and because it was coming up to Easter Melody and David had left us some chocolate eggs and little Easter touches around the place. We were also surprised to find a welcome package of cake and milk which helped enormously.

The apartment is well stocked with every piece of cutlery, plates, bowls and cooking utensils you could wish for. You even get a robe and slippers each which is more akin to a luxury hotel than a rental apartment but what a lovely touch this was.

The beds are so comfortable which is just what is needed after a days walking and the bathroom is of the highest standard.

There are plenty of sockets for all the gadgets we all have these days and a hair dryer in each bedroom.

I cannot recommend this rental property highly enough and we will definitely be returning.

Thank you Melody and David.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this lovely review, Melody will be so touched when I show her later, she has always wanted to provide everything to the highest standard. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leververt
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A home from home in the heart of Exmoor”
Reviewed 15 January 2016 for a stay in October 2015

We can now count ourselves among a number of returning visitors to Puffins, having stayed during the summer for a week and again in October for a long weekend. On both occasions we have been bowled over by Melody and David’s hospitality and the level of comfort in the flat (oh my God – those beds)! The flat has recently been refurbished and no expense has been spared in creating a cosy and luxurious pad from which to explore Exmoor. We loved the robes, slippers, designer crockery, swanky bathroom, oh and did I mention the beds?! It is also worth mentioning that we have a young baby (not yet walking but still frighteningly mobile) and Puffins has also been suitable from that point of view; blackout blinds; no stairs to fall down; anything breakable out of arm’s reach. Finally, despite being a ground floor flat, it all feels very private. The property is in a very quiet courtyard so there is hardly any foot traffic and consequently nobody peering through the windows!
As for Porlock, there is a surprising amount to do there and Porlock Weir is only a short walk away. It is also the perfect base for exploring Exmoor and we would heartily recommend a trip up to the moors during rutting season in autumn: Melody and David were really helpful in suggesting places to look for stag and we managed to find a prime spot where we got to see at least 6 stalking along the ridges. We’ll definitely be back in 2016!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stupendously comfy beds
Liked least: Going back home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2016
Thank you for your kind comments, I think you have summed up our heart to provide a comfortable stay at the level we look for when we travel. Look forward to seeing you soon.
With love David & Melody
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapho95
Cergy-Pontoise, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing