We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottages in a magnificent setting”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Porlock, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Michael B
Gentofte, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Beautiful cottages in a magnificent setting”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a beautiful week at Woodcombe lodges. The lodges are spacious, nice and clean and placed in a beautiful and very well kept garden with lawns, flowers and a nine hole putting green besides a washing facilities and a common house with a pool table and table tennis.
It's a nice walk from the cottages to Minehead and the beaches and likewise easy to access Exmoor nationalpark.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for your comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Andrew & Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharky130...
1 review
“The perfect getaway”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The perfect holiday if you want to sit back and relax or walk for miles. The owners are so welcoming and friendly they are part the reason why we went back and will continue to do so. The rooms are spacious and warm, the kitchen has everything you could wish for including a dishwasher. Home from home in a beautiful part of the country.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
Great to see you again and for a lovely review. It is so rewarding to find guests who appreciate all the effort that goes in to making sure the accommodation is up to scratch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L
1 review
“Absolutely Stunning Place To Stay”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A little piece of heaven in Somerset, a lovely tranquil setting ,the lodge was spotlessly clean with all mod cons. Andrew and Nicola made us feel very welcome this wasn't our first visit and certainly won't be our last — 16-April-2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Many thanks for taking the time out to give us such a great review. We are so lucky to have such a great place to offer our guests and some super guests to welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete H
Nottingham
2 reviews
“Great location, friendly welcome, lovely lodge”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We recently stayed in Yew Tree lodge for a week with our dog Freddie. The lodge was a good size for the three adults and dog in our group. There was easily space for another person as advertised.

The lodge had a social open plan living area, with good facilities, and a well equipped kitchen. There was a nice view over the hills opposite with a decked terrace at the front. The terrace had a good fence around it, with a large gate, meaning it was very secure to let our dog out onto without risk of it being able to get out.

There was a good space around each lodge so that it didn't ever feel like the guests at different lodges were on top of each other.

The location was perfect for us to explore Exmoor, which was the main draw for us when booking. We were a 10-15 minute drive from some of the main towns and villages in Exmoor, and had some lovely walks while there. There were also a number of very nice walks which started right from the lodge, which was ideal for us to take the dog out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the immediate surroundings
Liked least: Sofa could have been more comfortable (minor point, it was fine)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the lovely review, do bring Freddie again. Andrew & Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay at Woodcombe Lodge”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We booked at very short notice for a Christmas stay and Andrew managed to accommodate us (parents and late teen children and two spaniels) in one of the 2 bed lodges. As usual, it was comfortable, warm, and is equipped with everything we could have wanted - only problem was I forgot the towels, so had to buy some the next morning in Minehead! Represents excellent value for money and we shall no doubt return in 2015.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm and comfortable.
Liked least: Towels are not automatically available - I forgot ours!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
Hi Have just found how to respond to a review and realised how late this is but just to say many thanks for your support and that you had a good time. Hope to see you again soon. Andrew & Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing